$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

4 stars
DR MARTIN LUTHER KING BLVD 8, CURACAO,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
99 reviews
Great place perfect location

Several amenitie great staff. The hotel was very clean and the inclusive meals were very appetizing. See full review

  • Snorkeler222
  • Dec 18, 2013
Beachful bliss

This is such a beautiful all inclusive resort. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is so much... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 30, 2010
All-inclusive Curacao resort delivers fun and adventure for all ages
Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive is located on 1,500 feet of white sand beach in diver's paradise, Curacao. Couples and families at this "super" all-inclusive resort lock up their wallets and enjoy a vast array of activities, including flying trapeze clinics, ice skating, golfing, wind surfing, snorkeling and scuba diving at the adjacent Undersea National Park. Three specialty restaurants, beach bar, kids' snack shack, and buffet keep guests full and happy.
Highlights
  • Kid-friendly Caribbean resort offers a rock climbing wall, trapeze training and more
  • Endless activities for grownups include an on-site casino, spa, tennis courts and scuba diving at some of the world's best dive sites
  • Adjacent to Undersea National Park and Curacao Sea Aquarium
Rooms
Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive boasts 333 rooms and suites with tiled floors, vibrant blue bedding, and a choice of king or two beds. All rooms offer creature comforts like air conditioning, a coffee-maker, CD player, cable TV, phone and a desk plus a safe, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathrooms come equipped with either a shower or tub. Rooms offer a terrace, patio, or balcony with garden, ocean, or oceanfront views. Suites are quipped with two or three bedrooms, and more space.
Features
At Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive, guests can participate in a true variety of activities that includes sumo wrestling, bouncy boxing, flying trapeze and trampoline clinics, wind surfing, snorkeling, and scuba diving (some fees may apply). Pools, hot tubs, kids' and teens' clubs, tennis courts, bicycles, and 1,500 feet of white sand round out the amenities and deliver one of the top all-inclusive Caribbean resorts for families and active enthusiasts. Work out in the fitness center with free weights, Nautilus machines and personal trainers. For something positively rejuvenating, plan a service or massage at the Blue Mahoe Spa. The resort is adjacent to the pristine Undersea National Park and Sea Aquarium with its Dolphin Academy experience.
Dining
Guests never go hungry at Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive. Three restaurants, a buffet, and kids' snack bar continually serve food. Pastafari offers Italian dishes and wine while the casual Jimmy's Buffet delivers meals from breakfast to midnight snacks. Head to Munasan for innovative Japanese dinners (reservations needed.) Beach grill Scotch Bonnet offers American favorites like hamburgers, hot dogs and ice cream. 
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (10.6 mi/17.1 km)
Attractions
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium and Curacao Dolphin Academy (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • Willemstad (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Blue Bay Golf & Beach Resort (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Curacao Golf & Squash Club (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Hato Caves (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms available with group rates
  • Wi-Fi access and A/V equipment available (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

12.0899 -68.9023
Area served
Curacao
Nearby airports
Curaco Hato International Airport (CUR)
Area description
The resort is approximately 20 minutes from Curacao's Hato International Airport (CUR). Adjacent to both the pristine Undersea National Park and entertaining Sea Aquarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
All rooms have a view of our local gardens with either a King-size bed or two Queen beds. Maximum 4 people per room.
Deluxe Oceanview
All rooms have a variety of views to the sea. In addition to standard furnishing, these rooms also feature a lounge chair. King-size bed or two Queen beds. Maximum 4 people per room.
Premium Deluxe Oceanfront Room
These rooms offer the majestic view of the ocean from their balcony. Inviting you to be seduced by unforgettable Zeniths. Featuring a King bed or two Queen beds. Maximum 4 people per room.
Preferred Club Jr. Suites Oceanview
Large rooms with one king or two queen size beds. Includes a table for two, a two-seater sofa, and a balcony or a patio. Maximum 4 people per room.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Jr. Suite Oceanfront
Large room with one king size bed directly overlooking the Ocean. Includes a table for two and a two-seater sofa. Balcony or patio. Maximum 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Dining

