$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of FD Rooseveltweg #524, Bionplein Z/N, Curacao,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
12 reviews
Great Location, Old Hotel, You get what you pay.

Great Location in the Otrobanda side of the island, in front of the bridge that comunicate the two... See full review

  • DAAPP
  • Nov 22, 2014
not the right place for me

I got an inexpensive flight from CLT to CCS, by virtue of an overnight layover on Curacao. I wanted... See full review

  • erblackiv
  • Nov 17, 2014
Located in the colorful city of Willemstad, the economical Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino overlooks famous Brion Square and Santa Ana Bay. Watch cruise ships pass in and out of the harbor while sipping a cocktail on the terrace. Take a dip in the modest outdoor pool or gamble in the casino with poker and slot machines. Guest rooms range from traditional to the plush comfort of the majority, which are recently refreshed. For local color, venture out to surrounding shops, museums, restaurants and more, all within walking distance.
Dining
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino guests dine at on-site Cafe Habana for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Buffet breakfast is served daily. Experience live entertainment while sipping cocktails inside or outside on the Brion Square terrace, or take a stroll through town to discover more variety and options. 
Rooms
At Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino, the majority of rooms are refreshed and offer one king or two double beds. Take comfort with additional amenities like air conditioning, wired Internet access, voice mail and a 32-inch TV with premium channels. Some rooms have views of the city and cruise ships moving through the harbor. An iron/ironing board, coffee-maker and refrigerator are available upon request. Small pets are accepted (see hotel policy).
Property features
Surrounded by the action of Willemstad, guests at Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino find a little slice of centrally located paradise. Play poker or slot machines in the casino, relax on the sundeck or take a dip in the refreshing outdoor pool. When the craving for more excitement hits, walk out the front door to several shops, restaurants, museums, and attractions. Car rental is available onsite with free, secure parking, available on a limited basis. The front desk is open 24-hours a day.
Highlights
  • Central to Brion Square, a cruise port and lively Willemstad
  • On-site pool, casino, restaurant, bar and car rental with free parking
  • Pet-friendly (small pets only, fees may apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (5 mi/8 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Blue Bay Golf & Beach Resort (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Hato Caves (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Christoffelpark (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
Business
  • Wired Internet access available (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Nearby bus station
Policies
  • Smoking is only permitted in designated areas at Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino. 
  • Extra person charges may apply. 
  • Rollaway beds and cribs may be available and should be requested at check-in; fees may apply. 
  • Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required upon check-in for incidental charges. 
  • All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. 
  • Small pets only; fees may apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Room
The Standard room features one king or two double beds, A/C. Complete with data port for Internet access, voice mail, refrigerator (on request), and 25-inch TV with premium channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Caf Habana
The on-site Cafe Habana is the perfect place for 'people watching' whilst sipping your morning coffee, a refreshing, tropical cocktail with lunch or a glass of wine with dinner. On weekdays, an extensive lunch-through-dinner buffet includes freshly cooked fish and a wide range of desserts are served. The Cafe Habana is opened between 07.00 and 20.00. Buffet breakfast is served for all guests in the Caf Habana from 7am to 10.30am daily. Guests can also order a limited selection of dishes on room service.
Blue Bar
The Blue Bar offers life entertainment and is a large and informal bar offering nouvelle cocktails, fine wines and spirits. Have your drink and relax either inside the bar or at the comfortable Brion Square terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.4

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dushi Sushi
Miami, USA
May 21, 2011

Under expectation!

We have chosen Howard Johnson due to our experience with this chain in New York, which was excellent. Unfortunately this one in Curacao is completely different.Information about tours in the island were requested and a lady offer us some tours. Later we found that there were more option available for a lower price in a folder which was not showed or delivered to us. We had to go to front desk five times due to problems with our electronic key to enter the room. The receptionist told us that this is the way it works, she could do nothing about and just laugh. I am a frequent traveler and have never seen such attitude. Anyhow, the island is beautiful but when coming back, for sure won't be at Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When visiting Curacao, look for a folder issued by the local authorities informing tours available, time, price. Dinning places and all attractions in the island. Local language and currency, etc. It is available at all hotels and in case they don't have or show it to you, look for the nearest tourist center.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAAPP
Business
Panama City, Panama
Nov 22, 2014

Great Location, Old Hotel, You get what you pay.

