Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Getaway

Recently stayed at the beautiful Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort. Although far from the... See full review

  • fun in the sun 1
  • Sep 24, 2014
Great Honeymoon far Away from Home (Seattle)

My Husband and I stayed at Santa Barbara for our week long honeymoon. The hotel and property is... See full review

  • Honeymooner 8214
  • Aug 13, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

12.0657 -68.8522
Area served
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort , Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Nearby airports
(CUR) Curacao Aeropuerto Hato, Netherland Antilles - 11.9 miles NW
Area description
Located in one of the few remaining natural preserve peninsulas in the Caribbean, the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort will offer a three meal and fine dining restaurant with indigenous menu creations, 4,500 square feet of full-service spa salon and a separate 24hr Hyatt Stay Fit Fitness Center, multiple outdoor pools, poolside grill, lounge and cabana area, an 18-hole Pete Dye design championship golf course, and 18,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space.
Perfectly situated on the Santa Barbara Plantation against two bodies of water: the Caribbean Sea and the large inland bay known as Spanish Water Bay.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crggaming
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Aug 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel, brand new place, expect a great service, but I little bit to expencive on hotels restaurants and bars, not to much to do after 7 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cheaper to rent a car than to pay for taxis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telstar
Business
New Jersey
Aug 22, 2011

Great hotel, Far off

The Hyatt is really impressive and the staff is equally so. But its far from most things on the island and getting out of the compound, provided you have a car, takes 10-15 minutes in itself. Unless you're here for just a few days, a car is essential. Food is fairly expensive here, but quite good. A lot of folks buy breakfast foods at a local market (there are many) and use the in-room fridge. With breakfast running $25 per person, it can add up. Save your money for other stuff like diving and / or horseback riding. The Hyatt Concierge(s) are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As you leave the hotel compound you'll come to a roundabout. Take the first right and you'll see a couple of restaurants on the left. The one the corner has an Amstel sign. It's really a snack cafe. Try the fried chicken and the soups. The locals love it. Next to it is a sit down restaurant called Esplanda (or something like that). It has meat on skewers and is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thetravelerbeyond
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Beautiful resort but service could improve

The Good: Resort is practically brand new and absolutely 5-star in feel. Food is pretty solid and the three restaurants offer enough variety that you don't need to leave resort. Live music every night was nice. If you play golf, great course. The Bad: Service leaves a lot to be desired, while everyone was polite, they were not very attentive (kind of typical in the Caribbean). The beach is not traditional in the sense that it does not look out into a wide open ocean, this was a bit of a surprise, it's part of an inlet and sort of looks out to the ocean in the corner of it (this is hard to explain, sorry). If being close to downtown matters to you, this isn't the place for you. Overall: Went with my significant other and had an incredible, romantic, relaxing vacation. If you are going for a party scene, this isn't it. There were a number of families, couples, and honeymooners. I would 100% recommend this place to any of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjtraveler
Business
NC
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful Hotel Distant Location

The Hyatt was a beautiful property. The only problem, it is remote and the two restaurants on the property are VERY expensive. You should rent a car for the week. Airport one-way transfers are approximately $70. Taxis are approximately $50 to town. So, rent a car, and drive offsite to eat at a reasonable cost. Both property restaurants were delicious, but expensive. The water sports available are snorkeling and diving trips, dingy & kayak rentals, but jet skis are not available at the hotel. We had a great time, just hate to see the credit card bill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fran
Business
Longmeadow, MA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Lovely ambiance peaceful and serene!

An investment was made by Hyatt in constructing this hotel. Architecturally it is exqusite and the interior and exteriror spaces are beautifully appointed. The buildings and grounds reflect the staff's continued care and maintenance. Staff was wonderfully gracious and helpful. The food was artfully displayed and exceptionally prepared although the dining service was at times a bit slow. A rental care is well advised due to the hotel's more remote location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Need a rental car to "see" the island particularly if you are interested in the national park, the many "boca's" and beaches north of Otrobond. All are a fairly distant drive (1.5 hrs. ) by car on the northern side of the island. Willemstaad is about 20 minutes away and a good place for night life whereas the Hyatt is quieter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 8, 2011

Great, Great hotel

The hotel was fantastic! The 5 star resort did not disappoint. The staff was accommodating to a fault! The resort is remote so prepare to pay to travel. But there are a couple of restaurants. Pool and beach access very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

No good souveniers! Gotta go into town to get T-shirts, and other cute stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rogowo & Pat
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jul 24, 2011

Curacao Comfort

A well designed resort by Hyatt. The rooms were well appointed, with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and a balcony with a water view. The staff was a staff who were very attentive and provided service with a smile at all times. Meals were excellent at all dining areas, indoors or out. The resort is isolated, but still easy access by car from Willemstad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LEWILL
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 10, 2011

