$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
View map of Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Booya123
Business
NYC
Dec 30, 2012

Overall, very good

This hotel is a bit far from most of the town and activities. Renting a car should be recommended. Further, the majority of dining options at the hotel are high priced and the quality is not on par with the price. I had a $200 meal refunded as the quality was very poor and not worthy. However, all dining options around the island were incredible. Service in general is very slow, that is island wide. Other than that the hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car, see more of the island, drive all the way to the west side and beach hop.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BRB and HA
Business
Oregon
Dec 25, 2012

Keep and Enhance the Family Atmosphere!

Our room, which looked over the first tee, less than 100 yards away, to the Caribbean, was nearly perfect. Because I decided at the last minute not to bring my clubs, I had to rent everything, including shoes. Because of this added expense per round, I played only one round. Most of the rest of the time, we spent in the pools, on the beach, or in the fitness center. The beach is not a true beach, but it is great for families and for practicing snorkeling. The pools are designed for children and families, and the fitness center more than met our needs. The grounds are immaculate, and during walks around them, we were able to learn the names of various flora and do some bird watching. Make sure you take advantage of the free buffet breakfast. Use it to fuel up for the day because the restaurants are a little pricey, especially for families. Also, make sure you take a trip into Willemsted and eat lunch at the Plasa Bieuw, which serves Curacaoan food to locals and tourists alike. In sum, we loved the location and the atmosphere: it was away from the hubbub of the city and free from the casinos that so many other resorts have. (The worst thing the new management could do would be to add casinos!) My only criticism is that other than breakfast, the resort lacks food options for families. A restaurant catering to families at family-friendly prices would make families more likely to return for repeat visits. Local food and fun local music would also be a great addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fuel up at breakfast!

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bowman83
Business
New York
Nov 15, 2012

Wonderful Stay

My husband and I spend 4 night in this Hyatt. The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was very good. Overall we had a great experience and it was hard to leave this paradise. I would definitively recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilMo703
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 22, 2012

No Need To Leave The Resort

It was impeccable. Food and Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just one of the girls
Business
Maryland
Jul 20, 2012

Wonderful

Beautiful place to stay. The restaurants were great although it would have been nice to have seating outside as a choice all the time (sometimes the ac was too cold).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are arriving after dark, do not rent a car until you get to the hotel. Driving in Curacao (if you've never been there before) is really confusing and not easily managed after dark.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bradleys
Business
florida keys
Jun 26, 2012

Excellent place to stay

This hotel is wonderful from accomodation to staff. The views were amazing, the pools and cleanliness was very impressive. The hotel is set on its own complex so a car is needed if you want to eat away from the hotel. However the hotel has great food and not over priced. The hotel is very modern and the kids programm was great. This hotel is perfect for honeymooners, romantic getaways and families. Even with many rooms the hotel never felt crowded. Definately would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent places to eat out of the hotel but need a car. Hire a car on line for airport pick up as $65.00 transfer from airport to hotel and hire car expensive at hotel

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe T 4
Business
Las Vegas,NV
Jun 24, 2012

Curacao in June

The hotel was a distance from the airport, but the shuttle provided ($50 round trip) gets you there in under a half hour. The staff is unbelievably friendly, and the room has a great view overlooking the sea. Also, make sure you try the cocktail they give when you arrive, RIDICULOUSLY good!! The general store is pricey, but that should be expected. And the SWIM restaurant has decent food at reasonable prices. There is a shuttle that brings you downtown and for $12 its worth it. While being surrounded by water, the sea isn't easily reachable from most areas, but the water is warm. Overall a great trip that I'd recommend anyone take

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to double check the days the restaurants are open. The hotel will give you the times, but when I tried SHOR they were only open for dinner on certain days

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warner G
Business
Lake Norman, NC
Jun 22, 2012

A True Getaway

Upon arriving to the resort we were amazed by the breath taking views . Lobby, Grounds, Pool, Spa, etc was really really nice. Loved the private beach and spa with private rain showers. The only con was driving from the airport to the resort. Next time I'd just get a driver or shuttle . Also I didn't like this extra tax when leaving the country ...30 bucks each .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andreina
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jun 18, 2012

Very relaxing place!

It"s kind of far, but very nice hotel. Very quiet area, good food, nice pool for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Handerson
Business
Beaverton, OR
Jun 11, 2012

Aaaaaamazing

This hotel had the friendliest staff and the facility itsself was amazing to look at and be in. They had everything we could have wanted and more. I would definitely stay at the Hyatt if we were to come back to the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind a medium length walk, there is a free parking garage next to Riff Fort next to the downtown Marriott. Very convenient!

Back to menu Return to top