$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telstar
Business
New Jersey
Aug 22, 2011

Great hotel, Far off

The Hyatt is really impressive and the staff is equally so. But its far from most things on the island and getting out of the compound, provided you have a car, takes 10-15 minutes in itself. Unless you're here for just a few days, a car is essential. Food is fairly expensive here, but quite good. A lot of folks buy breakfast foods at a local market (there are many) and use the in-room fridge. With breakfast running $25 per person, it can add up. Save your money for other stuff like diving and / or horseback riding. The Hyatt Concierge(s) are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As you leave the hotel compound you'll come to a roundabout. Take the first right and you'll see a couple of restaurants on the left. The one the corner has an Amstel sign. It's really a snack cafe. Try the fried chicken and the soups. The locals love it. Next to it is a sit down restaurant called Esplanda (or something like that). It has meat on skewers and is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller998
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Getaway

Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing weather, will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoGal
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

This was a very beautiful hotel with a nice pool and beach. We very much enjoyed our time here, the only downside is that it is very far away from eveything. We rented a car which was nice so that we were able to visit other places on the island but it does get confusing driving around since many of the street are not labeled well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjtraveler
Business
NC
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful Hotel Distant Location

The Hyatt was a beautiful property. The only problem, it is remote and the two restaurants on the property are VERY expensive. You should rent a car for the week. Airport one-way transfers are approximately $70. Taxis are approximately $50 to town. So, rent a car, and drive offsite to eat at a reasonable cost. Both property restaurants were delicious, but expensive. The water sports available are snorkeling and diving trips, dingy & kayak rentals, but jet skis are not available at the hotel. We had a great time, just hate to see the credit card bill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fran
Business
Longmeadow, MA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Lovely ambiance peaceful and serene!

An investment was made by Hyatt in constructing this hotel. Architecturally it is exqusite and the interior and exteriror spaces are beautifully appointed. The buildings and grounds reflect the staff's continued care and maintenance. Staff was wonderfully gracious and helpful. The food was artfully displayed and exceptionally prepared although the dining service was at times a bit slow. A rental care is well advised due to the hotel's more remote location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Need a rental car to "see" the island particularly if you are interested in the national park, the many "boca's" and beaches north of Otrobond. All are a fairly distant drive (1.5 hrs. ) by car on the northern side of the island. Willemstaad is about 20 minutes away and a good place for night life whereas the Hyatt is quieter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crggaming
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Aug 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel, brand new place, expect a great service, but I little bit to expencive on hotels restaurants and bars, not to much to do after 7 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cheaper to rent a car than to pay for taxis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairview, NJ
Jan 27, 2011

Relaxation and tranquility.

The Hyatt is definitely the most beautiful hotel in the Island. If you're looking for the busy scene, this is not the place to be. It's a half hour drive to down town and shopping areas, and taxis will set you back $100. or more round trip. The beach areas are beautiful and very relaxing. A boat ride around the island is a must. I highly recommend the Shor Restaurant, for the ambience, great food and friendliness. The overall experience comes with an expensive price tag, so be prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Taxis are more expensive after 11pm to get back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyc117
Business
ny, ny
Apr 24, 2011

It was what we needed

Great facility, excellent food - one of the best pizza outside of Italy -, exceptional staff Good location but not the best beach ... The island offers better beaches on the northwest side The oil ring view.... Mmmmmm not the smartest choice to hv a such beautiful hotel admiring a such horrible, unhealthy.... Modern sculpture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food, beyond my espectations.... Heats down for pizza and ice cream!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
May 16, 2011

Hyatt Resort in Curacao

We cannot say enough good things about the Hyatt Resort in the Santa Barbara Plantation in Curacao. The resort was absolutely beautiful, the service and staff were impeccable. We even had staff give us a good-bye hug which has never happened at any hotel or resort we have stayed. The staff will do anything they can for you. For example, we were walking through the beautiful grounds and I saw a flower I wanted to know the name of, whether or not it would grow in our area, etc. A staff member was walking by and I asked him about it. He was a member of the engineering staff. He did not know but told me he would find out. He called our room with the information after he had spoken to the landscaper. I can provide more examples but there is not enough space to do so. The only disadvantage is the distance the resort is from everything on the island. You do need to rent a car for at least one day. I would give this Hyatt resort a 5 if not for the distance and lack of transportation to various sites. The Hyatt does provide for taxis and shuttles to town but not to other areas such as beaches, unless you want to use a taxis which can be expensive. But again, the resort itself is beautiful, impeccalby maintained, clean and service is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacay on Holiday
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 1, 2014

Friendsgiving in the Caribbean

Everyone at the resort and on the island were very friendly. A little far from downtown, so perfect if you want to stay on the resort. We rented cars and took a lot of cabs, but the cabs are not cheap. There is enough to do at the resort if you are looking to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top