$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

5 stars
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
100 reviews
Good service and clean clean clean

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week Mar 2014. It is a massive beautiful property on a... See full review

  • tomoriger
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gorgeous hotel is quiet location

I had my first solo trip of my life and am very thankful I chose the Santa Barbara Beach Resort.... See full review

  • Eubanks
  • Mar 13, 2014
Grand luxury awaits between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters bay
A full-service resort, Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers stunning options and grand gestures galore. Located on a long stretch of private beach between the Caribbean Sea and Spanish Waters inland bay, the views are equally breathtaking inside. Chose from a full-service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, multiple pools with lounge chairs and cabanas, three elegant restaurants and a water sports and diving center. Recreation facilitites include tennis courts, a kid's club, several shops and an 18-hole Pete Dye championship golf course.
Highlights
  • On-site beach with a water sports and diving center
  • 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Pete Dye
  • 4,500-square-foot spa offering many services and treatments
  • Hotel check-in desk at airport
  • Hypo-allergenic rooms available
Rooms
The 350 spacious rooms and suites at the Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort feature a king or two double Grand Beds and full balconies or patios with furniture. Dressed in island opulence and contemporary luxury with neutral shades against wood furnishings, rooms at this Curacao resort come equipped with modern comforts like a flat-screen TV, iHome stereo with iPod and ceiling fans. Other amenities include a coffee/tea maker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and bathrobes. Stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access for a fee. Hypo-allergenic rooms are available. 
Features
Enjoy the works at Santa Barbara Beach Resort. Play a round of golf at the 18-hole, par 72 golf course, a game of tennis at the courts or spend time in the impressive, 24-hour fitness center. Decompress with facials and massages at the Atabei Spa. Let the kids enjoy their own version of decompression at the Camp Arawak kid's club, where activities might include archaeological excavations and beach games. Meanwhile, grownups can lounge on the beach or in a cabana by the pool, or shop on-site for jewelry, perfume and more. The multi-lingual concierge assists travelers with tours. Rent cars and book snorkeling, sailing, and diving trips right on-site. Guests at Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort can also take advantage of airport shuttle service (fees apply).
Dining
Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort offers dining at three on-site restaurants. SWIM offers poolside sandwiches and cool drinks, while SHOR serves upscale burgers, fresh fish and creative cocktails. MEDI features an exhibition kitchen, a wood-fire oven and upscale dining room. Mediterranean dishes, tapas, drinks, and traditional favorites are served on the patio or indoors, with sea views in the background.
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Airport/Willemstad shuttle (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Punda (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Willemstad (7.9 mi/12.7 km) 
  • Hato Caves (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Christoffelpark (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Business
  • 18,500 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting space
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Catering and audio/visual equipment available

Hotel Map

12.0657 -68.8522
Area served
Santa Barbara Plantation, Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort , Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Nearby airports
(CUR) Curacao Aeropuerto Hato, Netherland Antilles - 11.9 miles NW
Area description
Located in one of the few remaining natural preserve peninsulas in the Caribbean, the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort will offer a three meal and fine dining restaurant with indigenous menu creations, 4,500 square feet of full-service spa salon and a separate 24hr Hyatt Stay Fit Fitness Center, multiple outdoor pools, poolside grill, lounge and cabana area, an 18-hole Pete Dye design championship golf course, and 18,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space.
Perfectly situated on the Santa Barbara Plantation against two bodies of water: the Caribbean Sea and the large inland bay known as Spanish Water Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Resort View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 1 King
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer one plush King Grand Bed and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Partial Water View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer partial views of the ocean and our beautifully landscaped resort grounds. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 1 King
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature one plush King Grand Bed. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.
Rsort View 2 Doubles
These spacious guestrooms offer views of our beautifully landscaped resort grounds and surroundings. Decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure, these rooms have 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space and offer two plush Double Grand Beds and luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. The private balcony with seating area offers a relaxing setting while enjoying the wonderful views.
Premier Water View 2 Doubles
Enjoy the unobstructed water views in our Premier Water View rooms, decorated with natural wood and stone with earth tone colors inspired by the Caribbean's hidden treasure. With 38 square meters (410 square feet) of living space our Premier Water View rooms feature two plush Double Grand Beds. The rooms offer a luxurious in-room amenities including flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi Internet access, an in-suite refrigerator, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and more. Enjoy the views over the Caribbean Sea while relaxing at the private balcony with seating.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There's never been a better time to host a Curacao convention, now that our luxurious golf resort and spa is opening its doors. With a beautiful, tropical setting, cutting edge facilities, phenomenal dining options, and lavish guestrooms, this dynamic new Curacao conference center will simply take your breath away. Allow our professional staff to assist you in planning an incredible event featuring all this and much more: 18,500 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function space, including a well-designed 5,782 square foot ballroom and two breakout rooms Innovative catering with creative menu development featuring Personal Preference Dining. Experienced Meeting Planners on staff, to assist with every detail Complete AV Equipment with Onsite Experts, for everything from computer hookups to high-tech, multi-location presentations Wi-Fi in All Meeting, Event and Pre-Function Areas Full-service Business Center

