Plaza Hotel Curacao and Casino ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$98
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 12, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016
2.7 /5
Overall score
62%
Would recommend
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Classic Double
  • Size: 355 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Superior King Balcony
  • Size: 355 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Classic King
  • Size: 355 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Built on the 17th century stone Waterfort in 1634, the Plaza Hotel Curacao & Casino sits at the entrance of St. Anna Bay harbor. Islanders once used the Waterfort as defense against seafaring enemies, most recently in WWII. Today, travelers take in magnificent views of cruise ships while lounging by the pool with a cocktail. Come evening, dance to live steel drum bands or game at the casino. Guests are just a short stroll away from area attractions, restaurants, bars and shops. The town of Punda is also nearby.

Dining

Plaza Hotel Curacao & Casino guests feast on Sunday brunch at the Penthouse Restaurant and sip cocktails at Shooters pool bar. Walk to the restaurants and bars of Waterfort Terrace, a historic fort overlooking the Caribbean Sea. On the way, hear vibrant live music, find an LGBT bar, and take your pick from an assortment of seafood, steak, and Italian restaurants.

Rooms

Cozy rooms at the Plaza Hotel Curacao & Casino offer views of downtown Willemstad, the famous Emma Bridge or the blue Caribbean Sea. Smoking and non-smoking options are available. Dressed in white and cream hues with floral or teal accents, rooms offer king, twin or queen beds. Standard amenities include cable TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), air conditioning, a safe, private bathroom, coffee/tea makers, and iron and ironing boards. Suites may come equipped with a couch and large bathtub.

Property features

Enjoy movie nights at the pool, trivia, happy hours, gaming at the casino, and live cooking demonstrations on-site at the Plaza Hotel Curacao & Casino. On Monday nights, the music from a live steel drum band fills the air. Watch a Caribbean sunset from Shooters pool bar before placing your bets at the Plaza Royal Casino. Just beyond the hotel doors, take a stroll to the restaurants, shops and bars of Waterfort Terrace. Parking at the Plaza Hotel Curacao & Casino is free.

Highlights

  • Located on historic 17th century Waterfort area
  • On-site Plaza Royal Casino with blackjack, poker, slots and more
  • Short walk to nightlife, shops, restaurants

Nearby attractions

  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Blue Bay Golf & Beach Resort (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Hato Caves (15.7 mi/25.2 km)
  • Christoffelpark (15.7 mi/25.2 km)

Business

  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees may apply)
  • Audio/visual equipment available (see hotel for details) 

Transportation

  • Free Willemstad shuttle
  • Hato International Airport (8.6 mi/13.9 km)

Dining

Waterfort Restaurant and Terrace
Partially open-air and partially air-conditioned, the Waterfort Restaurant and Terrace is the place to be for our breakfast buffets, our great lunches and mouthwatering dinners. On Fridays the Waterfort Terrace offers an Indian night.
The Lyric's Cafe
Imagine a place where everybody is different, but the same. Lyric's cafe with it's relaxed and yet outgoing ambiance is the place to be for everybody that wants to enjoy a great night out, go dancing, have a drink or even just relax.
This open-minded, fun and inspiring cafe is the perfect meeting place for you and your friends to meet. Imagine a place where you can mingle and enjoy a night out by just being yourself.
The Penthouse
The Penthouse on the 15th floor offers a truly unique experience. Considered to be the place for Special Occasions and Banqueting events, the Penthouse offers a breath-taking near panoramic view of the city , harbor and coast.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have meeting rooms and event spaces in the hotel that are adequate for small banquets of 50 people up to event as large as 800 people.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.3 / 5
$180
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$173

Hilton Curacao

★★★★
Guest score 2.3 / 5
$179
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$184

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool

General

  • Concierge

Activities

  • Pool
  • Fitness Center

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

2.7 /5 Overall score

62% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 2.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.1/5
  • Hotel staff: 2.8/5
  • Comfort: 3.1/5
  • Location: 4.5/5
  • Value: 3.3/5

Old and Ugly. Great Location.