Da Mario Restaurant
Italian cuisine.
Himitsu Restaurant
Pan-Asian cuisine.
Bluewater Grill
Grilled specialties, a la carte.
Oceana Restaurant & Bar
Seafood specialties.
Coco Cafe
Light fare
Manatees
Pool and swim-up bar
Barracuda Bar
Beach bar
Oceana Bar
Outdoor bar
Rendezvous Bar
Lobby bar
Desires
Sport bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 6, 2010

a bit old but clean and great beach

The hotel is a bit old, but clean and the beach is great. All Super inclusive is a bargain, restaurants in Curacao are expensive. Grab the Super in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

stick to the Italian and Jap restaurants. They are better than the buffet and the grill bar.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MDoneburgh
Leesburg, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Would return to Curacao...not to Breezes

I will start by saying that I feel the Breezes website greatly misrepresents what you are in for on your stay. The location of the resort is awful. You are surrounded by ghetto. I know this is the case with many island resorts, as they are third world type places. However, the website leads you to beleive you are closer to the capital of Willamstead. It is not walking distance (not safely anyway). There were some good things that I can say about my stay. The beach area was very nice and fairly large. I have been to other places where the beach is almost non-existant. They have a nice lagoon that they created which makes swimming and snorkeling very nice. This is an all inclusive resort so all meals were free. The breakfast in the morning was very good and their italian restaurant, Pastafari was very nice. We did some snorkeling and it was very enjoyable. That is where my praise ends. The staff is incredibly rude. This was a consistent theme throughout our week long stay. The rudeness ranged from apathy to just general unfriendliness to being completley ignored. I realize that I would never want to do the jobs some of these people are doing, but don't take it out on the guests. We had to complain several times. An example: we dined at one restaurant (Starlight Grill or something like that, Scotch Bonnet was the name during the day). We had requested a vegetarian dish prior to our meal and were told we would be accomodated as one of our party doesn't eat meat or fish. We continued to inquire what was taking so long and if our friend would have a meal. The waitress continued to shrug us off. After an hour, we got our food, only to have the waitress tell us our friend would not be getting a meal and we should have made prior arrangements. We had to leave and go to the buffet so our friend could eat. There were a few staff members who were very nice and we made sure to mention them to management The security is very poor. The security guards walk around and pick on resort guests for what they deem to be inappropriate dress or not having their wristband visible but turn a blind eye when local children barge into the lagoon, causing loud scenes, bothering guests and make obscene gestures. The food was adequate at Jimmy's Buffet. We did not eat at the Japanese restuarant as friends we were with did and did not like it. The rooms are adequate. The showers leak so everyday we had a flood in the bathroom. This seems to be consistent with what we heard from others. The hairdryers are ridiculous. They heat up to about a million degrees. i don't know how anyone with any hair could use them. The sink smelled everyday. The water appeared to have a mineral or metal base to it, which made the entire room stink. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable. A constant message continued to flash on the TV about service not having been paid. And last but not least...the constant noise. Do not go to Breezes thinking you will be in for a nice quiet, relaxing trip. There is a constant barrage of announcements and games that are made by the pools (which appeared gross, by the way) that can be heard anywhere. The games and announcements are followed by loud music, usually some sort of techno or rap (not everyone likes that music). Same thing through dinner (except inside Pastafari where there was lovely piano dinner music). Then from around 9-1 AM there is incredibly loud music, karoke, games, etc. So loud that not only could we hear them in our room, with the doors shut, but I cuold hear them even with earplugs in my ears. All in all , I would definitley go back to Curacao, but I would never stay at another Breezes based on our experience and would NEVER recommend to a friend. They need to make a lot of changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The downtown Willemstead area is about a 15 minute drive from the resort. It is absolutley not walking distance.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MDoneburgh
Leesburg, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Would return to Curacao...not to Breezes

