$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 20, 2011

Hyatt Curacao - The Island's Newest Gem

While I was originally skeptical of the hotel's location - all the way on the eastern end of the island - about a 15 minute drive from Willemstad, and an hour from the west side, I was continually impressed and pleased with my experience at the Hyatt. First of all - the Hyatt offers enough amenities that you never need to leave the hotel itself. Ocean Encounters located right at the hotel offers the best trips to Klein Curacao on their catamaran, (much preferably to The Mermaid trip), snorkeling gear, diving trips, kayaks, and much more. There are three restaurants, beach access and a convenience store all located at the hotel. (more on the restaurants below) Being an adventurer myself I rented a car from the hertz desk located at the hotel and ventured in to willemstad to have a local's lunch at Plasa Bieu one day and to the west side of the island to go cliff diving the next. The hotel just opened in April 2010, so it wasn't listed in any of the guide books I read in preparation for my trip. However the Hyatt far surpassed the Avila Hotel - commonly listed as number 1 in most travel books. Thanks to a travel deal i found we received a $200 credit for food and beverages at the hotel. The hotel restaurants were the only aspect of the Hyatt that I was disappionted with. The food is simply not good, and overpriced - to be expected with all resort food. If you go at a time where they are offering the $200 Food and Beverage Credit my recommendation is to spend that money on Pina Coladas made by Jeremy at the Bar at medi restaurant, and eat your meals in town. The guys at Ocean Encounters give excellent lunch and dinner recommendations for the true local experience - Rosendahl's and Fish-a-licious for dinner, Plasa Bieu for lunch and Plein Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're the type of traveler who prefers the local experience, then ask the guys at Ocean Encounters for dinner or lunch recommendations - and then have the concierge make reservations for you. I highly recommend Fish-A-Licious. Avoid eating at resorts on the island - the food is overpriced and never good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bon Mud
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 17, 2011

Fabulous Resort Vacation Getaway

The Hyatt Regency Curacao was a beautiful stay and experience! Everything with the the Hyatt was a 5 star experience from staff to food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montvale, nj
Mar 21, 2011

hyatt curacao

location:pretty far from everything hotel: overcharges for services maid service was terrible (cleaning rooms at 4pm) hotel people friendly & accomodating. would not recomend this hotel unless you have a rented car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some really great restaurants but you need a car to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
São Paulo, SP
Mar 19, 2011

Fantastic. A paradise

The hotel was perfect, new and clean. The staff was very helpfull. It is a little bit far from the city centre, so if you want to say there is better to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
caracas,venezuela
Mar 8, 2011

It is nice but......

Location it is far from downtown (30min) and from airport (45min) but if you want to be relax,do good golf and some exersice...it is the best, the only good restaurant in the hotel is Shore .For me the service is very important and in this Hyatt is not the best,very slow people,I did Arrive at 11am so I request an early cheq in I they said sure in 30 minutes....I have to wait until 3pm....not very nice. So hotel and facilities are very beautiful but service is terrible maybe because it is only a 10 month old hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairview, NJ
Jan 27, 2011

Relaxation and tranquility.

The Hyatt is definitely the most beautiful hotel in the Island. If you're looking for the busy scene, this is not the place to be. It's a half hour drive to down town and shopping areas, and taxis will set you back $100. or more round trip. The beach areas are beautiful and very relaxing. A boat ride around the island is a must. I highly recommend the Shor Restaurant, for the ambience, great food and friendliness. The overall experience comes with an expensive price tag, so be prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Taxis are more expensive after 11pm to get back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinidad and Tobago
Sep 6, 2010

Wish we had more time

My daughter and I spent four nights at the Hyatt Regency. I love hotels that are clean and staffed by friendly and helpful people, and I had absolutely no complaints in those areas. There was a wonderfully boring consistency about the way the beds were made and the general care paid to the preparation of the rooms that gave me a feeling of comfort, the comfort you get from knowing that staff have been painstakingly trained. The location is beautiful, but a bit off the beaten track, so you need a car if you plan to be there for a while. My daughter tested the water at the beach and the pool in her new bathsuit and declared that she enjoyed both. I liked the many spaces that one could retire to for meditation and a good read. I thought the food at the Medi restaurant was above average for unbranded fare; my teenaged daughter thought it was just okay. I give way to her finer palate. We both agreed, however, that the dinner entertainment was splendid. There were just two issues on the downside; we could not get a volleyball to use, and then observed that this one guest and his young sons (I suppose) had availed themselves of both the volleyball and another general activity ball, and they weren't on the volleyball court. With limited activities for teenagers around the resort, it would be a good idea to at least have more balls available. Finally, a mysterious charge of $16 for two cups of cappucino and a lemonade turned up on my final bill. I have a bad habit of not checking bills thoroughly, but did on this occasion. Neither my daughter nor I drink cappucino and although we may indulge in a drink of lemonade on occasion, we didn't on this entire trip. In fairness to the rep at the check out, he allowed himself to be persuaded by my sincerely bemused expression and promptly removed the charge from my bill. I would hope that he also reversed the charge on my credit card. All in all, we had a great time at the Hyatt Regency and will certainly return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWV
Business
St. Louis
Sep 4, 2010

Hyatt Regency Resort and Spa - Curacao

Ideal location for someone who is trying to get away from it all! Hyatt has a very beautiful property; hummingbirds and butterflies are abundant. Quiet beach area, attached golf course for him and a spa for her. Couples are able to take romantic walks at night. Be sure to visit SHOR Restaurant to watch the beautiful sunset, which is absolutely amazing. Resort is a distance from town but cab drivers are very friendly. If you go, be sure to visit the west end of the island, the rushing water cave is a sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Perla Del Mar or Scampi's for a great dinner experience. Perla is right on the water front and the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, Florida
Aug 23, 2010

It's brand new and beautiful

What a great experience. This hotel is new, but they don't have any kinks to work out. Everything, including the staff, was wonderful. There is not one thing I would change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. The cab into town is $35 each way. You can get a nice little economy car for about $30 a day, and then you can go where and when you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack's Daddy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2010

Missing the Hyatt already!

The Hyatt was beautiful and very clean. This cannot be overstated. We traveled most of the island and visited other top rated hotels and spas, both chains and boutiques. No comaparison. Other facilities were smaller, worn, crowded and lacked ammenities. I found the staff to be terrific. A special mention should go to [...]. She went out of her way to accomodate us. Fitness center could be bigger but clean and nice equipment. Food was great. The Shor restaurant is beautiful. Food was excellent. Service very slow. Medi restaurant also had great food. Staff displayed terrific customer service skills. No contest if I go back to this island I will definitely stay at the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top