$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Getaway

Recently stayed at the beautiful Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort. Although far from the... See full review

  • fun in the sun 1
  • Sep 24, 2014
Great Honeymoon far Away from Home (Seattle)

My Husband and I stayed at Santa Barbara for our week long honeymoon. The hotel and property is... See full review

  • Honeymooner 8214
  • Aug 13, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm
Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 76
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TLamb
Business
Virginia
Nov 27, 2011

Amazing vacation!

Everything about the Hyatt is exceptional-their service is fabulous and the rooms are perfect. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of activities on site including Ocean Encounters, which I also highly recommend. The beach is lagooned off, but if you swim out beyond the barrier there is some amazing snorkeling right in front of the hotel. The location is a little remote, but we rented a car and had no trouble navigating around other parts of the island and back to the Hyatt. The food on site is very good and doesn't seem to be overpriced so if you don't want to rent a car, you don't really need one-everything you need is at the Hyatt. Overall I would definitely recommend the Hyatt and plan to travel to Curacao again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do rent a car, stop at one of the many snack stands dotted all over the island. (These are the small buildings with the bars on the windows-you will see them everywhere.) They are basically concession stands and serve some pretty delicious treats, like curry chicken empanadas, for around $1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing OJ
Business
Manchester, NH
Feb 7, 2012

Excellent stay.

Staff was extremely helpful, tending to everything we wanted almost before we could ask! Facility is very nice overall. We took a cab into Willemstad and had a nice afternoon. One thing about this resort, there may be some confusion about the walled-in swimming area. It does get up to about 6 feet toward the dock, so adult swimmers can and will enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qbigpuns
Business
md
Mar 21, 2012

Hyatt Regency Curacao

My experience at this hotel couldn't have been any better. The customer service was above and beyond and i would go back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flying Dutchman2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 13, 2012

A wonderful stay and incredible customer service!

Just came back from a five day trip to Curacao over the Easter break. Although we were initially reluctant to book this hotel because of its location (it is quite far from the airport and the main city - Willemstad) we have no regrets at all after a wonderful stay. Because of the location we had a rented car to explore the island, but we didn't use it at all (other than driving back and forth between airport and hotel), since we enjoyed our time at the resort. Curacao is an amazing place for scuba divers, both for beginners and more experienced divers. We chose the Hyatt and Ocean Encounters for our PADI open water diving course and it was a perfect combination. Upon arrival we got a room in the East wing, but when we discovered that the dive-shop was located on the other side of the resort, we asked to be relocated to the West wing. Even though it was a very busy weekend the reception staff was quite helpful and able to give us a room on the other side. Another advantage of the West wing of the resort is that the beach is right in front of the rooms and you have a better view of the sunset in the early evening. Even though the hotel was fully booked over the Easter weekend, we never had the feeling that it was overcrowded. There are plenty of chairs at the beach and around the pool. We had most of our dinners at the Medi restaurant, which offered plenty of choices to try something different every evening and we enjoyed the ‘Moroccan’ sangria a lot! Be aware that a 15% service charge is added to everything. Probably the best part of our stay in the Hyatt Regency resort was that all staff members were very, very friendly and made us feel at home immediately. Even the young man handing out towels at the pool remembered my last name! This hotel deserves an A+++ for customer service! Would definitely go back, but then try to explore a bit more of the Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dive shop is run by Ocean Encounters and is only a short walk from the hotel. They offer equipment rental, boat diving, snorkling trips, etc. The staff are really helpful and wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Handerson
Business
Beaverton, OR
Jun 11, 2012

Aaaaaamazing

This hotel had the friendliest staff and the facility itsself was amazing to look at and be in. They had everything we could have wanted and more. I would definitely stay at the Hyatt if we were to come back to the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind a medium length walk, there is a free parking garage next to Riff Fort next to the downtown Marriott. Very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BRB and HA
Business
Oregon
Dec 25, 2012

Keep and Enhance the Family Atmosphere!

