$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Curacao Avila Hotel

4 stars
Penstraat 130, P.O. Box 791, Willemstad,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Private beach!

The Avila hotel was the perfect location. It was a 20 minute walk to downtown. It is safe to walk... See full review

  • Shaynie
  • Oct 2, 2014
Couples Getaway

Great hotel, we stayed in one of the Octagon suites and have no complaints. See full review

  • JuLu14
  • Jun 23, 2014
Curacao resort boasts private beaches, modern style and Octagon Museum
Built in the 18th century, Avila Hotel originally served as a governor's mansion and former home of Venezuelan liberator Simon Bolivar. Today, guests at this 4-star Curacao resort sunbathe on private beaches, swim in a freshwater infinity pool, and dine in romantic, breathtaking spaces. Whittle off calories in the high-tech gym, indulge in treatments at the Santai Spa or listen to live Jazz at the open-air Blues bar at the end of a weathered pier. Walk to the shops of downtown Punda and explore more of Curacao with help from the on-site tour desk.
Highlights
  • Two private beaches and a freshwater infinity pool
  • Variety of sumptuous dining options and bars, including the romantic, open-air Belle Terrace and Avila Cafe
  • Classical musicians spin aural magic at the on-site music hall 
  • On-site car rental, tour desk and Octagon museum
  • LGBT-friendly
Rooms
Avila Hotel's 150 rooms are streamlined with chic European touches and modern, bright vibes. Refreshed La Belle Alliance rooms include king or two full or queen beds, a flat-screen TV, mini-bar, coffee-maker, safe and Internet access. Choose a room with a balcony and ocean view or a terrace with garden view. King rooms offer a kitchenette. 

Octagon Superior rooms offer combo garden/ocean views, king or two twin beds and shower, plus a balcony, Frette robes and free high-speed Internet access. Spacious Octagon Deluxe rooms additionally feature combo garden/ocean or town views, king or two queen beds, tub, shower, balcony, and kitchenette. 
Features
Travelers staying at the Avila Hotel enjoy two private beaches and a freshwater infinity pool. Guests and locals congregate at the on-site music hall for live classical music. The Octagon Museum chronicles Venezuelan liberator Simon Bolivar's Curacao adventures, while a gift shop, ATM, salon, car rental, and tour desk complete the resort experience. Work out with high-tech TechnoGym machines and Kinesis Wall. The steam room, sauna, and massage treatments at the beautiful Santai Spa soothe sore muscles. The downtown shops and cafes of Punda are within walking distance. 
Dining
Each morning at the Avila Cafe, guests feast at the breakfast buffet. Later, the cafe serves sandwiches and salads. Open-air Belle Terrace overlooks the Caribbean and features Taste of the Region cuisine with health-focused regional specialties, often with live music. Open-air live jazz lures guests to the end of a pier, where the Blues Bar & Restaurant serves a variety of Pincho offerings. At the pool bar, sip tropical libations or head to the Schooner Bar for one of the best happy hours on the island. Cafe Barista serves gourmet coffee and sandwiches.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Attractions
  • Punda (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Curacao Golf & Squash Club (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Hato Caves (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Christoffelpark (23.2 mi/37.3 km)
Business
  • Indoor/outdoor meeting space can accommodates 12 to 600 guests
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
  • On-site business center and car rental
Policies and fees
Check-in is at 4 p.m. and check-out is at 12 p.m.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Curacao Avila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Curacao Avila Hotel Rooms

La Belle Alliance
(322 square feet)All newly renovated rooms with air conditioning, flat screen television, phone, private bathroom with shower and separate WC, balcony and garden view, mini-bar, coffee maker, in-room safe, internet connection, voicemail, clock radio, iron and iron board, and hair dryer. Two full-size Queen-Beds or 1 King bed. Max. occupancy: two adults and two children. Dutch colonial architecture. Balcony or ground floor terrace facing gardens or Caribbean Sea (Sea view not guaranteed). TV with U.S./international cable channels. Rooms with King size beds have a kitchenette.
Octagon Deluxe
(495 square feet)Located in our Octagon Wing, all rooms with air conditioning, luxuriously large, contemporary architecture and decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of Caribbean colors. Mostly ocean view, bathtub and shower, large balcony, flat screen television, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, high-speed Internet connection, coffee maker, voicemail, mini-bar and kitchenette. One King size bed or 2 queen size beds for maximum 2 adults and 1 child.
Octagon Superior
(322 square feet)Located in our Octagon Wing, all rooms with air conditioning, telephone, in-room safe, mini-bar, high-speed Internet connection, voicemail, flat screen television, coffee maker, part garden and part ocean view. One King size bed or 2 twin beds for maximum 2 adults.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortplain: 0.8 mi
  • Independance statue: 0.8 mi
  • Curacao sea aquarium: 2.1 mi