Dining

Pool Grill
The perfect place to chill out after a day in the sun, the Swim Pool Bar Grill features excellent service and exceptionally refreshing cocktails. Join us for a drink after dinner to relax and enjoy the soothing poolside ambiance. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Medi Restaurant
For a truly memorable dining experience, try our exotic Mediterranean Resort Restaurant. Serving three meals a day, the fascinating exhibition kitchen keeps guests intrigued with extraordinary Mediterranean cuisine and international comfort food. Dine indoors or enjoy the view with patio seating. Hours: 7am - 10pm
Swim Pool and Bar Grill Restaurant
Enjoy a refreshing libation poolside at our delightful Pool Grill Restaurant. With a casual menu featuring everything from your favorite cocktail or soft drink to savory sandwiches and ice cream, our grill is the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon. Hours: 11:30am - 6:00pm
Shor Golf Restaurant
Find a comfortable seat on our inviting patio and get ready for an incredible meal. The Shor Restaurant features an American seafood grill theme. Inspired by zesty flavors and colorful cuisine, our savory dishes are served with style by an efficient staff from our unique exhibition kitchen. Hours: 12Noon - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryan NYC
New York City
Jan 2, 2013

Extremely disappointed

Although the manager acknowledged all the shortcomings and gave us few discounts, we can't get over the bad experience and will not stay in this resort again, nor book any trip through "or bit". -We were informed it was not anymore part of the same hotel chain the day before the trip. We could not collect membership point -We purchased a package for a 5 star hotel and then it became 4 that felt like a 3. -THREE TIMES a random automated call woke us up in the middle of the night (i.e. 3 AM) -There were no cold water bottles at the beach -Service was sketchy: concierge told us for Christmas taxi fares on the island were doubled. We called the taxi ourselves and found out it was not true. -Without a common wi-fi area in the lobby, $15 a day per device (not just one at a time, the connection worked on one device only) was a rip-off. -we were wrongly charged for full breakfast 4 times. -The beds were never properly done -the fridge in the room did not refrigerate -The transfer to and from the airport was more expensive than booking a taxi. In many 5 star hotels we've been to it's complimentary. -Even at the check out, we found multiple double charges. They were corrected, but only because, at that point, we went line by line; good thing we did. The list could go on, also with all the other shortcomings from "or bit" as well, from lack of support when we found out we were not getting the package we paid for, to the airplane seats that were not honored (in 4 of the 3 flights I did not sit close to my partner), but we already wasted too much time on this. We'll never book with "or bit" again nor visit Santa Barbara (as it is now called).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Booya123
NYC
Dec 30, 2012

Overall, very good

This hotel is a bit far from most of the town and activities. Renting a car should be recommended. Further, the majority of dining options at the hotel are high priced and the quality is not on par with the price. I had a $200 meal refunded as the quality was very poor and not worthy. However, all dining options around the island were incredible. Service in general is very slow, that is island wide. Other than that the hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car, see more of the island, drive all the way to the west side and beach hop.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BRB and HA
Oregon
Dec 25, 2012

Keep and Enhance the Family Atmosphere!

