$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Nice!

We arrived at Santa Barbara after a horrible stay at another hotel. We were pleased with how clean... See full review

  • HappyMS
  • May 30, 2015
Great anniversary trip

My husband and I spent a week at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort in March. This place is... See full review

  • Julie F.
  • May 27, 2015
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Property features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Nearby attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$121
4.3 / 5 49 reviews
★★★★
$124
3.8 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★★
$107
4.2 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$119
2.7 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.8 / 5 64 reviews
★★★★
$140
3.9 / 5 29 reviews

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm
Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryan NYC
Couples
New York City
Jan 2, 2013

Extremely disappointed

Although the manager acknowledged all the shortcomings and gave us few discounts, we can't get over the bad experience and will not stay in this resort again, nor book any trip through "or bit". -We were informed it was not anymore part of the same hotel chain the day before the trip. We could not collect membership point -We purchased a package for a 5 star hotel and then it became 4 that felt like a 3. -THREE TIMES a random automated call woke us up in the middle of the night (i.e. 3 AM) -There were no cold water bottles at the beach -Service was sketchy: concierge told us for Christmas taxi fares on the island were doubled. We called the taxi ourselves and found out it was not true. -Without a common wi-fi area in the lobby, $15 a day per device (not just one at a time, the connection worked on one device only) was a rip-off. -we were wrongly charged for full breakfast 4 times. -The beds were never properly done -the fridge in the room did not refrigerate -The transfer to and from the airport was more expensive than booking a taxi. In many 5 star hotels we've been to it's complimentary. -Even at the check out, we found multiple double charges. They were corrected, but only because, at that point, we went line by line; good thing we did. The list could go on, also with all the other shortcomings from "or bit" as well, from lack of support when we found out we were not getting the package we paid for, to the airplane seats that were not honored (in 4 of the 3 flights I did not sit close to my partner), but we already wasted too much time on this. We'll never book with "or bit" again nor visit Santa Barbara (as it is now called).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FunAndSun
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 13, 2011

If listening to screaming until 1:30 a.m. is your idea of a vacation, this hotel is for you

We were very excited for our vacation to Curacao and had high expectations for this hotel based on pictures and other reviews. The resort is new and very beautiful, but the positives end there. At check-in, the staff refused to honor our confirmed room type (which we had a printed confirmation of) and made no apologies or adjustments. The breakfast at Medi was terrible and overpriced. The hotel was hosting a very large Venezualan wedding, and the wedding party was allowed to do whatever they wanted. They had a very loud and awful band that played in the center of the hotel until 1:30 a.m., despite the hotels policy that bands must end at midnight. There were hoards of unsupervised screaming children at the pool and all around the resort. We tried to change hotels, but at that point everything was booked. We stayed away from the hotel during the whole day, visiting public beaches and restaurants in town, but even coming back late we could not escape the noise or get any peace and quiet. Most frustrating and awful hotel experience I have ever had. Will definitely return to Curacao, but NOT to the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book a trip to Klein Curacao through Bounty Adventures. They take you via caterman to this beautiful island for a day of fun.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tomoriger
Couples
Chicago
Aug 4, 2015

3 Star hotel on a 5 star property

The property is undoubtedly a 5 star property. It's beautiful, secluded, and has a private beach. My wife and I stayed at this hotel last year and thought it was one of the best places we've ever been. The service and the food were outstanding. This year was not the case. While the property hasn't changed the hotel has slipped dramatically, in my opinion, from a 5 star luxury resort to more of an average 3 star hotel. My biggest issue of the stay was the restaurant, Medi. Last year the food was outstanding. They had a full menu and if you wanted anything off menu, they would make it happen. The staff was outgoing, friendly, and seemed genuinely excited all the time. This year, they only allow you to order the dinner buffet. It's not great. There's nothing great about food that's been sitting out and picked over... especially at their high price. You could opt for the salad bar buffet that comes with soup and pizza which is more reasonably priced. However, the food quality and availability is not reliable. For example of the 5 times we ate there during our 2 weeks, pizza was only available 3 times. My issue with quality is the fact that the dressings for the salad are not fresh. They come from and get put back into the refrigerator. Service is spotty. We got the impression that if you're not drinking alcohol, you're not worth servicing. Also, they seemed to frown upon requesting the lower priced salad buffet, and 5 out of 5 times charged us for the full buffet so that we had to ask to have the bill changed. On our last visit there, they actually insinuated that we lied about eating the salad bar. The full menu is still available, however, but it's for room service only. Our next issue was with our maid service. Our first set of sheets were not clean, and our towels were typically understocked (missing face towels, wash clothes, and floor towels). Also the towels were never quite clean either. My last major issue of the hotel is the fact that they now sell day passes to their private beach and pool to people not staying at the hotel. They didn't do this in previous years, and I think it definitely effected the quality of service and condition of the amenities. The hotel is extremely remote which has its pluses and minuses. However, if the food, service, and amenities are mediocre, then you have to ask yourself if it's worth driving 2 hours a day (the city is 30-40 mins away, and the other side of the island is 1-1.5 hours away). We would not recommend this hotel. It's not worth it for us to spend a lot of money for a room only to share our private amenities, not be able to eat the food we want, and then on top of it all have to spend 2 hours a day driving to find those things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apollo Traveler
Friends
Poughkeepsie, NY
Jan 14, 2014

