$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
100 reviews
Good service and clean clean clean

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week Mar 2014. It is a massive beautiful property on a... See full review

  • tomoriger
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gorgeous hotel is quiet location

I had my first solo trip of my life and am very thankful I chose the Santa Barbara Beach Resort.... See full review

  • Eubanks
  • Mar 13, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

12.0657 -68.8522
Area served
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort , Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Nearby airports
(CUR) Curacao Aeropuerto Hato, Netherland Antilles - 11.9 miles NW
Area description
Located in one of the few remaining natural preserve peninsulas in the Caribbean, the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort will offer a three meal and fine dining restaurant with indigenous menu creations, 4,500 square feet of full-service spa salon and a separate 24hr Hyatt Stay Fit Fitness Center, multiple outdoor pools, poolside grill, lounge and cabana area, an 18-hole Pete Dye design championship golf course, and 18,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space.
Perfectly situated on the Santa Barbara Plantation against two bodies of water: the Caribbean Sea and the large inland bay known as Spanish Water Bay.

Dining

Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FunAndSun
New York, NY
Sep 13, 2011

If listening to screaming until 1:30 a.m. is your idea of a vacation, this hotel is for you

We were very excited for our vacation to Curacao and had high expectations for this hotel based on pictures and other reviews. The resort is new and very beautiful, but the positives end there. At check-in, the staff refused to honor our confirmed room type (which we had a printed confirmation of) and made no apologies or adjustments. The breakfast at Medi was terrible and overpriced. The hotel was hosting a very large Venezualan wedding, and the wedding party was allowed to do whatever they wanted. They had a very loud and awful band that played in the center of the hotel until 1:30 a.m., despite the hotels policy that bands must end at midnight. There were hoards of unsupervised screaming children at the pool and all around the resort. We tried to change hotels, but at that point everything was booked. We stayed away from the hotel during the whole day, visiting public beaches and restaurants in town, but even coming back late we could not escape the noise or get any peace and quiet. Most frustrating and awful hotel experience I have ever had. Will definitely return to Curacao, but NOT to the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book a trip to Klein Curacao through Bounty Adventures. They take you via caterman to this beautiful island for a day of fun.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryan NYC
New York City
Jan 2, 2013

Extremely disappointed

Although the manager acknowledged all the shortcomings and gave us few discounts, we can't get over the bad experience and will not stay in this resort again, nor book any trip through "or bit". -We were informed it was not anymore part of the same hotel chain the day before the trip. We could not collect membership point -We purchased a package for a 5 star hotel and then it became 4 that felt like a 3. -THREE TIMES a random automated call woke us up in the middle of the night (i.e. 3 AM) -There were no cold water bottles at the beach -Service was sketchy: concierge told us for Christmas taxi fares on the island were doubled. We called the taxi ourselves and found out it was not true. -Without a common wi-fi area in the lobby, $15 a day per device (not just one at a time, the connection worked on one device only) was a rip-off. -we were wrongly charged for full breakfast 4 times. -The beds were never properly done -the fridge in the room did not refrigerate -The transfer to and from the airport was more expensive than booking a taxi. In many 5 star hotels we've been to it's complimentary. -Even at the check out, we found multiple double charges. They were corrected, but only because, at that point, we went line by line; good thing we did. The list could go on, also with all the other shortcomings from "or bit" as well, from lack of support when we found out we were not getting the package we paid for, to the airplane seats that were not honored (in 4 of the 3 flights I did not sit close to my partner), but we already wasted too much time on this. We'll never book with "or bit" again nor visit Santa Barbara (as it is now called).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FunAndSun
New York, NY
Sep 13, 2011

If listening to screaming until 1:30 a.m. is your idea of a vacation, this hotel is for you

We were very excited for our vacation to Curacao and had high expectations for this hotel based on pictures and other reviews. The resort is new and very beautiful, but the positives end there. At check-in, the staff refused to honor our confirmed room type (which we had a printed confirmation of) and made no apologies or adjustments. The breakfast at Medi was terrible and overpriced. The hotel was hosting a very large Venezualan wedding, and the wedding party was allowed to do whatever they wanted. They had a very loud and awful band that played in the center of the hotel until 1:30 a.m., despite the hotels policy that bands must end at midnight. There were hoards of unsupervised screaming children at the pool and all around the resort. We tried to change hotels, but at that point everything was booked. We stayed away from the hotel during the whole day, visiting public beaches and restaurants in town, but even coming back late we could not escape the noise or get any peace and quiet. Most frustrating and awful hotel experience I have ever had. Will definitely return to Curacao, but NOT to the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book a trip to Klein Curacao through Bounty Adventures. They take you via caterman to this beautiful island for a day of fun.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
caracas,venezuela
Mar 8, 2011

It is nice but......

