$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Getaway

Recently stayed at the beautiful Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort. Although far from the... See full review

  • fun in the sun 1
  • Sep 24, 2014
Great Honeymoon far Away from Home (Seattle)

My Husband and I stayed at Santa Barbara for our week long honeymoon. The hotel and property is... See full review

  • Honeymooner 8214
  • Aug 13, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm
Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thetravelerbeyond
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Beautiful resort but service could improve

The Good: Resort is practically brand new and absolutely 5-star in feel. Food is pretty solid and the three restaurants offer enough variety that you don't need to leave resort. Live music every night was nice. If you play golf, great course. The Bad: Service leaves a lot to be desired, while everyone was polite, they were not very attentive (kind of typical in the Caribbean). The beach is not traditional in the sense that it does not look out into a wide open ocean, this was a bit of a surprise, it's part of an inlet and sort of looks out to the ocean in the corner of it (this is hard to explain, sorry). If being close to downtown matters to you, this isn't the place for you. Overall: Went with my significant other and had an incredible, romantic, relaxing vacation. If you are going for a party scene, this isn't it. There were a number of families, couples, and honeymooners. I would 100% recommend this place to any of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caryn
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

wonderfully secluded

The staff were so helpful and pleasant even at 4:00 am. The accommodations were clean, welcoming and beautiful. The food at the Shor restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but sometimes I just wanted to order ala carte which was not available. I loved the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Shor restaurant was delicious. The pizza at the Medi was delicious but the breakfast buffet was not commensurate with the expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaya
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

great family get away

the hotel was amazing and the staff eager to please and make the stay very enjoyable. the only downside is there is not enough choices for restaurants , the Medi is mediocre i wished they would have served more local food and stayed away from a so called Mediterranean cuisine , it was obvious the chef had no clue about French nor Italian cuisine ! the shore is also over priced and the food quality was average!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Krew
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Great Place to Relax

We went to curacao for our honeymoon with our sole purpose being to relax and decompress. The Hyatt was the perfect place to do this at. The hotel itself is beautiful - not too much in the way of activities or entertainment but the pool area is great, as is the (small) beach. The hotel is situated in the Santa Barbara Plantation and while not in the center of town, absolutely the best place on the island to stay. The grounds are beautiful and there is a marina/dive shop at the hotel so it's really easy to book water sport type of trips - diving, boat rentals, kite surfing, snorkeling, etc. The restaurants at the hotel -especially Shor- is great! Staff at the hotel are super friendly and always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check all of your receipts when your on the island. Most places automatically include a 15% gratuity in your bill so you may end up tipping twice without even knowing it unless you check your bill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temas Coquimbo
Business
Bogotá, Colombia
Nov 14, 2011

To apply some improvements can make Hyatt great...!

Despite the Hyatt Regency hotel at Sta. Barbara Plantation is nice and comfortable, it would be great to help guests definitely more with transportation aspects. We found mainly too high costs not only for Curacao-actief services. Taxis service rates are definitely exagerated in comparisson with equivalent services in many different places worldwide. To consider that guests currently need and desire to leave the hotel and to come back to it, during their stay is very important. For 4 people transportation from the Hato Airport to Hyatt Regency (at St.Barbara Plantation-Curacao) Curacao-actief service received US $ 210 dollars. Just INCREDIBLE...! We couldn´t do any thing when we claim this was simply an ABBUSE...! The above took place on November 5 2011, having in advance paid 105 dollars for two persons. Having arrived to Hato Airport, two additional passengers Mr and Mrs Jhon D. Christoffle were included in the same shuttle adding the same too high price. We do think that it is important to take care on establishing fair values. Satisfaction comes in a big proportion from seriousness and quality on their appliance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BradPitt
Business
Rockville, MD, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Excellent hotel but location is ok