Best Vacation We've Had

We stayed at the Hyatt Curacao the first week of July. There were not a lot of people there so we felt like it was our resort! The weather was perfect. Everyday was sunny, mid 80's with a cool breeze. It sprinkled twice while we were there, in the morning. The weather was perfect for our entire visit. We arrived late in the evening so it was dark. The ride from the airport is not too bad, about 35 minutes, not bad at all. The Hotel is on a huge chunk of land and is very safe. Hotel We arrived and were given a special drink made from Curacao liquor. it was delicious. Our room was beautiful, the hotel is only 1.5 years old and all of the rooms are immaculate. Our view was a bit obstructed so we asked to be moved to a room with a better view and concierge obliged with no trouble at all, or a fee. Everything on the island is listed in either US $ or Dutch Guilders, they accept both. There is a Mastercard ATM, but not a VISA ATM on the site. It would be the perfect place to spend some time with a group of friends or family. Staff The service at the Hyatt was the best we had ever experienced. EVERY person was helpful, friendly, and was there to meet our every need. they all spoke English, while most spoke either Dutch or the local Papiamentu as well. They were superb! Food The food was very good, but fairly expensive. There is a 15% service charge on everything, so tip was not necessary but appreciated by the friendly staff. We had to request the check whenever we were ready, they hardly ever asked if we were ready for it. Everything we had from MEDI was delicious. their pizza/flatbreads are a must. There was also entertainment most nights at MEDI. SWIM was good as well, definitely have the Fish Tacos, by far the best thing they offer. Our experience at SHOR was ok, but not great. We only ate there once, but it was very expensive and very small portions. not bad, but not great. There is also a place to buy Gelato on the resort. BEACH We spent a lot of time in the sand. The part that looks out at the actual ocean is very rocky(and beautiful), but the beach portion that is on the canal is fantastic. there was a mixture of families, singles, couples... you name it. it is very long so there is plenty of space for everyone. and ends at the marina where you can rent snorkel gear or set up scuba/sailing trips. It is a great place for the kids. There are plenty of fish swimming in the waters, including Barracudas!, Pelicans fishing, and boats coming in and out of the canal into Spanish Waters Bay. There are fixed Umbrellas and a ton of chairs. Also a couple outdoor showers, bathrooms, and water fountains. it is completely safe to drink the water there. Also, everyone wore bathing suits, no nudity. Servers will come and offer you drinks/food. it is excellent, and we recommend sitting at the southern end, nearest the pools, by the palm trees. there is an excellent breeze that constantly keeps you cool. Excursions We went off the resort a few times. Once into Willemstad and once to the Ostrich Farm. Willemstad was the trip set up with the hotel. It was enjoyable, yet seemed a little long. but we would rather be on the beach. there is much culture and friendly people in town and be sure to walk over the floating bridge and look back at the famous architecture. The Ostrich farm was an experience. We actually rode them! Although expensive(to ride) it was a great memory. The tour would be a great time with the family. We are not really "night-Lifers" but heard that there was a lot going on in-town during the evenings. We didn't rent a car, but a few of the other guests we had talked to did, and said they enjoyed going into Willemstad to experience it. I play golf, but didn't play here. It is a beautiful beautiful course and I recommend playing if you are an avid golfer. All in all, this was the best vacation we have ever been on. the food, service, hotel, experience, and timing was perfect. We highly highly recommend this hotel and are lo...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have the Fish Tacos at SWIM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bliss78
Business
Upstate SC by way of New York
Jul 6, 2011

Bliss!!!

PROS: The property is gorgeous, the rooms were spacious w/ a great flow & beautiful touches, room service was delish loved the gelato shop, the staff was enchanting Mem & Lupe were awesome! Customer service was perfect if i so much as murmured a need for something i had it. There was a bird try'n to start a nest in my patio ceiling fan the engineer was there in minutes to move it. CONS: I failed to get airport transfers when i booked (my fault) but dont make this mistake the one "downside" to the hyatt is it is flat out on its on planet as it pertains to distance from the airport & sights....however this is easily rectified dependant on your length of stay either plan to rent a car (hertz on site) even if its just for a day or two or plan ahead & take the shuttle that goes "to town" @ 8:30 am but plan to spend the day because it doesnt come back till 2:30. As far asthe nitpicky stuff ignore it all ...I was at the Marriot, drove by the Hilton & Kura there is nothing on this island like the Hyatt dont miss the experience. sidenote the hyatt is an open concept its on a compound for lack of a better word fully gated but the 1st floor has open arches almost hacienda style & "feels" exposed..maybe im just a nerd it creeped me out even though i knew i was completely safe ...jus fyi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top