Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
73 reviews
Great Honeymoon far Away from Home (Seattle)

My Husband and I stayed at Santa Barbara for our week long honeymoon. The hotel and property is... See full review

  • Honeymooner 8214
  • Aug 13, 2014
Good service and clean clean clean

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week Mar 2014. It is a massive beautiful property on a... See full review

  • tomoriger
  • Mar 31, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

12.0657 -68.8522
Area served
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort , Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Nearby airports
(CUR) Curacao Aeropuerto Hato, Netherland Antilles - 11.9 miles NW
Area description
Located in one of the few remaining natural preserve peninsulas in the Caribbean, the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort will offer a three meal and fine dining restaurant with indigenous menu creations, 4,500 square feet of full-service spa salon and a separate 24hr Hyatt Stay Fit Fitness Center, multiple outdoor pools, poolside grill, lounge and cabana area, an 18-hole Pete Dye design championship golf course, and 18,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space.
Perfectly situated on the Santa Barbara Plantation against two bodies of water: the Caribbean Sea and the large inland bay known as Spanish Water Bay.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaya
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

great family get away

the hotel was amazing and the staff eager to please and make the stay very enjoyable. the only downside is there is not enough choices for restaurants , the Medi is mediocre i wished they would have served more local food and stayed away from a so called Mediterranean cuisine , it was obvious the chef had no clue about French nor Italian cuisine ! the shore is also over priced and the food quality was average!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoGal
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

This was a very beautiful hotel with a nice pool and beach. We very much enjoyed our time here, the only downside is that it is very far away from eveything. We rented a car which was nice so that we were able to visit other places on the island but it does get confusing driving around since many of the street are not labeled well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FunAndSun
New York, NY
Sep 13, 2011

If listening to screaming until 1:30 a.m. is your idea of a vacation, this hotel is for you

We were very excited for our vacation to Curacao and had high expectations for this hotel based on pictures and other reviews. The resort is new and very beautiful, but the positives end there. At check-in, the staff refused to honor our confirmed room type (which we had a printed confirmation of) and made no apologies or adjustments. The breakfast at Medi was terrible and overpriced. The hotel was hosting a very large Venezualan wedding, and the wedding party was allowed to do whatever they wanted. They had a very loud and awful band that played in the center of the hotel until 1:30 a.m., despite the hotels policy that bands must end at midnight. There were hoards of unsupervised screaming children at the pool and all around the resort. We tried to change hotels, but at that point everything was booked. We stayed away from the hotel during the whole day, visiting public beaches and restaurants in town, but even coming back late we could not escape the noise or get any peace and quiet. Most frustrating and awful hotel experience I have ever had. Will definitely return to Curacao, but NOT to the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book a trip to Klein Curacao through Bounty Adventures. They take you via caterman to this beautiful island for a day of fun.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caryn
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

wonderfully secluded

The staff were so helpful and pleasant even at 4:00 am. The accommodations were clean, welcoming and beautiful. The food at the Shor restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but sometimes I just wanted to order ala carte which was not available. I loved the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Shor restaurant was delicious. The pizza at the Medi was delicious but the breakfast buffet was not commensurate with the expense.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller998
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Getaway

Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing weather, will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Medinajaa
Virginia, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Curacao Weekend

We were greeted warmly by the hotel staff from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed very much our two-day stay and found the room and the facilities up to the expectation we had before hand. Gelattos at the Bella Italia convenience store are delicious. We had a Paella for dinner at the MEDI but it was only about average not the best one we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Gelattos at the Bella Italia are delicious.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love the Caribbean
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel to be pampered in!

The room was fabulous; maid service 2x/day. All service staff had the greatest customer service I've ever experienced. Has water sports and marina on property. Sailed/snorkeled on carataran trip and rented private sailboat; both very good. Snorkeling was excellent near hotel. Played their golf course; probably the best I've played in the Caribbean. Beautiful beach and fantastic open-air fine dining on the ocean. Driving in Curacao is difficult due to lack of street signs, but we got better at it as the week went on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crggaming
Miami, FL, EEUU
Aug 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel, brand new place, expect a great service, but I little bit to expencive on hotels restaurants and bars, not to much to do after 7 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cheaper to rent a car than to pay for taxis.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telstar
New Jersey
Aug 22, 2011

Great hotel, Far off

The Hyatt is really impressive and the staff is equally so. But its far from most things on the island and getting out of the compound, provided you have a car, takes 10-15 minutes in itself. Unless you're here for just a few days, a car is essential. Food is fairly expensive here, but quite good. A lot of folks buy breakfast foods at a local market (there are many) and use the in-room fridge. With breakfast running $25 per person, it can add up. Save your money for other stuff like diving and / or horseback riding. The Hyatt Concierge(s) are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As you leave the hotel compound you'll come to a roundabout. Take the first right and you'll see a couple of restaurants on the left. The one the corner has an Amstel sign. It's really a snack cafe. Try the fried chicken and the soups. The locals love it. Next to it is a sit down restaurant called Esplanda (or something like that). It has meat on skewers and is very good.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattdee
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Beautiful

This is a great and beautiful hotel located on the beach. The water is the clearest water that I have ever saw. The Medi restaurant is the top restaurant with great food. We went there for the weather and scuba diving which was a great experience. The staff are also willing to help if you have any problems. Cons:We booked a waterview room and did not receive that. We payed $50 extra to get what we booked for which ended up being more with service FEES and the manager was not helpful with accommodating our needs. Overall the hotel is a great hotel, but beware of room availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top