$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Curacao Avila Hotel

4 stars
View map of Penstraat 130, P.O. Box 791, Willemstad,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Curacao Avila Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington,DC
Feb 28, 2010

Great Place to visit

The hotel location is only a few minutes walking distance to downtown Willemstad and is safe. The locals are very friendly and will help if you ever need directions anywhere. The hotel food is pricey so we opted to go to the market in downtown a lot where both the locals and tourists go and the food is amazing!!!! Their gym is very modern and overlooks the ocean which makes for a fun workout. I have to say though that the beach area could use a little picking up of litter made by tourists that does not know how to pick up after themselves. We also visited other hotels and found the Avila one of the better places to stay and would go back again soon !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pi Asa Bieu in Punda is a great cheap and safe place to eat and the food is great!

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Alex Haak will tell it like it is"
Business
St. Petersburg, Florida
Dec 15, 2009

Great location and place to stay

Did some site seeing, downtown and fords, food cost more then stay. Fridge and Micro oven

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is fun shopping down town, . honest locals and natives, but watch for Dutch natives, they will pad your credit card bills.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bayside, NY
Dec 14, 2009

Dutch Treat

The Avila Beach Hotel is not like a Merriot or Hilton. It has a more "homey" atmosphere than the large chains. The grounds seem small and intimate yet there is plenty of private places to talk and relax even when the hotel is nearly full. The location is perfect for walking into the main part of Willemstad, yet you are not "in town" like a business hotel. The clientele is largely Dutch so it makes for a more "continental" experience than you would experience in an "American" hotel. They are generally friendly and open to speaking to Americans. On this trip, I received several sincere invitations from other guests to visit them in Holland. The Front desk staff is very helpful and friendly and do make good recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. Ask the other guests, especially, the ones that come to the Avila year after year, for the latest word on restaurants. There are some really good and enjoyable restaurants nearby or a short taxi ride away. The experienced Avila guests can let you know on which nights various restaurants have live music or special menus. The Schooner Bar is the "heart" of the hotel. It is the place to meet the regulars and learn their restaurant secrets. Not so secret as they they will willingly share that information with you. If you are looking for a large selection of single malt scotch, this not the place. But for tropical drinks and mixes you're home. The bar under Luciano, Andy and Maximo is fun whether the conversation or humor is in English,Dutch,Spanish or Papiamento. Even if you only speak one of those languages, you won't feel left out. As you can see, I like staying at the Avila Beach hotel and this past trip was no exception. Are there things that could be better, sure. But overall I feel at home and wouldn't think of going anywhere else on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be open to moving off the hotel site for dinner. The restaurants will calla taxi for you when you want to go back to the hotel. The taxi rates are pretty standardized as they do not have meters.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFW
Business
The OC, CA
Dec 14, 2009

It's where the Queen stays!

Top-notch all the way around. According to non-hotel sources, the Dutch Queen stays here when she visits Curacao..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2009

QUiet, relaxing hotel on the beach

Overall, the hotel was great. It has two private beaches (both small, but never got crowded during my stay) and a great infinity pool (it was often difficult to get a lounge chair by the pool). The room was spacious, clean, and had a great view--I was in the Octagon Wing. The hotel is within walking distance of the historic downtown area. If you want to go anywhere else, you will need a car or a cab, though that is the norm for the entire island. There are a number of restaurants at the hotel. The food was good, though service was often slow and there is no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I used Ocean Encounters for scuba diving while in Curacao and they were fantastic. If you plan to do a lot of scuba diving, there are other hotels that are more convenient. For example, Ocean Encounters has shops at a number of hotels, but not the Avila.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Nov 24, 2009

Not worth the price and hassle

We had a mixed experience at Avila. The hotel is in a great location, close to downtown and easy drive to many great beaches and dive sites. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean and well maintained. The pool and fitness facilities are great. That being said, the service is extremely lacking. The staff is not rude but instead is rather ambivalent to your needs. The service at the restaurants and bars is very slow and not helpful at all. After trying to eat and drink there the first day we opted instead to do our eating and drinking elsewhere. Also food and drink prices are quite a bit higher here than elsewhere on the island. We asked for wake up calls every morning as we were going out to do morning dives. The wake up calls never came on time and twice never came at all. The "high speed" internet was unbelievably slow. We told the staff about this several times and were completely blown off. Curacao is great and we plan on going back. Next time we will stay somewhere else. Avila has the look of a first class hotel but definitely not the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerQ
Business
Brookyln, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Top Notch

Very nice place. There are several areas of the hotel that can appeal to many different types of people. I was in the contemporary Octagon Wing which was very stylish and clean. The room was big enough and had everything we needed. Free internet in the room was a plus so bring your laptop. Rented a car in the lobby- very convenient. There were more children around than I expected, but it was quiet at night. Definitely the nicest fitness equipment I have ever used. I highly recommend it. My only complaint was that the several restaurants in the hotel were all on the expensive side. The nice part is that we were in walking distance of town so we only ate at the hotel one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosendaels Restaurant Across the street from the hotel is much more affordable and had a lot of charm and great food. Went there twice during the trip.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Chic
Business
Florida
Oct 26, 2009

Great Views

I arrived at approximately 9:00 at night so I really didn't get a sense of where I was at until the next morning. I was definitely not expecting to wake up to such a beautiful view! This was a very nice hotel and within short walking distance to Punda. Avila also provides a daily shuttle to town at 2 different times during the day. One thing that I do wish is that they had a better variety in restaurants. Dinner didn't start until 7pm so the only thing to eat at the hotel was sandwhiches. Now 7pm is not normally late but when you ahve to catch a dive boat at 6am, it tends to be a little late to be eating. Overall, I was pleasently suprised by the hotel and will definitely return. One note, the hotel staff was super friendly which is not what I was expecting after a previous trip to another caribean island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is about a short 5 to 10 minute walk to Punda for a better variety of food.

Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jwtiggr
Business
Monterey, California
Oct 17, 2009

Bring lots of money with you!!

We were too far from the town so we had to take taxi's everywhere. The taxi's are not regulated,no meters so they can charge you whatever they feel like charging, and the busses do not have set schedules. It is so humid there, and most of the taxi's did not have air conditioning. A one mile taxi ride costs you $10.00 and it is $30.00 each way to the airport (even tho the hotel had a shuttle they would not take you to the airport or pick you up). I was told the hotel had recently remodeled and added several brand new suites, yet they stuck me in one of the OLDEST, MUSTY SMELLING rooms they offer. I was truly offended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The local wait staff was very nice and helpful with directions, but getting where you want to go is the problem.

Back to menu Return to top