$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Grand Hotel Praha

4 stars
Staromestske namesti 22, Prague, 11000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
16 reviews
Unforgettable Praha

This hotel had the charm, romance, uniqueness, and comfort we were desiring. The location ( we had... See full review

  • Bruch
  • Aug 28, 2014
Best location in Prague

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best in Prague and the room was... See full review

  • The couples trip Planner
  • Jun 7, 2014
The hotel was awarded 4 in the International Classification System. The Grand Hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone. Guests of the Grand Hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. Since ancient times, it has been said that the Old Town Square and Astronomical Clock are sites with tremendous magical powers, enhancing the creativity of visitors of Prague. In the peace and comfort of the Baroque house of the Grand Hotel Praha you can experience these powers first-hand. The hotel accommodation along the famous Royal Road, which is the most popular sightseeing walk in Prague, directly opposite the Old Town Clock, is a question of prestige for those who wish to take with them the best souvenirs of Prague. They offer the utmost comfort and luxury. Experience the magic of Prague Old Town while staying at Grand Hotel Praha.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Praha also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grand Hotel Praha Rooms

Presidential Suite
The suite offers panoramic views of Old Town Square, Old Town Hall, the Astronomical Clock, and Tyn Church. The large Presidential Suite is equipped with a marble bathroom with bathtub and shower, toilet, bidet, hair dryer, spacious clothes room and private sauna. The bedroom with a king size bed is separated from the living room by a glass door. The living room which is suitable for private as well as business meetings is furnished with antique furniture.
Superior room
Superior room offers view to a romantic Old Town street located in the quiet rear of the hotel King Size bed marble bathroom with bath or shower antique furniture available as a single room free entrance to the hotel's sauna.
Deluxe room
Deluxe room amazing view of Old Town Square, Old Town Hall, the Astronomical Clock, and Tyn Church. Deluxe room offers one King Size Bed marble bathroom with bath or shower antique furniture available as a single room free entrance to the hotel's sauna.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Orloj: 0 mi
  • Tyn Church: 0.1 mi
  • Stavovske Divadlo: 0.1 mi
  • Clementinum: 0.2 mi
  • Old New Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Jewish Cemetery: 0.3 mi
  • Naprstek Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Decorative Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Powder Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Rudolfinum: 0.3 mi
  • Obecni Dum: 0.3 mi
  • Mucha Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Prague 1: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Orloj: 0 mi
  • Tyn Church: 0.1 mi
  • Stavovske Divadlo: 0.1 mi
  • Clementinum: 0.2 mi
  • Old New Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Jewish Cemetery: 0.3 mi
  • Naprstek Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Decorative Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Powder Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Rudolfinum: 0.3 mi
  • Obecni Dum: 0.3 mi
  • Mucha Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Prague 1: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Kafka Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Metronome: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Kampa: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Lennon Wall: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Statni Opera: 0.7 mi
  • New Town: 0.7 mi
  • Sudek Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Cyril and Methodius Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.8 mi
  • Petrin Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Muzeum Hlavniho Mesta: 0.8 mi
  • Dancing House: 0.8 mi
  • Lobkowicz Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Pisecka Brana: 0.9 mi
  • St Vitus Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Prague Castle: 1 mi
  • Petrinska Rozhledna: 1.2 mi
  • Jan Zizka Statue: 1.3 mi
  • Loreta: 1.3 mi
  • Prague 2: 1.3 mi
  • Zizkov Television Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Strahov Monastery: 1.4 mi
  • Vitkov Park: 1.5 mi
  • Prague 3: 1.5 mi
  • Strahov Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Vysehrad Cemetery: 1.6 mi
  • Vysehrad Castle: 1.6 mi

Dining

Cafe Mozart
A representative city caf on the 1st floor of the hotel serves as a hotel restaurant " original interior with a view of the Astronomical Clock, lavish breakfasts, a place for business meetings " Wi-fi, Jazz or Classical evening concerts.
Oliva Verde
An Italian restaurant with a garden and an original collection of clocks located in the same historical block of the buildings as the Grand hotel Praha
U Zlate konvice
An Old Czech alehouse and a restaurant in the hotels cellars- grilled meat, grilled pork knuckles, pilsner beer, folklore music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Praha

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senior Roberto
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA
Nov 23, 2014

3 days in Prague

Great experience from check-in to check-out, no hassles and no problems. Staff were very helpful, room was amazing with a view that we captured and posted. Walk out the door and you're in old town square so food, drinks and lots to see and do. Also, you are across from the clock tower so expect to hear it and any concerts in the square, but really that just made the experience more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't change money in the square - you'll lose between 10-15% on either the rate or the commission - use an ATM or ask, in advance, exactly how much you will get for your money. The front desk can also help you find a fair exchange location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovetotravelmi
Business
St. Joesph, Mi
Sep 1, 2014

