$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bogota
Business
Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
Nov 28, 2011

Great trip!

Great amenities, rooms, and view! The staff here is amazing and will help you with anything you need!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbum234
Business
myrtle beach, sc
Nov 28, 2011

family vacation

beautiful resort, great amenities, great staff..advertisement indicated that there were diving on house reef, but that was not true there was some snorkeling but no reef on site. location is nice and peaceful but out of the way, rental car is needed if you plan on going anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TLamb
Business
Virginia
Nov 27, 2011

Amazing vacation!

Everything about the Hyatt is exceptional-their service is fabulous and the rooms are perfect. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of activities on site including Ocean Encounters, which I also highly recommend. The beach is lagooned off, but if you swim out beyond the barrier there is some amazing snorkeling right in front of the hotel. The location is a little remote, but we rented a car and had no trouble navigating around other parts of the island and back to the Hyatt. The food on site is very good and doesn't seem to be overpriced so if you don't want to rent a car, you don't really need one-everything you need is at the Hyatt. Overall I would definitely recommend the Hyatt and plan to travel to Curacao again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do rent a car, stop at one of the many snack stands dotted all over the island. (These are the small buildings with the bars on the windows-you will see them everywhere.) They are basically concession stands and serve some pretty delicious treats, like curry chicken empanadas, for around $1.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temas Coquimbo
Business
Bogotá, Colombia
Nov 14, 2011

To apply some improvements can make Hyatt great...!

Despite the Hyatt Regency hotel at Sta. Barbara Plantation is nice and comfortable, it would be great to help guests definitely more with transportation aspects. We found mainly too high costs not only for Curacao-actief services. Taxis service rates are definitely exagerated in comparisson with equivalent services in many different places worldwide. To consider that guests currently need and desire to leave the hotel and to come back to it, during their stay is very important. For 4 people transportation from the Hato Airport to Hyatt Regency (at St.Barbara Plantation-Curacao) Curacao-actief service received US $ 210 dollars. Just INCREDIBLE...! We couldn´t do any thing when we claim this was simply an ABBUSE...! The above took place on November 5 2011, having in advance paid 105 dollars for two persons. Having arrived to Hato Airport, two additional passengers Mr and Mrs Jhon D. Christoffle were included in the same shuttle adding the same too high price. We do think that it is important to take care on establishing fair values. Satisfaction comes in a big proportion from seriousness and quality on their appliance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelingmann
Business
Bronx, New York
Nov 14, 2011

Awesome experience

The Hotel was excellent, the staff was extraordinary and the rooms were immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Krew
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Great Place to Relax

We went to curacao for our honeymoon with our sole purpose being to relax and decompress. The Hyatt was the perfect place to do this at. The hotel itself is beautiful - not too much in the way of activities or entertainment but the pool area is great, as is the (small) beach. The hotel is situated in the Santa Barbara Plantation and while not in the center of town, absolutely the best place on the island to stay. The grounds are beautiful and there is a marina/dive shop at the hotel so it's really easy to book water sport type of trips - diving, boat rentals, kite surfing, snorkeling, etc. The restaurants at the hotel -especially Shor- is great! Staff at the hotel are super friendly and always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check all of your receipts when your on the island. Most places automatically include a 15% gratuity in your bill so you may end up tipping twice without even knowing it unless you check your bill.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaya
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

great family get away

the hotel was amazing and the staff eager to please and make the stay very enjoyable. the only downside is there is not enough choices for restaurants , the Medi is mediocre i wished they would have served more local food and stayed away from a so called Mediterranean cuisine , it was obvious the chef had no clue about French nor Italian cuisine ! the shore is also over priced and the food quality was average!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoGal
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

This was a very beautiful hotel with a nice pool and beach. We very much enjoyed our time here, the only downside is that it is very far away from eveything. We rented a car which was nice so that we were able to visit other places on the island but it does get confusing driving around since many of the street are not labeled well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FunAndSun
Business
New York, NY
Sep 13, 2011

If listening to screaming until 1:30 a.m. is your idea of a vacation, this hotel is for you

We were very excited for our vacation to Curacao and had high expectations for this hotel based on pictures and other reviews. The resort is new and very beautiful, but the positives end there. At check-in, the staff refused to honor our confirmed room type (which we had a printed confirmation of) and made no apologies or adjustments. The breakfast at Medi was terrible and overpriced. The hotel was hosting a very large Venezualan wedding, and the wedding party was allowed to do whatever they wanted. They had a very loud and awful band that played in the center of the hotel until 1:30 a.m., despite the hotels policy that bands must end at midnight. There were hoards of unsupervised screaming children at the pool and all around the resort. We tried to change hotels, but at that point everything was booked. We stayed away from the hotel during the whole day, visiting public beaches and restaurants in town, but even coming back late we could not escape the noise or get any peace and quiet. Most frustrating and awful hotel experience I have ever had. Will definitely return to Curacao, but NOT to the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book a trip to Klein Curacao through Bounty Adventures. They take you via caterman to this beautiful island for a day of fun.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caryn
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

wonderfully secluded

The staff were so helpful and pleasant even at 4:00 am. The accommodations were clean, welcoming and beautiful. The food at the Shor restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but sometimes I just wanted to order ala carte which was not available. I loved the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Shor restaurant was delicious. The pizza at the Medi was delicious but the breakfast buffet was not commensurate with the expense.

Back to menu Return to top