$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller998
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Getaway

Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing weather, will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caryn
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

wonderfully secluded

The staff were so helpful and pleasant even at 4:00 am. The accommodations were clean, welcoming and beautiful. The food at the Shor restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but sometimes I just wanted to order ala carte which was not available. I loved the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Shor restaurant was delicious. The pizza at the Medi was delicious but the breakfast buffet was not commensurate with the expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Medinajaa
Business
Virginia, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Curacao Weekend

We were greeted warmly by the hotel staff from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed very much our two-day stay and found the room and the facilities up to the expectation we had before hand. Gelattos at the Bella Italia convenience store are delicious. We had a Paella for dinner at the MEDI but it was only about average not the best one we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Gelattos at the Bella Italia are delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love the Caribbean
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel to be pampered in!

The room was fabulous; maid service 2x/day. All service staff had the greatest customer service I've ever experienced. Has water sports and marina on property. Sailed/snorkeled on carataran trip and rented private sailboat; both very good. Snorkeling was excellent near hotel. Played their golf course; probably the best I've played in the Caribbean. Beautiful beach and fantastic open-air fine dining on the ocean. Driving in Curacao is difficult due to lack of street signs, but we got better at it as the week went on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crggaming
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Aug 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel, brand new place, expect a great service, but I little bit to expencive on hotels restaurants and bars, not to much to do after 7 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cheaper to rent a car than to pay for taxis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telstar
Business
New Jersey
Aug 22, 2011

Great hotel, Far off

The Hyatt is really impressive and the staff is equally so. But its far from most things on the island and getting out of the compound, provided you have a car, takes 10-15 minutes in itself. Unless you're here for just a few days, a car is essential. Food is fairly expensive here, but quite good. A lot of folks buy breakfast foods at a local market (there are many) and use the in-room fridge. With breakfast running $25 per person, it can add up. Save your money for other stuff like diving and / or horseback riding. The Hyatt Concierge(s) are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As you leave the hotel compound you'll come to a roundabout. Take the first right and you'll see a couple of restaurants on the left. The one the corner has an Amstel sign. It's really a snack cafe. Try the fried chicken and the soups. The locals love it. Next to it is a sit down restaurant called Esplanda (or something like that). It has meat on skewers and is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you want to shop you can get a taxi to the downtown area where items are less expensive, just make note that the shops close around 6pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thetravelerbeyond
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Beautiful resort but service could improve

The Good: Resort is practically brand new and absolutely 5-star in feel. Food is pretty solid and the three restaurants offer enough variety that you don't need to leave resort. Live music every night was nice. If you play golf, great course. The Bad: Service leaves a lot to be desired, while everyone was polite, they were not very attentive (kind of typical in the Caribbean). The beach is not traditional in the sense that it does not look out into a wide open ocean, this was a bit of a surprise, it's part of an inlet and sort of looks out to the ocean in the corner of it (this is hard to explain, sorry). If being close to downtown matters to you, this isn't the place for you. Overall: Went with my significant other and had an incredible, romantic, relaxing vacation. If you are going for a party scene, this isn't it. There were a number of families, couples, and honeymooners. I would 100% recommend this place to any of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thetravelerbeyond
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Beautiful resort but service could improve

The Good: Resort is practically brand new and absolutely 5-star in feel. Food is pretty solid and the three restaurants offer enough variety that you don't need to leave resort. Live music every night was nice. If you play golf, great course. The Bad: Service leaves a lot to be desired, while everyone was polite, they were not very attentive (kind of typical in the Caribbean). The beach is not traditional in the sense that it does not look out into a wide open ocean, this was a bit of a surprise, it's part of an inlet and sort of looks out to the ocean in the corner of it (this is hard to explain, sorry). If being close to downtown matters to you, this isn't the place for you. Overall: Went with my significant other and had an incredible, romantic, relaxing vacation. If you are going for a party scene, this isn't it. There were a number of families, couples, and honeymooners. I would 100% recommend this place to any of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The gelato at the shop downstairs is awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top