$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Curacao Avila Hotel

4 stars
Penstraat 130, P.O. Box 791, Willemstad,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Private beach!

The Avila hotel was the perfect location. It was a 20 minute walk to downtown. It is safe to walk... See full review

  • Shaynie
  • Oct 2, 2014
Couples Getaway

Great hotel, we stayed in one of the Octagon suites and have no complaints. See full review

  • JuLu14
  • Jun 23, 2014
Curacao resort boasts private beaches, modern style and Octagon Museum
Built in the 18th century, Avila Hotel originally served as a governor's mansion and former home of Venezuelan liberator Simon Bolivar. Today, guests at this 4-star Curacao resort sunbathe on private beaches, swim in a freshwater infinity pool, and dine in romantic, breathtaking spaces. Whittle off calories in the high-tech gym, indulge in treatments at the Santai Spa or listen to live Jazz at the open-air Blues bar at the end of a weathered pier. Walk to the shops of downtown Punda and explore more of Curacao with help from the on-site tour desk.
Highlights
  • Two private beaches and a freshwater infinity pool
  • Variety of sumptuous dining options and bars, including the romantic, open-air Belle Terrace and Avila Cafe
  • Classical musicians spin aural magic at the on-site music hall 
  • On-site car rental, tour desk and Octagon museum
  • LGBT-friendly
Rooms
Avila Hotel's 150 rooms are streamlined with chic European touches and modern, bright vibes. Refreshed La Belle Alliance rooms include king or two full or queen beds, a flat-screen TV, mini-bar, coffee-maker, safe and Internet access. Choose a room with a balcony and ocean view or a terrace with garden view. King rooms offer a kitchenette. 

Octagon Superior rooms offer combo garden/ocean views, king or two twin beds and shower, plus a balcony, Frette robes and free high-speed Internet access. Spacious Octagon Deluxe rooms additionally feature combo garden/ocean or town views, king or two queen beds, tub, shower, balcony, and kitchenette. 
Features
Travelers staying at the Avila Hotel enjoy two private beaches and a freshwater infinity pool. Guests and locals congregate at the on-site music hall for live classical music. The Octagon Museum chronicles Venezuelan liberator Simon Bolivar's Curacao adventures, while a gift shop, ATM, salon, car rental, and tour desk complete the resort experience. Work out with high-tech TechnoGym machines and Kinesis Wall. The steam room, sauna, and massage treatments at the beautiful Santai Spa soothe sore muscles. The downtown shops and cafes of Punda are within walking distance. 
Dining
Each morning at the Avila Cafe, guests feast at the breakfast buffet. Later, the cafe serves sandwiches and salads. Open-air Belle Terrace overlooks the Caribbean and features Taste of the Region cuisine with health-focused regional specialties, often with live music. Open-air live jazz lures guests to the end of a pier, where the Blues Bar & Restaurant serves a variety of Pincho offerings. At the pool bar, sip tropical libations or head to the Schooner Bar for one of the best happy hours on the island. Cafe Barista serves gourmet coffee and sandwiches.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Attractions
  • Punda (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Curacao Golf & Squash Club (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Hato Caves (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Christoffelpark (23.2 mi/37.3 km)
Business
  • Indoor/outdoor meeting space can accommodates 12 to 600 guests
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
  • On-site business center and car rental
Policies and fees
Check-in is at 4 p.m. and check-out is at 12 p.m.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Curacao Avila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Curacao Avila Hotel Rooms

La Belle Alliance
(322 square feet)All newly renovated rooms with air conditioning, flat screen television, phone, private bathroom with shower and separate WC, balcony and garden view, mini-bar, coffee maker, in-room safe, internet connection, voicemail, clock radio, iron and iron board, and hair dryer. Two full-size Queen-Beds or 1 King bed. Max. occupancy: two adults and two children. Dutch colonial architecture. Balcony or ground floor terrace facing gardens or Caribbean Sea (Sea view not guaranteed). TV with U.S./international cable channels. Rooms with King size beds have a kitchenette.
Octagon Deluxe
(495 square feet)Located in our Octagon Wing, all rooms with air conditioning, luxuriously large, contemporary architecture and decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of Caribbean colors. Mostly ocean view, bathtub and shower, large balcony, flat screen television, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, high-speed Internet connection, coffee maker, voicemail, mini-bar and kitchenette. One King size bed or 2 queen size beds for maximum 2 adults and 1 child.
Octagon Superior
(322 square feet)Located in our Octagon Wing, all rooms with air conditioning, telephone, in-room safe, mini-bar, high-speed Internet connection, voicemail, flat screen television, coffee maker, part garden and part ocean view. One King size bed or 2 twin beds for maximum 2 adults.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortplain: 0.8 mi
  • Independance statue: 0.8 mi
  • Curacao sea aquarium: 2.1 mi