Our room, which looked over the first tee, less than 100 yards away, to the Caribbean, was nearly perfect. Because I decided at the last minute not to bring my clubs, I had to rent everything, including shoes. Because of this added expense per round, I played only one round. Most of the rest of the time, we spent in the pools, on the beach, or in the fitness center. The beach is not a true beach, but it is great for families and for practicing snorkeling. The pools are designed for children and families, and the fitness center more than met our needs. The grounds are immaculate, and during walks around them, we were able to learn the names of various flora and do some bird watching. Make sure you take advantage of the free buffet breakfast. Use it to fuel up for the day because the restaurants are a little pricey, especially for families. Also, make sure you take a trip into Willemsted and eat lunch at the Plasa Bieuw, which serves Curacaoan food to locals and tourists alike. In sum, we loved the location and the atmosphere: it was away from the hubbub of the city and free from the casinos that so many other resorts have. (The worst thing the new management could do would be to add casinos!) My only criticism is that other than breakfast, the resort lacks food options for families. A restaurant catering to families at family-friendly prices would make families more likely to return for repeat visits. Local food and fun local music would also be a great addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fuel up at breakfast!

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bowman83
New York
Nov 15, 2012

Wonderful Stay

My husband and I spend 4 night in this Hyatt. The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was very good. Overall we had a great experience and it was hard to leave this paradise. I would definitively recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilMo703
Charleston, SC
Jul 22, 2012

No Need To Leave The Resort

It was impeccable. Food and Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just one of the girls
Maryland
Jul 20, 2012

Wonderful

Beautiful place to stay. The restaurants were great although it would have been nice to have seating outside as a choice all the time (sometimes the ac was too cold).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are arriving after dark, do not rent a car until you get to the hotel. Driving in Curacao (if you've never been there before) is really confusing and not easily managed after dark.

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bradleys
florida keys
Jun 26, 2012

Excellent place to stay

This hotel is wonderful from accomodation to staff. The views were amazing, the pools and cleanliness was very impressive. The hotel is set on its own complex so a car is needed if you want to eat away from the hotel. However the hotel has great food and not over priced. The hotel is very modern and the kids programm was great. This hotel is perfect for honeymooners, romantic getaways and families. Even with many rooms the hotel never felt crowded. Definately would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent places to eat out of the hotel but need a car. Hire a car on line for airport pick up as $65.00 transfer from airport to hotel and hire car expensive at hotel

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe T 4
Las Vegas,NV
Jun 24, 2012

Curacao in June

The hotel was a distance from the airport, but the shuttle provided ($50 round trip) gets you there in under a half hour. The staff is unbelievably friendly, and the room has a great view overlooking the sea. Also, make sure you try the cocktail they give when you arrive, RIDICULOUSLY good!! The general store is pricey, but that should be expected. And the SWIM restaurant has decent food at reasonable prices. There is a shuttle that brings you downtown and for $12 its worth it. While being surrounded by water, the sea isn't easily reachable from most areas, but the water is warm. Overall a great trip that I'd recommend anyone take

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to double check the days the restaurants are open. The hotel will give you the times, but when I tried SHOR they were only open for dinner on certain days

Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warner G
Lake Norman, NC
Jun 22, 2012

A True Getaway

Upon arriving to the resort we were amazed by the breath taking views . Lobby, Grounds, Pool, Spa, etc was really really nice. Loved the private beach and spa with private rain showers. The only con was driving from the airport to the resort. Next time I'd just get a driver or shuttle . Also I didn't like this extra tax when leaving the country ...30 bucks each .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Santa Barbara Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andreina
Miami, FL, USA
Jun 18, 2012

Very relaxing place!

It"s kind of far, but very nice hotel. Very quiet area, good food, nice pool for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top