Would not recommend Sat, Nov 22, 2014
The hotel is Old and not update. It's ugly an dirty. The only good thing it's the location, in the midle of everything.

| Panama City, Panama Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Good

Would recommend Wed, Jul 16, 2014
This was a good experience but the light in room donot open

| Caracas Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Not trained personnel

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 9, 2013
Personnel were untrained and not able to deal with reservation problem. Reservation department assent.

| miami Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Good location

Would recommend Fri, Apr 12, 2013
We had a great view on the Queen Emma bridge. Was interesting seeing the ships comming by. Staff was very friendly.

Dining

Douwe Egberts the Rif Fort was a nice place to be

| Sofia Bulgaria Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

average hotel in a good location

Would recommend Fri, Mar 8, 2013
The check-in experience was not that good. The young lady that check you needs to go to charm school. Check in time is 3pm and we were early. She gave us some papers to fill out and leave with her and was told to come back after 3pm, they did let us check our bags. When we came back at 3:10, we were sternly told to "go sit over there with the others". After about 30 minutes she called us over andfinished checking us in. We had to leave a $100 deposit for the huge room key. The only other problem was on the 2nd day we came back to the room to cleaned room with no towels , you only get 1 towel per person per day. i asked for towels at the desk and was told that they would send the towels to the room. I had to go back after 4 hours to get the towels. Also the hotel web site says that there is a coffee maker in the room, there is not.

Dining

We had to go to McDonald's get a cup of coffee. that was not expresso or latte

| Heredia, Costa Rica Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Poor Choice

Would not recommend Fri, Dec 7, 2012
This hotel should be closed and completely redone. No WIFI in the rooms - you had to go to the lobby where you were constantly swatting mosquitoes because of the mosquito pond in the lobby. Expensive $15 breakfast that was not worth it. The only amenity in the bathroom was 2 small bars of soap. Ran out of towels one morning. Overall, very poor.

| Miami, FL Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

First Curacao Visit

Would recommend Thu, May 24, 2012
It was good experience for the money. The location is just off to itself and kept you from being right on the main street area. No problems with check in or check out. The Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. They don't have bellboys as do most hotels. The front lobby security was there to help and direct you. No problems with Hotel cleanliness. The food was average and not overpriced. The room maids do want you to leave when they stop by in the morning to clean the room. Once because we got up late our room wasn't cleaned when we returned at 2 and didn't get cleaned until 330.

Time saver

Close by shopping and restaurants.

| Chicago, IL, USA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Excellent Location.

Would recommend Sun, Apr 8, 2012
The Hotel is not the best, but a good value for the money. Overall there were very few problems with this hotel. The location is the best feature about this hotel. All the room views are excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel didn't provide a room guide to their services, hours, availability and / or locations. At the front desk they had an interactive computer screen map of Willemstad and it's attractions with very good info. They also had two internet stations nearby for a low fee. There was no nightlife except for the casino. I stayed the original area of the hotel. The room was clean and in good condition, but my kingsize bed was sagging on one side. The room TV had only 16 stations and there was no radio. The maids weren't happy if you didn't leave out by 10am. Once they passed you by it was as late as 3pm to get the room cleaned.

Shopping hint

Most of the stores are within a short walking distance.

| Chicago, IL, USA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location to rough it on a budget!

Would recommend Sun, Oct 16, 2011
Friendly front desk and attendants, as well as nice gift and necessities shop inside hotel, but if you are expecting a hotel like the Plazas in the US, don't stay here because it just isn't the same. Our bathroom ceiling dripped the whole week and the bathtub was too small to sit. Shower water pressure was minimal and sometimes quite chilly. Hallways smell of wetness and possibly mildew. Restaurant food is a good value though! $22 for a different international cuisine every night! You can ask for a small, old refrigerator cube if they are available. Bedspread pretty old and gross. Nice balcony and great view from rooms 245-269, especially 257-263... These rooms overlook the Emma Bridge and are beautiful by night! No ice machine. I'm a grad student and would compare this hotel to a $45/night hostel in Europe on room quality and cleanliness alone. Pool is nice. Bar is nice. It isn't bad but nothing romantic for a special getaway. We were in the room only to sleep and shower so on sale at $85/night was a steal. I will say EXCELLENT location for walking by day or night. Also, kudos for free parking! Rent a car from Avis at the airport or at the Howard Johnson Hotel across street. We got a rental Kia forn5 days for $135 total. Friendly people and awesome location, but if you want luxury, comfort, and romance instead of a deal on a budget, stay at the Renaissance Hotel down the street.