Our room, which looked over the first tee, less than 100 yards away, to the Caribbean, was nearly perfect. Because I decided at the last minute not to bring my clubs, I had to rent everything, including shoes. Because of this added expense per round, I played only one round. Most of the rest of the time, we spent in the pools, on the beach, or in the fitness center. The beach is not a true beach, but it is great for families and for practicing snorkeling. The pools are designed for children and families, and the fitness center more than met our needs. The grounds are immaculate, and during walks around them, we were able to learn the names of various flora and do some bird watching. Make sure you take advantage of the free buffet breakfast. Use it to fuel up for the day because the restaurants are a little pricey, especially for families. Also, make sure you take a trip into Willemsted and eat lunch at the Plasa Bieuw, which serves Curacaoan food to locals and tourists alike. In sum, we loved the location and the atmosphere: it was away from the hubbub of the city and free from the casinos that so many other resorts have. (The worst thing the new management could do would be to add casinos!) My only criticism is that other than breakfast, the resort lacks food options for families. A restaurant catering to families at family-friendly prices would make families more likely to return for repeat visits. Local food and fun local music would also be a great addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fuel up at breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomoriger
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 31, 2014

Good service and clean clean clean

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week Mar 2014. It is a massive beautiful property on a secluded part of the island. The photos on their website are exactly what you will see. The service is impeccable, and the staff is super friendly. If something is not right, and you say something it will be fixed. No matter what the request is their answer is always... yes. We actually took notice of a couple requests that other guests had, some ridiculous, but the answer was always yes. It's like the staff is trained, "... when in doubt, just say yes." --- more importantly after they say yes, they get it done. They will go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied and have a good experience. A personal example... we arrived late in the evening at the hotel and we were hungry. We wanted to try a local restaurant as we had a whole trip to eat at the hotel so we asked the staff for a recommendation. They weren't sure what would be open at that time of night so 2 of them called, must have been 10 places, to find a place we could eat at while we had a cocktail in the lobby. They eventually found a place, reserved us a table, and printed us directions. The restaurant they sent us to stayed open for us and was fantastic (The Boathouse). Our favorite points of the hotel were... - it's secluded (30 mins from downtown, 45 mins from airport, 1.5ish hours to westpunt). Private beach, private tennis, private paths along the beach, private bonfires... private private. - Live music outside every night - The rooms are spacious and super clean - Everything is super clean (beach, pool area, lobby, public restrooms, the grounds, everything) - Everyone has a "can do" attitude which is great - Everyone from the front desk to the towel guy is super friendly - The food at Medi is very good (we did not eat at Shore or Splash) - Everyone speaks English (everyone speaks English, Dutch, Spanish, Papiamento, and some German and Portuguese) I only have good to say about our experience at this hotel. I would absolutely come again, and will recommend it to friends and family. Tips... - bring a snorkel and fins. If you don't have one buy one and bring it. - bring scuba shoes or aqua socks. Many of the beaches are rocky outside of the hotel grounds. - rent a car. This is a big island, taxis are expensive, gas is cheap, and everything is spread out. - try to arrive and depart between 9-5 that way your options for car rental are the biggest at the airport. - brings lots of sunblock... it is super duper expensive everywhere on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, Florida
Aug 23, 2010

It's brand new and beautiful

What a great experience. This hotel is new, but they don't have any kinks to work out. Everything, including the staff, was wonderful. There is not one thing I would change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. The cab into town is $35 each way. You can get a nice little economy car for about $30 a day, and then you can go where and when you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rogowo & Pat
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jul 24, 2011

Curacao Comfort

A well designed resort by Hyatt. The rooms were well appointed, with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and a balcony with a water view. The staff was a staff who were very attentive and provided service with a smile at all times. Meals were excellent at all dining areas, indoors or out. The resort is isolated, but still easy access by car from Willemstad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 22, 2011

Young Couple

We loved the hotel. The rooms were very nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to help you and make your stay enjoyable. The spa was one of the nicest I have ever been to. My only complaint would be that everything was pricey (drinks, food, sunscreen), but that is to be expected. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top