$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Monastery Prague

4 stars
Strahovske nadvori 13, Prague, 118 00
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
11 reviews
Quiet location, but close to the heart of things

We loved everything about Hotel Monastery Prague EXCEPT that we arrived when it was dark, and the... See full review

  • Indi's Grandma
  • Oct 29, 2012
Absolutely Beautiful hotel, our

Absolutely Beautiful hotel, our room was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or... See full review

  • Aaron
  • Jan 14, 2010
Romantic and cozy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation. In spring and summer guests can relax and enjoy refreshments on a hotel gazebo. Hotel amenities includes Free Breakfast, Handicapped Rooms, Pets Allowed, City tours/Excursions, Credit cards accepted, Cleaning service, Non smoking rooms, PC/Internet (free of chage), Currency Exchange, Handicap Accessible, Laundry, Dry cleaning service, Pets allowed (available for extra charge), Hot buffer breakfast(free of charge). Parking available in front of the hotel.

Hotel Map

50.0872 14.3895
Area served
Prague.
Nearby airports
Prague International Airport.
Area description
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Town and the Old Town embroidered by Vltava river, is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Monastery Prague also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Monastery Prague Rooms

Standard Room
Room offers 1 double and 1 twin bed with hairdryer, toilet, bathroom with shower, toiletries, coffee/tea making facilities, direct dial phone, satellite TV.
Deluxe Room
Room offers 1 double and 1 twin bed with shower, toiletries, coffee/tea making facilities, direct dial phone, satellite TV.
Suite
Room offers 1 double and 1 twin bed with shower, toiletries, coffee/tea making facilities, direct dial phone, satellite TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Strahov Monastery: 0.1 mi
  • Loreta: 0.2 mi
  • Petrinska Rozhledna: 0.4 mi
  • Prague Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Strahov Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • St Vitus Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.6 mi
  • Lobkowicz Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Petrin Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Sudek Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lennon Wall: 0.8 mi
  • Museum Kampa: 0.9 mi
  • Pisecka Brana: 0.9 mi
  • Kafka Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Charles Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Strahov Monastery: 0.1 mi
  • Loreta: 0.2 mi
  • Petrinska Rozhledna: 0.4 mi
  • Prague Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Strahov Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • St Vitus Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.6 mi
  • Lobkowicz Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Petrin Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Sudek Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lennon Wall: 0.8 mi
  • Museum Kampa: 0.9 mi
  • Pisecka Brana: 0.9 mi
  • Kafka Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Charles Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Prague 1: 1 mi
  • Clementinum: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Rudolfinum: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Decorative Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Naprstek Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Old Jewish Cemetery: 1.2 mi
  • Metronome: 1.3 mi
  • Old New Synagogue: 1.3 mi
  • Dancing House: 1.4 mi
  • Orloj: 1.4 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Cyril and Methodius Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Tyn Church: 1.5 mi
  • Stavovske Divadlo: 1.5 mi
  • New Town: 1.6 mi
  • Powder Tower: 1.7 mi
  • Mucha Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Obecni Dum: 1.7 mi
  • National Museum: 1.9 mi
  • National Gallery: 2 mi
  • Statni Opera: 2 mi
  • Vysehrad Cemetery: 2.1 mi
  • Vysehrad Castle: 2.1 mi
  • Muzeum Hlavniho Mesta: 2.2 mi
  • Prague Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Prague 2: 2.5 mi
  • Jan Zizka Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Zizkov Television Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Holesovice: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monastery Prague

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron
Not Provided
Jan 14, 2010

Absolutely Beautiful hotel, our

Absolutely Beautiful hotel, our room was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I will definitely be staying here the next time I'm in Prague.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Indi's Grandma
Lorain, Ohio
Oct 29, 2012

Quiet location, but close to the heart of things

We loved everything about Hotel Monastery Prague EXCEPT that we arrived when it was dark, and the door to the hotel, or even the hotel itself, was not well-marked and we had a hard time finding it. And the name on the building actually says "Monastery Residence," so we thought that was a residence for the monks at Strahov Monastery, which is on the grounds there. After 15 minutes of searching, we finally got in. But the staff was wonderful (once we got in), and everything was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From Hotel Monastery, you are a short walk from the Prague Castle, the Lesser Town, and even the Charles Bridge. It is up on a hill, so beware: lots of climbing, but if you are in reasonably good shape, no problem!

Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lbirdie
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 30, 2012

Perfect little hideaway

This place was a great little hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle that is down in the busier tourist section. Yet, the Monastery is literally right next door and the Palace is about a 3 minute walk. Good restaurants and a great view right outside and you are next to the Petrin Hill Park which overlooks Prague. Had more the feel of a B&B so if you are looking for a big hotel experience this is not it. We had a corner room that looked out onto the Monastery. Very peaceful and quiet. Very good service. Our luggage was lost by the airport and Andrea, the receptionist, worked very hard in dealing with KLM and finding us further reservations when we had to stay longer to wait for it. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickeyhe
McHenry
Oct 1, 2012

Stunning views from this location

What a wonderful hotel experience. The staff were top notch. Very helpful and accommodating. THey arranged taxis, excursions and just were a wealth of knowledge whenever we needed some guidance. The room was very large by European standards. The location was perfect for us. It wasn't in the thick of things, but still a short distance away from the main city. It was about a five minute walk to the Prague Castle and maybe 18 minute walk to Charles Bridge. Instead of walking, you can also take the #22 tram to town and transfer from their if you wish to other parts of town. There are a number of restaurants in the immediate area, too. The breakfast served daily was very nice with many choices. We were glad to have that available as it would have been very difficult to have to walk or tram to find restaurants that served breakfast. The only downside to the hotel was the beds. We had a room with two beds and they were twin, which was OK, but boy were they uncomfortable. Don't excpect the usual amenities that come with American hotels, but it really didn't come into play with us too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We broke up our days by picking out certain areas to explore each day, so that we would see more things this way instead of traveling haphazardly throughout the city.

Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hubble15
Miami Shores, FL, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Scenic & Atmospheric

Set in the monastery courtyard, this hotel is quiet & beautifully situated. Rooms are a bit spartan, but roomy (we set up a travel crib with acres to spare). The bathroom smells a little sharp, but what do you expect from an ancient bldg. I'm highly averse to mildew, and it wasn't anything like that. Short walk to the Loreta and Castle; a bit farther to the bridge & Oldtown Square. It's a bracing uphill walk home ... good way to work off a nice meal ... or if you like you can jump on the 22 tram. Oh, and don't miss the excellent Pivovar a couple doors down. Great beers, including an IPA and a weizen. We drove in, and it took some coordination to get thru the arch, but was workable if you had a cel phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Oct 14, 2009

Quiet and fabulous view of Prague

Upon arrival, I was told there was a mistake with the reservation and that they would arrange a taxi to drive me to another hotel. I was very disappointed since I had made these reservations 3 months prior in order to stay at a unique hotel in a quiet location. Once I showed him the written reservations for a deluxe room, a room miraculously become available (or was it the tears?). The room was very spacious, including couch and chairs, desk, mini-fridge, coffee maker and different in that the beds were in the loft area ("2nd" floor). Waking up and having to walk down the stairs at night to go to the bathroom took a few nights to get used to but was fine once a downstairs light was kept on. Breakfast was great for me - yogurt and muesli. Other offerings included scrambled eggs, cold cuts, veggies, and breads. You could sit outside in a nice garden or inside. Staff was very pleasant and their English was excellent. Fabulous view of Prague from graden and pathway to Petrin Park. Local area had good restaurants particularly the Monastery's brewery restaurant, Maly Buddha and Hanging Coffee (great local place). The castle was a 5 minute walk and Old Town was about a 15 minute walk (all downhill). Alternatively, one could take the tram which had a stop across the street from the Monastery. Very quiet area for sleeping and personally, I enjoyed the chiming of the bells from Loretta as well as the Monastery. I would definitely stay here again but probably in a room that was all on one level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monastery's Brewery's food and drink is wonderful!

Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miesman
Nokia
Mar 31, 2014

Excellent value for money

Very nice hotel indeed. Excellent value for money. Nice location close to castle area and not far from old center. Beautiful view over old Prague. Very good restaurants close by. Lots to see on monastery area too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 24, 2009

 3人で泊まりましたが、ロフトも付いて部屋で、綺麗で、立地条

 3人で泊まりましたが、ロフトも付いて部屋で、綺麗で、立地条件も良かったです。朝食も美味しく大変快適でした!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Voyageur attentif
Versailles
Jul 17, 2012

Emplacement magique

Très bel emplacement, en haut de la colline, superbe vue; chambre avec charme. une sorte de privilège, au coeur du couvent de Strahov. Petit déjeuner dans le jardin (s'il fait beau). Pour autant rapidement au coeur de Prague, en descendant soit à pied, soit en tram. Quelques minutes suffisent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Monastery Prague

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
matsu
hyogo
Jun 9, 2012

窓からの眺めがサイコー!

素晴らしい眺めですが、窓はかなり小さいです。 一部屋根裏を改装した部屋でロフトになってまして、カップルなら手狭な部屋ですが、一人旅なら充分です。

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search