$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Curacao Avila Hotel

4 stars
View map of Penstraat 130, P.O. Box 791, Willemstad,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome hotel

Eventhought I went for business, I wasvery pleased that the hotel was in very well conditions... See full review

  • juancmex
  • Apr 26, 2015
Private beach!

The Avila hotel was the perfect location. It was a 20 minute walk to downtown. It is safe to walk... See full review

  • Shaynie
  • Oct 2, 2014
Built in the 18th century, Avila Hotel originally served as a governor's mansion and former home of Venezuelan liberator Simon Bolivar. Today, guests at this 4-star Curacao resort sunbathe on private beaches, swim in a freshwater infinity pool, and dine in romantic, breathtaking spaces. Whittle off calories in the high-tech gym, indulge in treatments at the Santai Spa or listen to live Jazz at the open-air Blues bar at the end of a weathered pier. Walk to the shops of downtown Punda and explore more of Curacao with help from the on-site tour desk.
Dining
Each morning at the Avila Cafe, guests feast at the breakfast buffet. Later, the cafe serves sandwiches and salads. Open-air Belle Terrace overlooks the Caribbean and features Taste of the Region cuisine with health-focused regional specialties, often with live music. Open-air live jazz lures guests to the end of a pier, where the Blues Bar & Restaurant serves a variety of Pincho offerings. At the pool bar, sip tropical libations or head to the Schooner Bar for one of the best happy hours on the island. Cafe Barista serves gourmet coffee and sandwiches.
Rooms
Avila Hotel's 150 rooms are streamlined with chic European touches and modern, bright vibes. Refreshed La Belle Alliance rooms include king or two full or queen beds, a flat-screen TV, mini-bar, coffee-maker, safe and Internet access. Choose a room with a balcony and ocean view or a terrace with garden view. King rooms offer a kitchenette. 

Octagon Superior rooms offer combo garden/ocean views, king or two twin beds and shower, plus a balcony, Frette robes and free high-speed Internet access. Spacious Octagon Deluxe rooms additionally feature combo garden/ocean or town views, king or two queen beds, tub, shower, balcony, and kitchenette. 
Property features
Travelers staying at the Avila Hotel enjoy two private beaches and a freshwater infinity pool. Guests and locals congregate at the on-site music hall for live classical music. The Octagon Museum chronicles Venezuelan liberator Simon Bolivar's Curacao adventures, while a gift shop, ATM, salon, car rental, and tour desk complete the resort experience. Work out with high-tech TechnoGym machines and Kinesis Wall. The steam room, sauna, and massage treatments at the beautiful Santai Spa soothe sore muscles. The downtown shops and cafes of Punda are within walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Two private beaches and a freshwater infinity pool
  • Variety of sumptuous dining options and bars, including the romantic, open-air Belle Terrace and Avila Cafe
  • Classical musicians spin aural magic at the on-site music hall 
  • On-site car rental, tour desk and Octagon museum
  • LGBT-friendly
Nearby attractions
  • Punda (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Curacao Golf & Squash Club (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Hato Caves (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Christoffelpark (23.2 mi/37.3 km)
Business
  • Indoor/outdoor meeting space can accommodates 12 to 600 guests
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
  • On-site business center and car rental
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Policies
Check-in is at 4 p.m. and check-out is at 12 p.m.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Curacao Avila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Curacao Avila Hotel Rooms

La Belle Alliance
(322 square feet)All newly renovated rooms with air conditioning, flat screen television, phone, private bathroom with shower and separate WC, balcony and garden view, mini-bar, coffee maker, in-room safe, internet connection, voicemail, clock radio, iron and iron board, and hair dryer. Two full-size Queen-Beds or 1 King bed. Max. occupancy: two adults and two children. Dutch colonial architecture. Balcony or ground floor terrace facing gardens or Caribbean Sea (Sea view not guaranteed). TV with U.S./international cable channels. Rooms with King size beds have a kitchenette.
Octagon Deluxe
(495 square feet)Located in our Octagon Wing, all rooms with air conditioning, luxuriously large, contemporary architecture and decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of Caribbean colors. Mostly ocean view, bathtub and shower, large balcony, flat screen television, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, high-speed Internet connection, coffee maker, voicemail, mini-bar and kitchenette. One King size bed or 2 queen size beds for maximum 2 adults and 1 child.
Octagon Superior
(322 square feet)Located in our Octagon Wing, all rooms with air conditioning, telephone, in-room safe, mini-bar, high-speed Internet connection, voicemail, flat screen television, coffee maker, part garden and part ocean view. One King size bed or 2 twin beds for maximum 2 adults.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortplain: 0.8 mi
  • Independance statue: 0.8 mi
  • Curacao sea aquarium: 2.1 mi

