$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
100 reviews
Good service and clean clean clean

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week Mar 2014. It is a massive beautiful property on a... See full review

  • tomoriger
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gorgeous hotel is quiet location

I had my first solo trip of my life and am very thankful I chose the Santa Barbara Beach Resort.... See full review

  • Eubanks
  • Mar 13, 2014
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort is a full-service Curacao Caribbean hotel, perfectly situated on a long stretch of white sand beach between two bodies of water: the Caribbean Sea and the large inland bay known as Spanish Waters. Located on one of the few remaining natural preserve peninsulas in the Caribbean, our Netherlands Antilles hotel will offer three meal and fine dining restaurants with indigenous menu creations; 4,500 square foot full-service spa, salon and a separate 24-hour Stay Fit fitness center; multiple outdoor pools, poolside grill, lounge and cabana area; an 18-hole Pete Dye designed championship golf course; and 18,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space.
Our Resort View Curacao accommodations feature upscale living and the added bonus of two Double Grand Beds, featuring plush pillow top mattresses, sumptuous down pillows and thick European bedding. Enjoy 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space, including an oversized luxurious bath, a plasma TV and private balcony offering views of the spacious resort grounds. Naturally, all of our Curacao lodging offers luxurious suite of amenities, including wireless Internet access, an en-suite refrigerator and more.

Hotel Map

12.0657 -68.8522
Area served
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort , Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Nearby airports
(CUR) Curacao Aeropuerto Hato, Netherland Antilles - 11.9 miles NW
Area description
Located in one of the few remaining natural preserve peninsulas in the Caribbean, the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort will offer a three meal and fine dining restaurant with indigenous menu creations, 4,500 square feet of full-service spa salon and a separate 24hr Hyatt Stay Fit Fitness Center, multiple outdoor pools, poolside grill, lounge and cabana area, an 18-hole Pete Dye design championship golf course, and 18,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space.
Perfectly situated on the Santa Barbara Plantation against two bodies of water: the Caribbean Sea and the large inland bay known as Spanish Water Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing OJ
Manchester, NH
Feb 7, 2012

Excellent stay.

Staff was extremely helpful, tending to everything we wanted almost before we could ask! Facility is very nice overall. We took a cab into Willemstad and had a nice afternoon. One thing about this resort, there may be some confusion about the walled-in swimming area. It does get up to about 6 feet toward the dock, so adult swimmers can and will enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niccam
Québec, Canada
Feb 6, 2012

One week vacancy

The hotel is great and we don't regret our choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BradPitt
Rockville, MD, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Excellent hotel but location is ok

This resort hotel is really good if you want to sit back and enjoy the island without really stepping out on the dirty roads and having to navigate the island using your rental car. The resort is completely opposite direction of airport. It is close to Ostrich farm and Jan Thiel but is really far from WestPunt, Airport. Even from downtown it can take a good 20 mins to get to resort's entrance. The resort entrance to hotel itself is a good 3 miles and it adds up the time in travelling. The staff is usually not that helpful in giving you local tips since they are mostly international staff from other countries and other islands. You will not get the tip on where to find the best Galina Stoba or the best local "SNEK" (snack joint) from the staff. The beach right in front has a lot of fishes and you can rent snorkel gear right here and enjoy the fishes. They also have Ocean Encounters which take you to deep sea trips. However, the resort is really pricy and all their restaurants serve good food, but it will be about $70 USD/meal for two on average without drinks or desserts. There is a 15% service charge for everything you eat or drink at any of the restaurants or the bar. Tax is extra. There is also a resort fee that you pay for your stay. its a nice resort..if you plan on just chilling there (they do have everything that you can want..including a beach side restaurant, nice pool, spa, 24 hr gym, international cuisine food, excellent golf), but if you plan on exploring the island..this is not that well located. I would get something in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Medi has the best cuisine out of all restaurants and excellent service and live music nightly. I would eat at Medi and SwimBar and avoid the overly rated Shor restaurant which is very mediocre.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bogota
Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
Nov 28, 2011

Great trip!

Great amenities, rooms, and view! The staff here is amazing and will help you with anything you need!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbum234
myrtle beach, sc
Nov 28, 2011

family vacation

beautiful resort, great amenities, great staff..advertisement indicated that there were diving on house reef, but that was not true there was some snorkeling but no reef on site. location is nice and peaceful but out of the way, rental car is needed if you plan on going anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TLamb
Virginia
Nov 27, 2011

Amazing vacation!

Everything about the Hyatt is exceptional-their service is fabulous and the rooms are perfect. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of activities on site including Ocean Encounters, which I also highly recommend. The beach is lagooned off, but if you swim out beyond the barrier there is some amazing snorkeling right in front of the hotel. The location is a little remote, but we rented a car and had no trouble navigating around other parts of the island and back to the Hyatt. The food on site is very good and doesn't seem to be overpriced so if you don't want to rent a car, you don't really need one-everything you need is at the Hyatt. Overall I would definitely recommend the Hyatt and plan to travel to Curacao again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do rent a car, stop at one of the many snack stands dotted all over the island. (These are the small buildings with the bars on the windows-you will see them everywhere.) They are basically concession stands and serve some pretty delicious treats, like curry chicken empanadas, for around $1.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temas Coquimbo
Bogotá, Colombia
Nov 14, 2011

To apply some improvements can make Hyatt great...!

Despite the Hyatt Regency hotel at Sta. Barbara Plantation is nice and comfortable, it would be great to help guests definitely more with transportation aspects. We found mainly too high costs not only for Curacao-actief services. Taxis service rates are definitely exagerated in comparisson with equivalent services in many different places worldwide. To consider that guests currently need and desire to leave the hotel and to come back to it, during their stay is very important. For 4 people transportation from the Hato Airport to Hyatt Regency (at St.Barbara Plantation-Curacao) Curacao-actief service received US $ 210 dollars. Just INCREDIBLE...! We couldn´t do any thing when we claim this was simply an ABBUSE...! The above took place on November 5 2011, having in advance paid 105 dollars for two persons. Having arrived to Hato Airport, two additional passengers Mr and Mrs Jhon D. Christoffle were included in the same shuttle adding the same too high price. We do think that it is important to take care on establishing fair values. Satisfaction comes in a big proportion from seriousness and quality on their appliance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelingmann
Bronx, New York
Nov 14, 2011

Awesome experience

The Hotel was excellent, the staff was extraordinary and the rooms were immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Krew
New York, NY, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Great Place to Relax

We went to curacao for our honeymoon with our sole purpose being to relax and decompress. The Hyatt was the perfect place to do this at. The hotel itself is beautiful - not too much in the way of activities or entertainment but the pool area is great, as is the (small) beach. The hotel is situated in the Santa Barbara Plantation and while not in the center of town, absolutely the best place on the island to stay. The grounds are beautiful and there is a marina/dive shop at the hotel so it's really easy to book water sport type of trips - diving, boat rentals, kite surfing, snorkeling, etc. The restaurants at the hotel -especially Shor- is great! Staff at the hotel are super friendly and always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check all of your receipts when your on the island. Most places automatically include a 15% gratuity in your bill so you may end up tipping twice without even knowing it unless you check your bill.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaya
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

great family get away

the hotel was amazing and the staff eager to please and make the stay very enjoyable. the only downside is there is not enough choices for restaurants , the Medi is mediocre i wished they would have served more local food and stayed away from a so called Mediterranean cuisine , it was obvious the chef had no clue about French nor Italian cuisine ! the shore is also over priced and the food quality was average!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top