$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of FD Rooseveltweg #524, Bionplein Z/N, Curacao,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
6 reviews
Great Location, Old Hotel, You get what you pay.

Great Location in the Otrobanda side of the island, in front of the bridge that comunicate the two... See full review

  • DAAPP
  • Nov 22, 2014
not the right place for me

I got an inexpensive flight from CLT to CCS, by virtue of an overnight layover on Curacao. I wanted... See full review

  • erblackiv
  • Nov 17, 2014
Located in the colorful city of Willemstad, the economical Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino overlooks famous Brion Square and Santa Ana Bay. Watch cruise ships pass in and out of the harbor while sipping a cocktail on the terrace. Take a dip in the modest outdoor pool or gamble in the casino with poker and slot machines. Guest rooms range from traditional to the plush comfort of the majority, which are recently refreshed. For local color, venture out to surrounding shops, museums, restaurants and more, all within walking distance.
Dining
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino guests dine at on-site Cafe Habana for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Buffet breakfast is served daily. Experience live entertainment while sipping cocktails inside or outside on the Brion Square terrace, or take a stroll through town to discover more variety and options. 
Rooms
At Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino, the majority of rooms are refreshed and offer one king or two double beds. Take comfort with additional amenities like air conditioning, wired Internet access, voice mail and a 32-inch TV with premium channels. Some rooms have views of the city and cruise ships moving through the harbor. An iron/ironing board, coffee-maker and refrigerator are available upon request. Small pets are accepted (see hotel policy).
Property features
Surrounded by the action of Willemstad, guests at Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino find a little slice of centrally located paradise. Play poker or slot machines in the casino, relax on the sundeck or take a dip in the refreshing outdoor pool. When the craving for more excitement hits, walk out the front door to several shops, restaurants, museums, and attractions. Car rental is available onsite with free, secure parking, available on a limited basis. The front desk is open 24-hours a day.
Highlights
  • Central to Brion Square, a cruise port and lively Willemstad
  • On-site pool, casino, restaurant, bar and car rental with free parking
  • Pet-friendly (small pets only, fees may apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (5 mi/8 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Blue Bay Golf & Beach Resort (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Hato Caves (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Christoffelpark (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
Business
  • Wired Internet access available (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Nearby bus station
Policies
  • Smoking is only permitted in designated areas at Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino. 
  • Extra person charges may apply. 
  • Rollaway beds and cribs may be available and should be requested at check-in; fees may apply. 
  • Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required upon check-in for incidental charges. 
  • All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. 
  • Small pets only; fees may apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

★★★
$98
2.7 / 5 15 reviews
★★★★
$124
3.8 / 5 5 reviews
★★★
$133
4.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$119
2.7 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$116
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$140
3.9 / 5 29 reviews
★★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$137
4.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed

Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Room
The Standard room features one king or two double beds, A/C. Complete with data port for Internet access, voice mail, refrigerator (on request), and 25-inch TV with premium channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Caf Habana
The on-site Cafe Habana is the perfect place for 'people watching' whilst sipping your morning coffee, a refreshing, tropical cocktail with lunch or a glass of wine with dinner. On weekdays, an extensive lunch-through-dinner buffet includes freshly cooked fish and a wide range of desserts are served. The Cafe Habana is opened between 07.00 and 20.00. Buffet breakfast is served for all guests in the Caf Habana from 7am to 10.30am daily. Guests can also order a limited selection of dishes on room service.
Blue Bar
The Blue Bar offers life entertainment and is a large and informal bar offering nouvelle cocktails, fine wines and spirits. Have your drink and relax either inside the bar or at the comfortable Brion Square terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.2

17% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allegra M
Single
Bogota, Colombia
Jan 22, 2013

Didn't like it at all

They didn't find my reservation (thank God I had my reservation number and all other details printed, so they finally gave me a room). Not clean (smelly).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, ME
Oct 24, 2010

We were lucky

Excellent location on the waterfront. Our room #322 was exceptionally large with almost 500 square feet plus balcony,and a large bath with soaking tub. It was clean and tastely appointed. It lacks room phones and alarm clock. It did have a ironing board but no iron. Our problem was the electronic door lock battery failed on the morning of our checkout. If we had a plane to catch we would have been in trouble as it took over two hours for an outside contractor to enter the room. We were lucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent shopping from the location. Shop early and in the late afternoon in the hot seasons. The town can be an oven.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DAAPP
Business
Panama City, Panama
Oct 6, 2014

Business Trip

Great Location. Every thing else not good. Poor quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The wine cellar. espectacular dinner. Great service.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
erblackiv
Single
York, SC
Nov 17, 2014

not the right place for me

I got an inexpensive flight from CLT to CCS, by virtue of an overnight layover on Curacao. I wanted a round trip shuttle and a cheap bed. I got neither. I arrived too late and too tired to sort our the bus system , so ended up paying $30 for a cab to the hotel. For $90 for the room I expected Wi-Fi in the room, and a hot shower. I got neither. Toiletries at the front desk , for travelers separated from their bags would also have been a nice touch. The "casino " was a smoke filled room with slot machines. A shuttle to a nearby hotel, with everything listed missing above.... Would be worth it. I might even be tempted to play a hand or two of blackjack in real casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant inside the Howard Johnson was a little over priced.... But the good was good and the service was great

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blueswede
Single
Florida, USA.
Oct 6, 2010

Great view, good price. Beat up, dirty.

Good price. Spectacular view. Dirt hanging from bathroom ceiling. Moldy shower curtain. Noise from construction. Lightfixture not working. Friendly staff.If you like "ruffing it" or are looking for a 3rd world experience. Then this is a good choise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAAPP
Business
Panama City, Panama
Nov 22, 2014

Great Location, Old Hotel, You get what you pay.

Great Location in the Otrobanda side of the island, in front of the bridge that comunicate the two sides of the island. But i's Old and not update. It's ok for the price and the location, not so good for romantic or honeymoon trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top