Dining

Avila Cafe
Charming patio restaurant serving a buffet breakfast and sandwiches, salads, and pastries between meals. Max. seating capacity 120 persons. Daily Breakfast 07.00-10.00 h. (Sundays 07.30 -10.30 h.)
Blues
Open-air restaurant and jazz bar at the end of a weathered-wood pier. Floor-to-ceiling windows facing the Caribbean Sea. Bandstand on platform above bar. Friday night tapas and live jazz on Thursday and Saturday nights. Max. Seating Capacity 80 persons Open daily 19.00-23.00 h. (Closed on Mondays) Thursday (19.00-22.00 h.) & Saturday (21.00-23.00 h.) : Live-Jazz music Succulent lobster-dishes as well as international dishes.
Schooner Bar
Casual beachfront bar designed like a half-buried wooden sailing ship. White sail-like canopy. Open mid-morning to late night for beer, tropical drinks, snacks and light dishes.
Pool Bar
Tropical refreshements and healthful snacks served throughout the day. Wednesday: Managers Cocktail Party 18.00-19.00 h.
Belle Terrace
Romantic open-air dining terrace shaded by a giant Royal Poinciana (Flamboyant) tree. International, Danish, and local dishes. Spectacular setting with ocean view. Dinner has European inspired dishes, fresh seafood, and salads. Local traditional food and music on Wednesdays and grill night on Saturdays. Max. seating capacity 80 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Curacao Avila Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 29
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaynie
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 2, 2014

Private beach!

The Avila hotel was the perfect location. It was a 20 minute walk to downtown. It is safe to walk at night. The beach is perfect and you can walk in and snorkel. Beach chairs and umbrellas available at no charge located next to the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosendales and Ginger are both great and a short walk.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuLu14
Business
NYC
Jun 23, 2014

Couples Getaway

Great hotel, we stayed in one of the Octagon suites and have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is expensive but there are many great restaurants at Blvd Beach.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee5
Business
chicago
Feb 2, 2014

Just missed on so many levels

For a top hotel with top pricing, this hotel just didn't quite get customer service. The only person that cared about us was the man that looked after our suitcases until our room was ready at 4pm. I know we arrived much earlier in the day, but we were hot and tired.. offer us a glass of water or if we wanted to sit by the pool a towel. The room was small and borderline clean. The list goes on, all in all Stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BPOct2013
Business
N. Carolina
Sep 30, 2013

Couple vacation

Private small beach, take lots of money, Food not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosendals is excellent!

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CW and CC
Business
Ocean Pines, MD, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Great staff makes for Great Vacation

We enjoyed everything at Avila - but, a true standout was the effort made by the staff to accommodate all requests. In particular, Alice, the head of the housekeeping staff, checked with us multiple times to assure that we were having a successful and comfortable visit. We were!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
glzr
Business
Tel Aviv, Israel
Oct 11, 2011

Great Hotel

The hotel has great location. it is located very close to the main city (10 min walk) and close to a few of the better restaurant you can find - just a minute walk. The beach is great and the room is modern. What else can you ask...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frenches
Business
Indiana, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Great place to Stay in Curacao!

The Curacao Tourism Bureau referred us to this unique hotel near downtown Willemstad while visiting in September 2011. It was a great suggestion and fit our needs very well. For anyone desiring to be close to Downtown Dining, and Shopping, with a very nice beach, this is an excellent choice. The beach is small with nice sand and clear water. Snorkelling is good around the natural stone breaker walls with decent reef formations. My only complaint would be that the beach could have been kept a little cleaner. Our room, on the 1st floor in Belle Alliance was very clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent. No damp odors, bugs, etc. It was very nice to have the refridgerator in the room. We were able to go to a local grocery and pick up snacks, drinks, and breakfast food. Housekeeping did a fine job. The bathroom and shower were unique (a bit strange to our American tastes) with it's frosted glass walls. The Hotel Restaurants offered great food and service. We found prices to be approximately 50% more than one would expect to pay in the US which is typical throughout the entire island. The Hotel has a very European feel with similar service. Don't expect free refills on drinks, or endless buffet's like you would find at an all-inclusive. During our 10 night stay we only met 2 other American couples. Everyone else that we met were from the Netherlands or Belgium. Communication in English is not a problem. While nearly everyone spoke Dutch, they were also able to converse very well in English. I would not consider the Hotel to be within walking distance of Downtown Willemstad, however, there are several nice restaurants within 2-3 blocks. We, personally, would not have been comfortable walking from the Hotel to downtown at night. We rented a car and would consider it a necessity if you want to see other parts of the island, beaches, or have convenient access to downtown Willemstad. There is abundant, paid, public parking in the downtown with a myriad of dining, shopping, and entertainment choices. We had a great experience and would definately refer friends to this Hotel and Island in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately make stops at the Southwest side beaches (Which are approximately 30 to 45 minute drive from the Hotel); Playa Lagun and Cas Abou. It doesn't get much better than these 2 anywhere in the Caribbean. A visit to Boca Tabla is also a must. Have Lunch at Jaanchies for unique, local dining while on the West end of the island.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 23, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