Great Location in the Otrobanda side of the island, in front of the bridge that comunicate the two sides of the island. But i's Old and not update. It's ok for the price and the location, not so good for romantic or honeymoon trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
erblackiv
Business
York, SC
Nov 17, 2014

not the right place for me

I got an inexpensive flight from CLT to CCS, by virtue of an overnight layover on Curacao. I wanted a round trip shuttle and a cheap bed. I got neither. I arrived too late and too tired to sort our the bus system , so ended up paying $30 for a cab to the hotel. For $90 for the room I expected Wi-Fi in the room, and a hot shower. I got neither. Toiletries at the front desk , for travelers separated from their bags would also have been a nice touch. The "casino " was a smoke filled room with slot machines. A shuttle to a nearby hotel, with everything listed missing above.... Would be worth it. I might even be tempted to play a hand or two of blackjack in real casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant inside the Howard Johnson was a little over priced.... But the good was good and the service was great

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DAAPP
Business
Panama City, Panama
Oct 6, 2014

Business Trip

Great Location. Every thing else not good. Poor quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The wine cellar. espectacular dinner. Great service.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allegra M
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Jan 22, 2013

Didn't like it at all

They didn't find my reservation (thank God I had my reservation number and all other details printed, so they finally gave me a room). Not clean (smelly).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dushi Sushi
Business
Miami, USA
May 21, 2011

Under expectation!

We have chosen Howard Johnson due to our experience with this chain in New York, which was excellent. Unfortunately this one in Curacao is completely different.Information about tours in the island were requested and a lady offer us some tours. Later we found that there were more option available for a lower price in a folder which was not showed or delivered to us. We had to go to front desk five times due to problems with our electronic key to enter the room. The receptionist told us that this is the way it works, she could do nothing about and just laugh. I am a frequent traveler and have never seen such attitude. Anyhow, the island is beautiful but when coming back, for sure won't be at Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When visiting Curacao, look for a folder issued by the local authorities informing tours available, time, price. Dinning places and all attractions in the island. Local language and currency, etc. It is available at all hotels and in case they don't have or show it to you, look for the nearest tourist center.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working retired lady
Business
Columbus,Ohio
Jan 31, 2011

Curacao

The location of the hotel is excellent to see the beautiful harbor and downtown stores. The weather was so great. The taxi drivers or the hotel staff were not the most friendly. I never saw a washcloth even after stopping at the desk twice to inquire. My husband saw a cockroach in the bathroom one morning. Outside views are breathtaking. City tours were great. Food is excellent. Try some of the island specialities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Warn travelers they need voltage accessories or there will be no computer or cellphone charging except in the lobby. Had limited television channels and no cellphone service without purchasing a telephone card on the island. Hotel only served breakfast in their cafe. Take a travel alarm..desk clerk missed a "wake up" call which could have been crucial.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working retired lady
Business
Columbus,Ohio
Jan 31, 2011

Curacao

The location of the hotel is excellent to see the beautiful harbor and downtown stores. The weather was so great. The taxi drivers or the hotel staff were not the most friendly. I never saw a washcloth even after stopping at the desk twice to inquire. My husband saw a cockroach in the bathroom one morning. Outside views are breathtaking. City tours were great. Food is excellent. Try some of the island specialities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Warn travelers they need voltage accessories or there will be no computer or cellphone charging except in the lobby. Had limited television channels and no cellphone service without purchasing a telephone card on the island. Hotel only served breakfast in their cafe. Take a travel alarm..desk clerk missed a "wake up" call which could have been crucial.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 1, 2010

Not good

I was with family and the hotel was a horrible experience. We have never been so disappointed. We visit about 7-10 hotels a year, and we agreed that this was the worst. Location was ok, but we found ourselves keeping busy to stay out of that room. We cruised, shopped, visited with family and friends and appeared there just to sleep. We had no toiletries, Kleenex, toilet paper, towels and we had to ask for the sheets to be changed after our third night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just behind the hotel was a bridge into Punda which helped immensely. Thank goodness for shopping and sight seeing.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 1, 2010

Not good

I was with family and the hotel was a horrible experience. We have never been so disappointed. We visit about 7-10 hotels a year, and we agreed that this was the worst. Location was ok, but we found ourselves keeping busy to stay out of that room. We cruised, shopped, visited with family and friends and appeared there just to sleep. We had no toiletries, Kleenex, toilet paper, towels and we had to ask for the sheets to be changed after our third night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just behind the hotel was a bridge into Punda which helped immensely. Thank goodness for shopping and sight seeing.

Back to menu Return to top