I will start by saying that I feel the Breezes website greatly misrepresents what you are in for on your stay. The location of the resort is awful. You are surrounded by ghetto. I know this is the case with many island resorts, as they are third world type places. However, the website leads you to beleive you are closer to the capital of Willamstead. It is not walking distance (not safely anyway). There were some good things that I can say about my stay. The beach area was very nice and fairly large. I have been to other places where the beach is almost non-existant. They have a nice lagoon that they created which makes swimming and snorkeling very nice. This is an all inclusive resort so all meals were free. The breakfast in the morning was very good and their italian restaurant, Pastafari was very nice. We did some snorkeling and it was very enjoyable. That is where my praise ends. The staff is incredibly rude. This was a consistent theme throughout our week long stay. The rudeness ranged from apathy to just general unfriendliness to being completley ignored. I realize that I would never want to do the jobs some of these people are doing, but don't take it out on the guests. We had to complain several times. An example: we dined at one restaurant (Starlight Grill or something like that, Scotch Bonnet was the name during the day). We had requested a vegetarian dish prior to our meal and were told we would be accomodated as one of our party doesn't eat meat or fish. We continued to inquire what was taking so long and if our friend would have a meal. The waitress continued to shrug us off. After an hour, we got our food, only to have the waitress tell us our friend would not be getting a meal and we should have made prior arrangements. We had to leave and go to the buffet so our friend could eat. There were a few staff members who were very nice and we made sure to mention them to management The security is very poor. The security guards walk around and pick on resort guests for what they deem to be inappropriate dress or not having their wristband visible but turn a blind eye when local children barge into the lagoon, causing loud scenes, bothering guests and make obscene gestures. The food was adequate at Jimmy's Buffet. We did not eat at the Japanese restuarant as friends we were with did and did not like it. The rooms are adequate. The showers leak so everyday we had a flood in the bathroom. This seems to be consistent with what we heard from others. The hairdryers are ridiculous. They heat up to about a million degrees. i don't know how anyone with any hair could use them. The sink smelled everyday. The water appeared to have a mineral or metal base to it, which made the entire room stink. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable. A constant message continued to flash on the TV about service not having been paid. And last but not least...the constant noise. Do not go to Breezes thinking you will be in for a nice quiet, relaxing trip. There is a constant barrage of announcements and games that are made by the pools (which appeared gross, by the way) that can be heard anywhere. The games and announcements are followed by loud music, usually some sort of techno or rap (not everyone likes that music). Same thing through dinner (except inside Pastafari where there was lovely piano dinner music). Then from around 9-1 AM there is incredibly loud music, karoke, games, etc. So loud that not only could we hear them in our room, with the doors shut, but I cuold hear them even with earplugs in my ears. All in all , I would definitley go back to Curacao, but I would never stay at another Breezes based on our experience and would NEVER recommend to a friend. They need to make a lot of changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The downtown Willemstead area is about a 15 minute drive from the resort. It is absolutley not walking distance.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
May 15, 2010

Would not stay here again

The island itself and location are beautiful. I just would not return to this resort. The resort is in need of a major remodel. The food is edible at best and some staff members could really use a crash course in the service dept. Waited in line alot. They closed some restaurants down some nights. Would not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
May 15, 2010

Would not stay here again

The island itself and location are beautiful. I just would not return to this resort. The resort is in need of a major remodel. The food is edible at best and some staff members could really use a crash course in the service dept. Waited in line alot. They closed some restaurants down some nights. Would not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evergreen, CO
Apr 20, 2010

Excellent All-Inclusive

Had Ocean Front room, which was outstanding...walked out on our patio straight onto the beach. Sit down restaurants were very good, although service can be slow at times, particularly in the Italian one. Buffet restaurant had good food, but replenishing was slow at times. Big downside...expensive internet connection. Discovered half way through the week you could buy wifi for $35 a week in the shop and it worked well. Still....most places now include it. Beach was great and all the activities were as advertised. Beds on the other hand were like rocks...ok if you like that but my poor back complained after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go Early to the Buffet restaurant for the best selections.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Chrissy
Raleigh, NC
Apr 5, 2010