This is a beautiful hotel with clean, quiet, comfortable rooms and great staff. The beach at the hotel is fine, and the snokeling there is good--though not terrific. One can walk to Willemstad, but it is not a pleasant walk, and I would not do it at night, so people take free shuttle, or taxi, or use a rental car. There are five eating places at the hotel. The food, although very good, seemed a little expensive. Think about eating away from the hotel sometimes. Food in the mini bar was very expensive. A bottle of water that costs $5 in the room could be bought for $1 in a supermarket about seven blocks away. I never figured out the correct tip procedure. A 12 percent service charge and 5 percent tax is added to every purchase at the hotel and yet they always indicate a line for a tip. When we were there, most of the people staying at the hotel were Dutch, and we never got into any conversations with any of them (they all were able to speak English). You may have more success.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If possible, rent a car and drive for about an hour to beaches up toward the north west. Most are free and they are used by locals (note that each beach may have a variety of names). We also visited two beaches to the south east (Mambo beach in the Seaquarium area, and Zanzibar beach in the Jan Theilbaal area) but they were built-up, crowded, and detached from nature.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
Jan 27, 2011

Avila first time but not the last

We stayed in the Belle Alliance wing of the hotel. Our first room was on the first floor, not very clean and had a musty smell. We stopped a housekeeping supervisor to ask a question about the room safe. When she came in our room, she asked if we were happy with it. No, it wasn't really what we expected. She immediately moved us up to the 3rd floor, a room with a balcony facing the ocean. What a difference! We had a beautiful view and the room was clean and pleasant. If we had stayed in the first room our impression of Avila would have been completely unsatisfactory. The pool was very nice and the beach had every amenity. It was a very quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The food at "Blues" was just ok. It would have been nice to have free wifi in the rooms. But that wouldn't stop us from returning. We would absolutely stay here on our next trip to Curacao. (Just not on the first floor)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We learned the hard way that if a restaurant had a good view, the food was mediocre or poor. When we went away from the waterfront we found good food. Il Forno and the Indonesian place at the mall, Sambal? They both had good food and good value.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa Florida
Aug 13, 2010

Avila Hotel

After a long trip, we were greeted with kind words and a cold juice drink at check in. Our room was amazing (we had the octagon deluxe), it was all tile with a two large sliding glass doors opening to a spacious balcony with two chairs to enjoy the view of the ocean. The food at the main restaurant was very nice. I truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It had a wide range of both Dutch and American choices, with a chef to prepare eggs to order or a tasty omelet. Lunch and dinner were equally yummy with a weekly special and about 12 mains to choose from. The service is European so the pace is a bit more drawn out than what Americans may be used to (we happened to enjoy the slower pace). The only issue we had was with the number of children at the hotel. We went during the hight of the European summer holiday season. As such there were many families at the hotel. All the children we very well behaved and did not bother us much. However, they did dominate the pool area. As someone who enjoys leaving the ocean for the pool at times, I actually never used the pool. In addition to the large number of children at the pool, it's hours were 7:00am to 8:00pm. We found this to be a bit restrictive. I love to swim at night and this was not possible at this hotel. Although the issues with children and the pool were drawbacks, we loved the Avila! It was true luxury with just the right amount of relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wine Cellar. This is a wonderful French restaurant owned by a Dutch family for 40 years. These people know their food and how to pair the right wine with it. The Wine Cellar is a short walk from the Avila, however the maître d' came and picked us up at the hotel (the'll do the same for you!) This is a must dine for any foodie!

Back to menu Return to top