Location it is far from downtown (30min) and from airport (45min) but if you want to be relax,do good golf and some exersice...it is the best, the only good restaurant in the hotel is Shore .For me the service is very important and in this Hyatt is not the best,very slow people,I did Arrive at 11am so I request an early cheq in I they said sure in 30 minutes....I have to wait until 3pm....not very nice. So hotel and facilities are very beautiful but service is terrible maybe because it is only a 10 month old hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
caracas,venezuela
Mar 8, 2011

It is nice but......

Location it is far from downtown (30min) and from airport (45min) but if you want to be relax,do good golf and some exersice...it is the best, the only good restaurant in the hotel is Shore .For me the service is very important and in this Hyatt is not the best,very slow people,I did Arrive at 11am so I request an early cheq in I they said sure in 30 minutes....I have to wait until 3pm....not very nice. So hotel and facilities are very beautiful but service is terrible maybe because it is only a 10 month old hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apollo Traveler
Poughkeepsie, NY
Jan 14, 2014

Nice for Families and newliweds

This hotel provides a great experience for people looking for a romantic stay, I would even suggest against bringing kids if possible. The food was great, but very pricey, in addition to the drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Willemstad, for drinks as well.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWV
St. Louis
Sep 4, 2010

Hyatt Regency Resort and Spa - Curacao

Ideal location for someone who is trying to get away from it all! Hyatt has a very beautiful property; hummingbirds and butterflies are abundant. Quiet beach area, attached golf course for him and a spa for her. Couples are able to take romantic walks at night. Be sure to visit SHOR Restaurant to watch the beautiful sunset, which is absolutely amazing. Resort is a distance from town but cab drivers are very friendly. If you go, be sure to visit the west end of the island, the rushing water cave is a sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Perla Del Mar or Scampi's for a great dinner experience. Perla is right on the water front and the food was excellent.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Krew
New York, NY, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Great Place to Relax

We went to curacao for our honeymoon with our sole purpose being to relax and decompress. The Hyatt was the perfect place to do this at. The hotel itself is beautiful - not too much in the way of activities or entertainment but the pool area is great, as is the (small) beach. The hotel is situated in the Santa Barbara Plantation and while not in the center of town, absolutely the best place on the island to stay. The grounds are beautiful and there is a marina/dive shop at the hotel so it's really easy to book water sport type of trips - diving, boat rentals, kite surfing, snorkeling, etc. The restaurants at the hotel -especially Shor- is great! Staff at the hotel are super friendly and always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check all of your receipts when your on the island. Most places automatically include a 15% gratuity in your bill so you may end up tipping twice without even knowing it unless you check your bill.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
May 16, 2011

Hyatt Resort in Curacao

We cannot say enough good things about the Hyatt Resort in the Santa Barbara Plantation in Curacao. The resort was absolutely beautiful, the service and staff were impeccable. We even had staff give us a good-bye hug which has never happened at any hotel or resort we have stayed. The staff will do anything they can for you. For example, we were walking through the beautiful grounds and I saw a flower I wanted to know the name of, whether or not it would grow in our area, etc. A staff member was walking by and I asked him about it. He was a member of the engineering staff. He did not know but told me he would find out. He called our room with the information after he had spoken to the landscaper. I can provide more examples but there is not enough space to do so. The only disadvantage is the distance the resort is from everything on the island. You do need to rent a car for at least one day. I would give this Hyatt resort a 5 if not for the distance and lack of transportation to various sites. The Hyatt does provide for taxis and shuttles to town but not to other areas such as beaches, unless you want to use a taxis which can be expensive. But again, the resort itself is beautiful, impeccalby maintained, clean and service is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top