$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

3 stars
View map of Plaza Piar ZN, Willemstad,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zinzer
Business
Indy
Oct 16, 2011

Great location to rough it on a budget!

Friendly front desk and attendants, as well as nice gift and necessities shop inside hotel, but if you are expecting a hotel like the Plazas in the US, don't stay here because it just isn't the same. Our bathroom ceiling dripped the whole week and the bathtub was too small to sit. Shower water pressure was minimal and sometimes quite chilly. Hallways smell of wetness and possibly mildew. Restaurant food is a good value though! $22 for a different international cuisine every night! You can ask for a small, old refrigerator cube if they are available. Bedspread pretty old and gross. Nice balcony and great view from rooms 245-269, especially 257-263... These rooms overlook the Emma Bridge and are beautiful by night! No ice machine. I'm a grad student and would compare this hotel to a $45/night hostel in Europe on room quality and cleanliness alone. Pool is nice. Bar is nice. It isn't bad but nothing romantic for a special getaway. We were in the room only to sleep and shower so on sale at $85/night was a steal. I will say EXCELLENT location for walking by day or night. Also, kudos for free parking! Rent a car from Avis at the airport or at the Howard Johnson Hotel across street. We got a rental Kia forn5 days for $135 total. Friendly people and awesome location, but if you want luxury, comfort, and romance instead of a deal on a budget, stay at the Renaissance Hotel down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sopranos Bar by Renaissance Hotel has 2-for-1 frozen mojitos and live piano bar music every Thursday night 9-1 AM. Also, The Gouverneur's has nice appetizers, cocktails, and ambience, as well as techno and dance music starting later at 11 PM! Chihuahua Mexican Cantina Monday-Thursday has all you can eat tacos from 5-7 PM for 35 guilders (approx. $18!) and 2-for-1 beers,

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linus199
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2011

We always wondered how bad could it be..

On Saturday, May 28, 2011, my wife and I arrived at the Plaza Hotel in Curacao after a full day of traveling. We were so excited to finally have arrived and looking forward to the comfort and amenities that the Plaza Hotel had to offer. My wife and I checked out of the Plaza Hotel in Curacao on Sunday night, May 29, 2011. The reason we checked out was due to the fact that the hotel was not only filthy but the staff was unpleasant and not helpful at all. The evening we arrived we were checked in by an unpleasant employee at the front desk. This we did not mind, maybe they were having a bad day or something, but when we got to our room, the floor was wet as we were entering our room. When we looked in the bathroom, the floor was wet in there as well. We didn't complain to the front desk that evening, thinking maybe they just finished moping the floor, and it was still a little wet. After we finished unpacking and went to take a shower, we noticed that there were pubic hairs in the shower. (Does the staff even clean the bathroom properly?). Also, one of the pillows on the bed had a dirty pillow case. Since it was late, and the front desk person seemed to not be helpful at all, I decided to wait until the morning to let the front desk know. The next morning, there was a funny odor in the room when we woke up. When I went to the bathroom, the floor was still wet, but now more than last night. As I was brushing my teeth, I realized that the water was coming from the ceiling above. Apparently, every time a guest in the room above us used the bathroom, it would leak into our bathroom. Now that it was morning, and there was more light in the room, we could see mold spots forming in the corners of the bathroom, due to the moisture from the leak. We went to the front desk and explained to them the issues that we were having and that we wanted a different room. We did not get an apology or any helpful advice, the only response we got back was, "We'll call maintenance to take a look at it…" When I questioned why we couldn't have our room changed, the explanation that was that 'maintenance has to look at it first…' After lunch when we got back to the room, the maintenance worker was still in the room. Basically, all he did was change the ceiling tile and mop the floor, cause it was still leaking about an hour after he left. I did not feel like going back to the front desk to hear another excuse by their unfriendly staff. We jumped in our car and drove to the Marriott Beach Resort where we checked in for the rest of the trip. My wife and I are avid travelers who been to a few different countries, and we always check guest reviews before we go. There are a few times where we see bad reviews about a hotel, but when we got to the destination, it was never as bad as it sounded. We always wondered how bad can the hotel actually be...? Now we know. What I did learn about the Plaza Hotel is that there are 2 parts to it. One part has one 3 floors, and the other part has 14 floors. The part that has 3 floors is a little more up to date and in better condition than the larger part of the hotel. If you do choose to stay at the hotel, ask to stay in the smaller part of the hotel. Unfortunately, the attitude of the staff will probably be the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location in the middle of the city. Walking distance to everywhere, but too bad the hotel itself sucks...

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
will2646[@]
Business
SOUTH CAROLINA
Sep 5, 2010

CURACAO JAZZ FESTIVAL

POOR SERVICE BY STAFF, BAD ATTITUDES, ANTI AMERICAN (BLACK)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

RENNASSAINCE MALL/HOTEL/CASINO

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
will2646[@]
Business
SOUTH CAROLINA
Sep 5, 2010

CURACAO JAZZ FESTIVAL

POOR SERVICE BY STAFF, BAD ATTITUDES, ANTI AMERICAN (BLACK)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

RENNASSAINCE MALL/HOTEL/CASINO

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montevideo
May 28, 2010

NiCe staff, really old hotel

The rooms, pool and the rest of the hotel is really old and needs a lot of work and update. The staff is really helpful but there's nothing they can do about the lack of maintenance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmyr
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
May 21, 2010

Great location

The location was on the ocean in Punda and near the waterway where ships move past to dock at the inland harbor. It was an easy walk to shops, restaurants etc. The Plaza is an older hotel but maintained well and quite clean. It has a nice pool area as well. The maids were great but the reception and restaurant staff were quite laid back. I would happily stay at the Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is quite expensive since everything is imported (no local production). Walk past the local fresh produce market (floating market) and there is a large building housing a number of local eateries (under one roof). The food is safe, good and inexpensive.

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
May 15, 2010

Room was good for the price clean other

Got my open water diver certification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Atlantis dive shop. Friendly service.

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pontiac, IL
Apr 15, 2010

Enjoyable stay

Good location for my first visit to Curacoa. Rooms were sufficient. Staff friendly and helpful. Although I prefer "on the beach" locations, we did have a view of water and the ships coming and going to the waterway passage. Once out of the Hotel, only around the corner to the waterfront and shoppes. We also discovered excellent Restaurants nearby and out of the busier tourist area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the hotel and go around the right. Looks like a fancy version of a strip mall. We enjoyed the Drunky Fish and Fireside restaurants. Many others there also although we did not try these.

Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 4, 2010

Clean- Great Location

It's exactly what I thought it would be. -An older hotel. The rooms were basic but very clean. The staff took great care of us and helped schedule excursions. We were also just steps from all of the downtown action. If you want "all-inclusive" amenities- pay A LOT more and go somewhere else. But if you want a clean hotel that's in a great central location for a good price- stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Schedule excursions as soon as you get in town!! If you try to "wing-it" you may miss out on some great day trips!

Back to menu Return to top