Dining

Avila Cafe
Charming patio restaurant serving a buffet breakfast and sandwiches, salads, and pastries between meals. Max. seating capacity 120 persons. Daily Breakfast 07.00-10.00 h. (Sundays 07.30 -10.30 h.)
Blues
Open-air restaurant and jazz bar at the end of a weathered-wood pier. Floor-to-ceiling windows facing the Caribbean Sea. Bandstand on platform above bar. Friday night tapas and live jazz on Thursday and Saturday nights. Max. Seating Capacity 80 persons Open daily 19.00-23.00 h. (Closed on Mondays) Thursday (19.00-22.00 h.) & Saturday (21.00-23.00 h.) : Live-Jazz music Succulent lobster-dishes as well as international dishes.
Schooner Bar
Casual beachfront bar designed like a half-buried wooden sailing ship. White sail-like canopy. Open mid-morning to late night for beer, tropical drinks, snacks and light dishes.
Pool Bar
Tropical refreshements and healthful snacks served throughout the day. Wednesday: Managers Cocktail Party 18.00-19.00 h.
Belle Terrace
Romantic open-air dining terrace shaded by a giant Royal Poinciana (Flamboyant) tree. International, Danish, and local dishes. Spectacular setting with ocean view. Dinner has European inspired dishes, fresh seafood, and salads. Local traditional food and music on Wednesdays and grill night on Saturdays. Max. seating capacity 80 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Curacao Avila Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 31
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Galinja57
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Aug 2, 2010

A trip back home

I was born on the island and took my friend there. Avila is a beautiful hotel and maintains the charm of the island. It is very centrally located close to Punda and Otrabanda and other attractions. We had a very nice room with beautiful ocean view and a small kitchenette. We could not have asked for more. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. The only thing I did not like was the temperature in the room. You had to keep it very cold in order to prevent condensation on the floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the local market in Punda around lunch time for fresh local food !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonbini!
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2010

lovely hotel, lovely island!

We were fairly surprised at how nice the Avila turned out to be. Our room was awesome and modern, with plenty of room, a cute kitchenette, perfect A/C and we even had a partial view of the ocean from our deck! I really loved our room!! The hotel is about a 15 minute walking distance from downtown and there are taxis aplenty. The beaches on the property were very nice and gentle. I never took advantage of the snorkeling there (kicking myself for that now) but the water was clear enough for me to see some of the fish anyway. What I liked best about the Avila is that it was very nice but low key and not flashy in that Hilton/Marriott sort of way. It definitely had a more European flair to it, which was appreciated. It was a little more family oriented than I would want (e.g., lots of kids) but that would not stop me from using that hotel again. The staff was wonderful and helpful. Couple of things that I didn't like were - **need to learn to make better alcoholic drinks, although this could be an island issue since we went to several different bars in the city and none of their drinks were any better **shower water could be hotter (although I thought it was fine, my friend thought it was a tad cold)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get your diving certification before coming, even if you are ambivalent about diving. Or at least have your own snorkel equipment and rental car handy. I didn't think I'd like doing underwater activities (I was all about the beach) until I went snorkeling. That one day out had me wanting more!!! Unfortunately I had already wasted most of my vacation days hanging out at the beach :(

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFW
Business
The OC, CA
Dec 14, 2009

It's where the Queen stays!

Top-notch all the way around. According to non-hotel sources, the Dutch Queen stays here when she visits Curacao..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jwtiggr
Business
Monterey, California
Oct 17, 2009

Bring lots of money with you!!

We were too far from the town so we had to take taxi's everywhere. The taxi's are not regulated,no meters so they can charge you whatever they feel like charging, and the busses do not have set schedules. It is so humid there, and most of the taxi's did not have air conditioning. A one mile taxi ride costs you $10.00 and it is $30.00 each way to the airport (even tho the hotel had a shuttle they would not take you to the airport or pick you up). I was told the hotel had recently remodeled and added several brand new suites, yet they stuck me in one of the OLDEST, MUSTY SMELLING rooms they offer. I was truly offended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The local wait staff was very nice and helpful with directions, but getting where you want to go is the problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top