Dining

Avila Cafe
Charming patio restaurant serving a buffet breakfast and sandwiches, salads, and pastries between meals. Max. seating capacity 120 persons. Daily Breakfast 07.00-10.00 h. (Sundays 07.30 -10.30 h.)
Blues
Open-air restaurant and jazz bar at the end of a weathered-wood pier. Floor-to-ceiling windows facing the Caribbean Sea. Bandstand on platform above bar. Friday night tapas and live jazz on Thursday and Saturday nights. Max. Seating Capacity 80 persons Open daily 19.00-23.00 h. (Closed on Mondays) Thursday (19.00-22.00 h.) & Saturday (21.00-23.00 h.) : Live-Jazz music Succulent lobster-dishes as well as international dishes.
Schooner Bar
Casual beachfront bar designed like a half-buried wooden sailing ship. White sail-like canopy. Open mid-morning to late night for beer, tropical drinks, snacks and light dishes.
Pool Bar
Tropical refreshements and healthful snacks served throughout the day. Wednesday: Managers Cocktail Party 18.00-19.00 h.
Belle Terrace
Romantic open-air dining terrace shaded by a giant Royal Poinciana (Flamboyant) tree. International, Danish, and local dishes. Spectacular setting with ocean view. Dinner has European inspired dishes, fresh seafood, and salads. Local traditional food and music on Wednesdays and grill night on Saturdays. Max. seating capacity 80 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Curacao Avila Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
glzr
Tel Aviv, Israel
Oct 11, 2011

Great Hotel

The hotel has great location. it is located very close to the main city (10 min walk) and close to a few of the better restaurant you can find - just a minute walk. The beach is great and the room is modern. What else can you ask...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaynie
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 2, 2014

Private beach!

The Avila hotel was the perfect location. It was a 20 minute walk to downtown. It is safe to walk at night. The beach is perfect and you can walk in and snorkel. Beach chairs and umbrellas available at no charge located next to the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosendales and Ginger are both great and a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuLu14
Business
NYC
Jun 23, 2014

Couples Getaway

Great hotel, we stayed in one of the Octagon suites and have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is expensive but there are many great restaurants at Blvd Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee5
Business
chicago
Feb 2, 2014

Just missed on so many levels

For a top hotel with top pricing, this hotel just didn't quite get customer service. The only person that cared about us was the man that looked after our suitcases until our room was ready at 4pm. I know we arrived much earlier in the day, but we were hot and tired.. offer us a glass of water or if we wanted to sit by the pool a towel. The room was small and borderline clean. The list goes on, all in all Stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTravelerXX
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 13, 2014

Great Staff, Nice Hotel, Over-Priced

The staff members with whom I spoke--at the reception and in the restaurants and bars--were all wonderful. Also the food and drinks I had were all very good--even a weird vegetarian pasta with carrots(!) in it. Somehow it worked. I also enjoyed the Thursday evening jazz evening. The room cleaning staff, though, need more supervision. My room, especially the bathroom, was never thoroughly cleaned, and there was usually crud and sand in the corners and I could see unidentifiable stuff on the walls that hadn't been wiped down. Also, while the bathrooms look nice, they're hazardous. Water from the shower leaks out onto the floor and the whole room becomes a slippery pool--and there's also the risk of running into the glass shower divider, if you're not paying attention. (I didn't, but staff hung a towel there to alert me.) Further, cleaning staff never ensure you have the same number of towels each day. I also had a problem in the first room I was assigned (Belle Alliance) because it was near the parking lot and way too noisy. Staff kindly changed this for me. I was disappointed that all of the historic charm was gone from the rooms (except the antique air conditioner that was sometimes loud). I usually turned off the air conditioner, but sometimes I returned to the room and the system had been set on high--nearly flash freezing me as I entered the room. Overall I liked the hotel and I found the staff members really friendly and nice, but the hotel is expensive, so I expected to be more comfortable in my room--and I worried about injuring myself in the bathroom. I also did not appreciate the temperature adjustments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of restaurants a short walk (for me) from the hotel. It's safe to walk at night in pairs, but when I walked alone I asked a security guard (there are several in the area) to accompany me. By day there were no problems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BPOct2013
Business
N. Carolina
Sep 30, 2013

Couple vacation

Private small beach, take lots of money, Food not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosendals is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caribbean travel
Business
san jose, ca
Jul 9, 2013

great beach location!

rooms are updated and roomy. could use a bit more comfort in amenities, i.e. area rug, more comfortable bed, better pillows, in-room furniture upgrades. all in all we were very happy with the location and size of the room. also included nice size patio with marvelous ocean view. beach front was awesome with plenty beach chairs. i would suggest renting/offering sports activities (i.e. snorkeling equipment, paddle boards, sail catamarans, etc. need to improve beach side menu and lower prices. cafe closed too early. staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurant 5 min. walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dingrid
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 23, 2013

Paradise

Great location, nice beach and pool. Good service, friendly people. Will stay there angain and refer friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick41
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful location

Great for a quiet getaway at the beach, great beach, wonderful ocean, hotel food choices were OK, town is walkable but further than you may want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJAS
Business
kansas city, kansas
Aug 26, 2012

vacation

great location to the downtown area. it's right on the beach which was so convenient! several restaurants to choose from on the grounds and all of the staff are accommating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Curacao Avila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CW and CC
Business
Ocean Pines, MD, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Great staff makes for Great Vacation

We enjoyed everything at Avila - but, a true standout was the effort made by the staff to accommodate all requests. In particular, Alice, the head of the housekeeping staff, checked with us multiple times to assure that we were having a successful and comfortable visit. We were!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top