$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andreina
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jun 18, 2012

Very relaxing place!

It"s kind of far, but very nice hotel. Very quiet area, good food, nice pool for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warner G
Business
Lake Norman, NC
Jun 22, 2012

A True Getaway

Upon arriving to the resort we were amazed by the breath taking views . Lobby, Grounds, Pool, Spa, etc was really really nice. Loved the private beach and spa with private rain showers. The only con was driving from the airport to the resort. Next time I'd just get a driver or shuttle . Also I didn't like this extra tax when leaving the country ...30 bucks each .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe T 4
Business
Las Vegas,NV
Jun 24, 2012

Curacao in June

The hotel was a distance from the airport, but the shuttle provided ($50 round trip) gets you there in under a half hour. The staff is unbelievably friendly, and the room has a great view overlooking the sea. Also, make sure you try the cocktail they give when you arrive, RIDICULOUSLY good!! The general store is pricey, but that should be expected. And the SWIM restaurant has decent food at reasonable prices. There is a shuttle that brings you downtown and for $12 its worth it. While being surrounded by water, the sea isn't easily reachable from most areas, but the water is warm. Overall a great trip that I'd recommend anyone take

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to double check the days the restaurants are open. The hotel will give you the times, but when I tried SHOR they were only open for dinner on certain days

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Booya123
Business
NYC
Dec 30, 2012

Overall, very good

This hotel is a bit far from most of the town and activities. Renting a car should be recommended. Further, the majority of dining options at the hotel are high priced and the quality is not on par with the price. I had a $200 meal refunded as the quality was very poor and not worthy. However, all dining options around the island were incredible. Service in general is very slow, that is island wide. Other than that the hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car, see more of the island, drive all the way to the west side and beach hop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdventureLover
Business
Boulder, CO
Jun 5, 2013

Beautiful, private and pricey

Overall, this is a nice hotel. The grounds and beach are beautiful. The rooms are slightly better than average, but unfortunately I found to be very dirty as the cleaning staff seems to do little more than change the sheets and do a quick sweep. The pillows in our room smelled sour and I requested they be changed but not sure if this ever happened as I didn't notice much change during our stay. Also, I don't think the shower was ever cleaned once during our 10 days there. Considering they add an extra 14% service charge this was disappointing. Other than that, the staff was freindly and helpful and the food was very good at all options at hotel and beach just pricey with service charge and tax ~20%). FYI -no jacuzzi. Go with local dive shops if you scuba dive -half the price for personal private dives vs. large boat group! Get a car! It is so worth it if you ever want to leave the hotel. No night life at the hotel. If you're in good shape, do the 1 hour hike to the top of Mt. Christoffell, you can see the whole island from the top and even Venezuela on a clear day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go with a local scuba dive shop -Twin Divers were great and 1/2 the price of Ocean Encounters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FSucre
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Sep 23, 2013

Relaxing getaway

Superb beach with clear water and white sand. Perfect stop to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have dinner at Kome restaurant in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinidad and Tobago
Sep 6, 2010

Wish we had more time

My daughter and I spent four nights at the Hyatt Regency. I love hotels that are clean and staffed by friendly and helpful people, and I had absolutely no complaints in those areas. There was a wonderfully boring consistency about the way the beds were made and the general care paid to the preparation of the rooms that gave me a feeling of comfort, the comfort you get from knowing that staff have been painstakingly trained. The location is beautiful, but a bit off the beaten track, so you need a car if you plan to be there for a while. My daughter tested the water at the beach and the pool in her new bathsuit and declared that she enjoyed both. I liked the many spaces that one could retire to for meditation and a good read. I thought the food at the Medi restaurant was above average for unbranded fare; my teenaged daughter thought it was just okay. I give way to her finer palate. We both agreed, however, that the dinner entertainment was splendid. There were just two issues on the downside; we could not get a volleyball to use, and then observed that this one guest and his young sons (I suppose) had availed themselves of both the volleyball and another general activity ball, and they weren't on the volleyball court. With limited activities for teenagers around the resort, it would be a good idea to at least have more balls available. Finally, a mysterious charge of $16 for two cups of cappucino and a lemonade turned up on my final bill. I have a bad habit of not checking bills thoroughly, but did on this occasion. Neither my daughter nor I drink cappucino and although we may indulge in a drink of lemonade on occasion, we didn't on this entire trip. In fairness to the rep at the check out, he allowed himself to be persuaded by my sincerely bemused expression and promptly removed the charge from my bill. I would hope that he also reversed the charge on my credit card. All in all, we had a great time at the Hyatt Regency and will certainly return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack's Daddy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2010

Missing the Hyatt already!

The Hyatt was beautiful and very clean. This cannot be overstated. We traveled most of the island and visited other top rated hotels and spas, both chains and boutiques. No comaparison. Other facilities were smaller, worn, crowded and lacked ammenities. I found the staff to be terrific. A special mention should go to [...]. She went out of her way to accomodate us. Fitness center could be bigger but clean and nice equipment. Food was great. The Shor restaurant is beautiful. Food was excellent. Service very slow. Medi restaurant also had great food. Staff displayed terrific customer service skills. No contest if I go back to this island I will definitely stay at the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWV
Business
St. Louis
Sep 4, 2010

Hyatt Regency Resort and Spa - Curacao

Ideal location for someone who is trying to get away from it all! Hyatt has a very beautiful property; hummingbirds and butterflies are abundant. Quiet beach area, attached golf course for him and a spa for her. Couples are able to take romantic walks at night. Be sure to visit SHOR Restaurant to watch the beautiful sunset, which is absolutely amazing. Resort is a distance from town but cab drivers are very friendly. If you go, be sure to visit the west end of the island, the rushing water cave is a sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Perla Del Mar or Scampi's for a great dinner experience. Perla is right on the water front and the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montvale, nj
Mar 21, 2011

hyatt curacao

location:pretty far from everything hotel: overcharges for services maid service was terrible (cleaning rooms at 4pm) hotel people friendly & accomodating. would not recomend this hotel unless you have a rented car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some really great restaurants but you need a car to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top