Nightlife hint

The Sopranos Bar by Renaissance Hotel has 2-for-1 frozen mojitos and live piano bar music every Thursday night 9-1 AM. Also, The Gouverneur's has nice appetizers, cocktails, and ambience, as well as techno and dance music starting later at 11 PM! Chihuahua Mexican Cantina Monday-Thursday has all you can eat tacos from 5-7 PM for 35 guilders (approx. $18!) and 2-for-1 beers,

| Indy Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

We always wondered how bad could it be..

Would not recommend Wed, Jul 6, 2011
On Saturday, May 28, 2011, my wife and I arrived at the Plaza Hotel in Curacao after a full day of traveling. We were so excited to finally have arrived and looking forward to the comfort and amenities that the Plaza Hotel had to offer. My wife and I checked out of the Plaza Hotel in Curacao on Sunday night, May 29, 2011. The reason we checked out was due to the fact that the hotel was not only filthy but the staff was unpleasant and not helpful at all. The evening we arrived we were checked in by an unpleasant employee at the front desk. This we did not mind, maybe they were having a bad day or something, but when we got to our room, the floor was wet as we were entering our room. When we looked in the bathroom, the floor was wet in there as well. We didn't complain to the front desk that evening, thinking maybe they just finished moping the floor, and it was still a little wet. After we finished unpacking and went to take a shower, we noticed that there were pubic hairs in the shower. (Does the staff even clean the bathroom properly?). Also, one of the pillows on the bed had a dirty pillow case. Since it was late, and the front desk person seemed to not be helpful at all, I decided to wait until the morning to let the front desk know. The next morning, there was a funny odor in the room when we woke up. When I went to the bathroom, the floor was still wet, but now more than last night. As I was brushing my teeth, I realized that the water was coming from the ceiling above. Apparently, every time a guest in the room above us used the bathroom, it would leak into our bathroom. Now that it was morning, and there was more light in the room, we could see mold spots forming in the corners of the bathroom, due to the moisture from the leak. We went to the front desk and explained to them the issues that we were having and that we wanted a different room. We did not get an apology or any helpful advice, the only response we got back was, "We'll call maintenance to take a look at it…" When I questioned why we couldn't have our room changed, the explanation that was that 'maintenance has to look at it first…' After lunch when we got back to the room, the maintenance worker was still in the room. Basically, all he did was change the ceiling tile and mop the floor, cause it was still leaking about an hour after he left. I did not feel like going back to the front desk to hear another excuse by their unfriendly staff. We jumped in our car and drove to the Marriott Beach Resort where we checked in for the rest of the trip. My wife and I are avid travelers who been to a few different countries, and we always check guest reviews before we go. There are a few times where we see bad reviews about a hotel, but when we got to the destination, it was never as bad as it sounded. We always wondered how bad can the hotel actually be...? Now we know. What I did learn about the Plaza Hotel is that there are 2 parts to it. One part has one 3 floors, and the other part has 14 floors. The part that has 3 floors is a little more up to date and in better condition than the larger part of the hotel. If you do choose to stay at the hotel, ask to stay in the smaller part of the hotel. Unfortunately, the attitude of the staff will probably be the same.

Shopping hint

Great location in the middle of the city. Walking distance to everywhere, but too bad the hotel itself sucks...

| New York, NY Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Fortplain 0.1 mi
Independance statue 1.5 mi
Curacao sea aquarium 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$98
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 12, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016