Great location for a short stay in Prague

This hotel is right on the old town square, smack dab in front of the astronomical clock. It is great for walking to many of Prague's popular attractions like Tyne cathedral and the National Gallery. Just a few blocks away is the Charles bridge and St. Wenceslas square. We will be back the next time we travel here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Havelske trziste market just around the corner to the left as you leave the hotel. The stalls sell fruit and vegetables, flowers, leather goods, arts and crafts, wooden toys and puppets, and ceramics. It is a good place to buy tourist souvenirs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruch
Business
Independence, Missouri
Aug 28, 2014

Unforgettable Praha

This hotel had the charm, romance, uniqueness, and comfort we were desiring. The location ( we had a window overlooking the old town square and clock) and the incredibly helpful and friendly staff were tops. It was the perfect place to end our European/Danube Float! Cafe Mozart and the surrounding restaurants also great. A highlight of our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The couples trip Planner
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Best location in Prague

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best in Prague and the room was wonderful, made you feel like you are really in Prague

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cjs12345
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 6, 2014

Great Location, but...

I had reserved a Deluxe Room with King size bed. They gave me a Deluxe Room with a Single size bed, which was pretty uncomfortable. I am tall, so my feet stuck over the edge, and the blanket didn't cover my full body. I complained and they said they had nothing else. Lesson learned. IF you do decide to stay here and the location is great (literally walking distance to everything), Make sure you go for the Grand Deluxe Room with the guaranteed King size Bed. The room was literally the size of a large walk-in closet. I bumped an old chair with my knee every time I went to the bathroom, it was so crowded, and that was with a single sized bed in the room. The Bathroom was clean, but it only had one towel and no wash cloths. Plus, being taller, I really don't like the hand held shower in the bathroom. The staff were very nice and helpful, and the room with King size bed is offered if available. So buyer beware, if you decide to stay here make sure you go for the larger room or save this room for the kids as it would be perfect for them, but not a grown adult. Since I was expecting the larger sized bed, I feel like the value wasn't there for me and I wish I would have stayed somewhere else more modern which were close by and within walking distance to everything as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring Czech Crowns (Koruna's) to get the best exchange rate when shopping or just use your credit card whenever possible. The exchange rate for Euro's is questionable at the local shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enojado
Business
Mexico
May 1, 2014

My PREPAID RESERVATION WAS NOT HONORED

When we arrived to the Hotel after 20 hour of air travel the "Luxury" room that I prepaid about one month before was NOT AVAILABLE the only thing that I got is to be moven to other hotel, in that place first they try to give mo one of the smallest rooms, finally, when I did not accept it I receive a better room but not the "Luxury" room that I pay when I made the reservation trough your company

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.B.J
Business
SURREY
Apr 4, 2014

RELAXING SHORT BREAK.

STAFF VERY POLITE & HELPFUL & FLUENT IN ENGLISH. EASY ACCESS TO THE METRO,SHOPS & RESTURANTS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

NO TEA/COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN ROOM. DO NOT EXPECT TO VIEW THE "ASTRONOMICAL CLOCK TOWER" FROM STANDARD BED ROOMS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue who loves to travel
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 23, 2013

Huge room in perfect location!

A wonderful hotel in a perfect location right on the Old Town Square in Prague. Our room overlooked the astronomical clock and was large for American standards and huge for Europe. The bathroom had a separate shower and two person soaking tub. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The complementary breakfast buffet including hot and cold items as well as omelets to order. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. E. M.
Business
Porterville, CA
Oct 22, 2013

Great Location

The location is great, right in the Old Town Square. The rooms are European style. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. The wifi was out in our room, so the staff moved our luggage to another room and offerd us concert tickets for the inconvenience. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BWheatnyc
Business
New York, NY
Aug 25, 2013

Best Hotel Experience Ever

I had not looked at the hotel's website before my trip so I was amazed at how the hotel made use of this Baroque-style house. My spacious "historical room" had original hand-painted murals on the ceiling and antique furniture. Stepping into the room was like stepping into a magical world of olden days in Prague. Aside from the beautiful room, the location was fabulous - right in Old Town Square across from the Astronomical Clock. I will definitely stay here if I get to visit Prague again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the top of the Tower in the Astronomical Clock across the street from the hotel for the best views of the Old Town Square. You can take great photos there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top