Nice for Families and newliweds

This hotel provides a great experience for people looking for a romantic stay, I would even suggest against bringing kids if possible. The food was great, but very pricey, in addition to the drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Willemstad, for drinks as well.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
caracas,venezuela
Mar 8, 2011

It is nice but......

Location it is far from downtown (30min) and from airport (45min) but if you want to be relax,do good golf and some exersice...it is the best, the only good restaurant in the hotel is Shore .For me the service is very important and in this Hyatt is not the best,very slow people,I did Arrive at 11am so I request an early cheq in I they said sure in 30 minutes....I have to wait until 3pm....not very nice. So hotel and facilities are very beautiful but service is terrible maybe because it is only a 10 month old hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Vacationers
Couples
Texas
Oct 1, 2014

Beautiful Property

This resort is physically stunning. It sits on a large piece of property away from busy Willemstad, and features an incredible beach and great pool area. The hotel itself is beautiful and well-maintained as well. In my opinion, though, it falls short of a four or five star resort. The food was mediocre at best, and the service in certain areas left something to be desired. We still had a great stay, and it is currently a great value, but don't expect a five star treatment. This resort could be something great, but it's not there yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you want to shop you can get a taxi to the downtown area where items are less expensive, just make note that the shops close around 6pm

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bret C
Couples
San Francisco, California
Jan 2, 2014

Great Hotel but not a 5 star experience

This hotel was originally a Hyatt and it is the best hotel on Curacao but it is not a 5 star hotel experience like one would expect from the Ritz, St. Regis or Four Seasons. The location is remote but if you are looking for a stay-cation resort it is perfect and even comforting to come home after the wild west show that is Curacao on some weekend nights. It is a 30-45 minute drive (really) to get anywhere on the island because the hotel is located on a 1,500 acre old plantation on the southeast side of the island. It takes 20 minutes simply to exit the the property. If one wants to see any other part of the Island (Curacao is much bigger then it looks) then renting a car is a must because taxis are slow to respond and charge exorbitant fees. An example is $65-$85 average to drive the 45 minutes one-way to the airport. If you're like us and want to get more flavor then you'll need a rental car which is best rented on the island after you arrive instead of at the airport, expect to pay $40-$60 / day for a 4 door compact and that seems like a bargain. Try G&H car rentals closer to the hotel, they will come pick you up and the owner gives great tips about Curacao. The hotel itself is lovely, comfortable and still feels very new although again not a real 5 star experience. The private beach and pool area are almost perfect. The Old Quarry / Pete Dye golf course has to be one of the best island courses in the world and is well-maintained. The area where Santa Barbara falls very short of typical American expectations is service. The hotel is staffed by island locals who seem to be constantly overwhelmed and undertrained. One feels like the intentions are good but there is no one in charge looking after the customer experience. An example would be an average wait time of 1.5 hours for any meal and common things like checking back on a table, clearing dinnerware or bringing a check in reasonable time simply does not happen. Overall, the Santa Barbara is a lovely, relatively inexpensive 4 star hotel I would recommend to anyone, especially those on a budget or with a family, but it is NOT a 5 star hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel plenty
Couples
santa barbara curacao
Jan 27, 2014

romantic getaway

not a 5 star hotel by any means. very nice property but lacked housekeeping and amenities. I asked for a new box of tissue after 3 days of an empty casing, the housekeeper made a point to tell me it was the last box on the property. and wanted a tip. fine dining was horrible, we waited for an hour to watch several plates pass us by only to receive a cold plate. the chef is supposed to be someone of a high caliber but we, and several others have nothing good to say about a $200 second hand cold steak and lobster. When you order filet mignon, you are really getting tenderloin. and cold at that. eat off of the property. there is a great restaurant right at the end of the road at the entrance to the resort. go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top