This resort hotel is really good if you want to sit back and enjoy the island without really stepping out on the dirty roads and having to navigate the island using your rental car. The resort is completely opposite direction of airport. It is close to Ostrich farm and Jan Thiel but is really far from WestPunt, Airport. Even from downtown it can take a good 20 mins to get to resort's entrance. The resort entrance to hotel itself is a good 3 miles and it adds up the time in travelling. The staff is usually not that helpful in giving you local tips since they are mostly international staff from other countries and other islands. You will not get the tip on where to find the best Galina Stoba or the best local "SNEK" (snack joint) from the staff. The beach right in front has a lot of fishes and you can rent snorkel gear right here and enjoy the fishes. They also have Ocean Encounters which take you to deep sea trips. However, the resort is really pricy and all their restaurants serve good food, but it will be about $70 USD/meal for two on average without drinks or desserts. There is a 15% service charge for everything you eat or drink at any of the restaurants or the bar. Tax is extra. There is also a resort fee that you pay for your stay. its a nice resort..if you plan on just chilling there (they do have everything that you can want..including a beach side restaurant, nice pool, spa, 24 hr gym, international cuisine food, excellent golf), but if you plan on exploring the island..this is not that well located. I would get something in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Medi has the best cuisine out of all restaurants and excellent service and live music nightly. I would eat at Medi and SwimBar and avoid the overly rated Shor restaurant which is very mediocre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbum234
Business
myrtle beach, sc
Nov 28, 2011

family vacation

beautiful resort, great amenities, great staff..advertisement indicated that there were diving on house reef, but that was not true there was some snorkeling but no reef on site. location is nice and peaceful but out of the way, rental car is needed if you plan on going anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niccam
Business
Québec, Canada
Feb 6, 2012

One week vacancy

The hotel is great and we don't regret our choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLAUDS18p
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 1, 2012

If you're looking to relax an lie low, this location is perfect

I went with a friend and our overall experience was very good. The beach and pool areas are great and the hotel staff is courteous and helpful. Our room was always well kept and clean and our beach view with the sunsets was beautiful. The best food we had was at Medi and my friend and I were both disappointed in Shore (the more expensive restaurant). You get a better meal and a better deal at Medi. Watch your check to make sure that they are accurate! (this is why my staff rating is low, I felt like some staff were trying to overcharge) My friend and I as well as some other guests we met were being charged extra (esp for liquor and wine and at the small goods shop on the ground floor). It became suspicious with so many people experiencing the same additional charges. Just double and triple check your receipts. I personally caught mistaken additional charges on two bills during my six day stay as well as someone not giving me back all of my change when I paid in cash. If you are adventurous and won't want to lounge all day you'll definitely need to rent a car. The cabs are insanely overpriced (100 round trip just to go 20 minuted to get to Willemstaad). The hotel travel desk does offer a shuttle into town for $12 round trip. Depending on the day you could either take the 8:30-2:30 trip or the 5-10:30 trip. There isn't much in the way of snorkeling around the hotel so i'd suggest either booking with a snorkeling tour or a scuba tour to check out the reefs. The hotel also has kayaks, paddle boards, bikes and paddle boats for a fee. All in all it was a great place to go but for me its not worth a second trip. One visit was amazing but I'll check out another island next time I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you don't get motion sick I would definitely recommend the Klein Curacao day trip. The island is deserted but beautiful and the catamaran we took had a great crew and a fun group of people on board. Bring lots of sunblock! Best of all the catamaran picks up Hyatt guests right at the Hyatt dock so you don't need to leave the resort to get on the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacen
Business
NJ
Mar 14, 2012

Relaxation!

This was a beautiful hotel. The staff was very helpful and always greeted you with a smile. Patrick greeted us when we got there and gave a a quick tour of the hotel and then drove us and our luggage to our room (which was at the end of the resort). The staff after the first night always greeted us by name. The food was great and not over priced. The view from the room was beautiful. The only disappointed I could mention was it was cloudy for most of our trip (nothing that could be controlled of course)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown had many quaint places to eat. I recommend going there at least once during your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top