Best yet

This is the best place I have been yet, and that includes Bahams, Honduras, the Caymans, and Bonaire. No place beats this place for comfort, entertainment and friendly staff. Diving may be slightly better in Caymans, but this is a much better spot if traveling with non-divers. Perfect spot for snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need film for a non-digital camera, find it at Lion's Dive Center (in the dive shop, not the hotel store), an $8.00 cab ride from Breezes. And directly beside the Dolphin Academy/Sea Aquarium, a must see activity. Extremely educational and fun.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Chrissy
Raleigh, NC
Apr 5, 2010

Best yet

This is the best place I have been yet, and that includes Bahams, Honduras, the Caymans, and Bonaire. No place beats this place for comfort, entertainment and friendly staff. Diving may be slightly better in Caymans, but this is a much better spot if traveling with non-divers. Perfect spot for snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need film for a non-digital camera, find it at Lion's Dive Center (in the dive shop, not the hotel store), an $8.00 cab ride from Breezes. And directly beside the Dolphin Academy/Sea Aquarium, a must see activity. Extremely educational and fun.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Mar 14, 2010

Great Diver oriented hotel

Great location, good food, very good service and a great dive shop. If you are a diver, you want to consider this property, since free daily shore dives are included (gratis) and the reef off the hotel is credible and pretty healthy. The dive shop also arranges boat based dives to some wonderful locations and the dive team is knowledgeable and attentive. The rooms are clean, but poorly designed and the poor design creates challenges for maintenance. An example would be a shower that has a recessed area that just floods the bathroom and no drain is provided in the bathroom. Or in another building an absence of drain traps that allow nasty odors to enter the room. I would have thought the building codes would have emulated Western European standards since this is Island is affiliated with the Netherlands. These annoyances aside, the staff is friendly and willing to please. The food I found to be very good to excellent. There are essentially four restaurants - 3 specialty and a buffet. The hotel has a very good booking system for the specialty areas to ensure all hotel guests have at least one opportunity to dine at each one. Regarding the buffet, there were very few "bum" choices at the buffet - but be aware, the buffet area is essentially a large thatched building that is open to let the breeze circulate - since it is open there are birds that come in and can get into the food or defecate on you. But that is a chance you take in the islands - if you go with good humor you will enjoy yourself quite a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Willemstad is a wonderful city. The buses are very inexpensive and take you from the hotel to downtown. Take the bus and not a taxi which is about 10 times more in cost.

Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Mar 14, 2010

Great Diver oriented hotel

Great location, good food, very good service and a great dive shop. If you are a diver, you want to consider this property, since free daily shore dives are included (gratis) and the reef off the hotel is credible and pretty healthy. The dive shop also arranges boat based dives to some wonderful locations and the dive team is knowledgeable and attentive. The rooms are clean, but poorly designed and the poor design creates challenges for maintenance. An example would be a shower that has a recessed area that just floods the bathroom and no drain is provided in the bathroom. Or in another building an absence of drain traps that allow nasty odors to enter the room. I would have thought the building codes would have emulated Western European standards since this is Island is affiliated with the Netherlands. These annoyances aside, the staff is friendly and willing to please. The food I found to be very good to excellent. There are essentially four restaurants - 3 specialty and a buffet. The hotel has a very good booking system for the specialty areas to ensure all hotel guests have at least one opportunity to dine at each one. Regarding the buffet, there were very few "bum" choices at the buffet - but be aware, the buffet area is essentially a large thatched building that is open to let the breeze circulate - since it is open there are birds that come in and can get into the food or defecate on you. But that is a chance you take in the islands - if you go with good humor you will enjoy yourself quite a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Willemstad is a wonderful city. The buses are very inexpensive and take you from the hotel to downtown. Take the bus and not a taxi which is about 10 times more in cost.

Back to menu Return to top