$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Getaway

Recently stayed at the beautiful Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort. Although far from the... See full review

  • fun in the sun 1
  • Sep 24, 2014
Great Honeymoon far Away from Home (Seattle)

My Husband and I stayed at Santa Barbara for our week long honeymoon. The hotel and property is... See full review

  • Honeymooner 8214
  • Aug 13, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryan NYC
Business
New York City
Jan 2, 2013

Extremely disappointed

Although the manager acknowledged all the shortcomings and gave us few discounts, we can't get over the bad experience and will not stay in this resort again, nor book any trip through "or bit". -We were informed it was not anymore part of the same hotel chain the day before the trip. We could not collect membership point -We purchased a package for a 5 star hotel and then it became 4 that felt like a 3. -THREE TIMES a random automated call woke us up in the middle of the night (i.e. 3 AM) -There were no cold water bottles at the beach -Service was sketchy: concierge told us for Christmas taxi fares on the island were doubled. We called the taxi ourselves and found out it was not true. -Without a common wi-fi area in the lobby, $15 a day per device (not just one at a time, the connection worked on one device only) was a rip-off. -we were wrongly charged for full breakfast 4 times. -The beds were never properly done -the fridge in the room did not refrigerate -The transfer to and from the airport was more expensive than booking a taxi. In many 5 star hotels we've been to it's complimentary. -Even at the check out, we found multiple double charges. They were corrected, but only because, at that point, we went line by line; good thing we did. The list could go on, also with all the other shortcomings from "or bit" as well, from lack of support when we found out we were not getting the package we paid for, to the airplane seats that were not honored (in 4 of the 3 flights I did not sit close to my partner), but we already wasted too much time on this. We'll never book with "or bit" again nor visit Santa Barbara (as it is now called).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FunAndSun
Business
New York, NY
Sep 13, 2011

If listening to screaming until 1:30 a.m. is your idea of a vacation, this hotel is for you

We were very excited for our vacation to Curacao and had high expectations for this hotel based on pictures and other reviews. The resort is new and very beautiful, but the positives end there. At check-in, the staff refused to honor our confirmed room type (which we had a printed confirmation of) and made no apologies or adjustments. The breakfast at Medi was terrible and overpriced. The hotel was hosting a very large Venezualan wedding, and the wedding party was allowed to do whatever they wanted. They had a very loud and awful band that played in the center of the hotel until 1:30 a.m., despite the hotels policy that bands must end at midnight. There were hoards of unsupervised screaming children at the pool and all around the resort. We tried to change hotels, but at that point everything was booked. We stayed away from the hotel during the whole day, visiting public beaches and restaurants in town, but even coming back late we could not escape the noise or get any peace and quiet. Most frustrating and awful hotel experience I have ever had. Will definitely return to Curacao, but NOT to the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book a trip to Klein Curacao through Bounty Adventures. They take you via caterman to this beautiful island for a day of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apollo Traveler
Business
Poughkeepsie, NY
Jan 14, 2014

Nice for Families and newliweds

This hotel provides a great experience for people looking for a romantic stay, I would even suggest against bringing kids if possible. The food was great, but very pricey, in addition to the drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Willemstad, for drinks as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
caracas,venezuela
Mar 8, 2011

It is nice but......

Location it is far from downtown (30min) and from airport (45min) but if you want to be relax,do good golf and some exersice...it is the best, the only good restaurant in the hotel is Shore .For me the service is very important and in this Hyatt is not the best,very slow people,I did Arrive at 11am so I request an early cheq in I they said sure in 30 minutes....I have to wait until 3pm....not very nice. So hotel and facilities are very beautiful but service is terrible maybe because it is only a 10 month old hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Vacationers
Business
Texas
Oct 1, 2014

Beautiful Property

This resort is physically stunning. It sits on a large piece of property away from busy Willemstad, and features an incredible beach and great pool area. The hotel itself is beautiful and well-maintained as well. In my opinion, though, it falls short of a four or five star resort. The food was mediocre at best, and the service in certain areas left something to be desired. We still had a great stay, and it is currently a great value, but don't expect a five star treatment. This resort could be something great, but it's not there yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 20, 2011

Hyatt Curacao - The Island's Newest Gem

While I was originally skeptical of the hotel's location - all the way on the eastern end of the island - about a 15 minute drive from Willemstad, and an hour from the west side, I was continually impressed and pleased with my experience at the Hyatt. First of all - the Hyatt offers enough amenities that you never need to leave the hotel itself. Ocean Encounters located right at the hotel offers the best trips to Klein Curacao on their catamaran, (much preferably to The Mermaid trip), snorkeling gear, diving trips, kayaks, and much more. There are three restaurants, beach access and a convenience store all located at the hotel. (more on the restaurants below) Being an adventurer myself I rented a car from the hertz desk located at the hotel and ventured in to willemstad to have a local's lunch at Plasa Bieu one day and to the west side of the island to go cliff diving the next. The hotel just opened in April 2010, so it wasn't listed in any of the guide books I read in preparation for my trip. However the Hyatt far surpassed the Avila Hotel - commonly listed as number 1 in most travel books. Thanks to a travel deal i found we received a $200 credit for food and beverages at the hotel. The hotel restaurants were the only aspect of the Hyatt that I was disappionted with. The food is simply not good, and overpriced - to be expected with all resort food. If you go at a time where they are offering the $200 Food and Beverage Credit my recommendation is to spend that money on Pina Coladas made by Jeremy at the Bar at medi restaurant, and eat your meals in town. The guys at Ocean Encounters give excellent lunch and dinner recommendations for the true local experience - Rosendahl's and Fish-a-licious for dinner, Plasa Bieu for lunch and Plein Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're the type of traveler who prefers the local experience, then ask the guys at Ocean Encounters for dinner or lunch recommendations - and then have the concierge make reservations for you. I highly recommend Fish-A-Licious. Avoid eating at resorts on the island - the food is overpriced and never good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thetravelerbeyond
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Beautiful resort but service could improve

The Good: Resort is practically brand new and absolutely 5-star in feel. Food is pretty solid and the three restaurants offer enough variety that you don't need to leave resort. Live music every night was nice. If you play golf, great course. The Bad: Service leaves a lot to be desired, while everyone was polite, they were not very attentive (kind of typical in the Caribbean). The beach is not traditional in the sense that it does not look out into a wide open ocean, this was a bit of a surprise, it's part of an inlet and sort of looks out to the ocean in the corner of it (this is hard to explain, sorry). If being close to downtown matters to you, this isn't the place for you. Overall: Went with my significant other and had an incredible, romantic, relaxing vacation. If you are going for a party scene, this isn't it. There were a number of families, couples, and honeymooners. I would 100% recommend this place to any of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caryn
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

wonderfully secluded

The staff were so helpful and pleasant even at 4:00 am. The accommodations were clean, welcoming and beautiful. The food at the Shor restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but sometimes I just wanted to order ala carte which was not available. I loved the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Shor restaurant was delicious. The pizza at the Medi was delicious but the breakfast buffet was not commensurate with the expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaya
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

great family get away

the hotel was amazing and the staff eager to please and make the stay very enjoyable. the only downside is there is not enough choices for restaurants , the Medi is mediocre i wished they would have served more local food and stayed away from a so called Mediterranean cuisine , it was obvious the chef had no clue about French nor Italian cuisine ! the shore is also over priced and the food quality was average!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top