$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

3 stars
FD Rooseveltweg #524, Bionplein Z/N, Curacao,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
8 reviews
Curacao

The location of the hotel is excellent to see the beautiful harbor and downtown stores. The weather... See full review

  • Working retired lady
  • Jan 31, 2011
Great view, good price. Beat up, dirty.

Good price. Spectacular view. Dirt hanging from bathroom ceiling. Moldy shower curtain. Noise from... See full review

  • Blueswede
  • Oct 6, 2010
Experience an affordable location central to the bustle of Curacao
Located in the colorful city of Willemstad, the economical Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino overlooks famous Brion Square and Santa Ana Bay. Watch cruise ships pass in and out of the harbor while sipping a cocktail on the terrace. Take a dip in the modest outdoor pool or gamble in the casino with poker and slot machines. Guest rooms range from traditional to the plush comfort of the majority, which are recently refreshed. For local color, venture out to surrounding shops, museums, restaurants and more, all within walking distance.
Highlights
  • Central to Brion Square, a cruise port and lively Willemstad
  • On-site pool, casino, restaurant, bar and car rental with free parking
  • Pet-friendly (small pets only, fees may apply)
Rooms
At Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino, the majority of rooms are refreshed and offer one king or two double beds. Take comfort with additional amenities like air conditioning, wired Internet access, voice mail and a 32-inch TV with premium channels. Some rooms have views of the city and cruise ships moving through the harbor. An iron/ironing board, coffee-maker and refrigerator are available upon request. Small pets are accepted (see hotel policy).
Features
Surrounded by the action of Willemstad, guests at Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino find a little slice of centrally located paradise. Play poker or slot machines in the casino, relax on the sundeck or take a dip in the refreshing outdoor pool. When the craving for more excitement hits, walk out the front door to several shops, restaurants, museums, and attractions. Car rental is available onsite with free, secure parking, available on a limited basis. The front desk is open 24-hours a day.
Dining
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino guests dine at on-site Cafe Habana for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Buffet breakfast is served daily. Experience live entertainment while sipping cocktails inside or outside on the Brion Square terrace, or take a stroll through town to discover more variety and options. 
Transportation
  • Hato International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Nearby bus station
Attractions
  • Curacao Sea Aquarium (5 mi/8 km)
  • Curacao Dolphin Academy (5 mi/8 km)
  • Curacao Ostrich Farm (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Blue Bay Golf & Beach Resort (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Hato Caves (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Christoffelpark (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
Business
  • Wired Internet access available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • Smoking is only permitted in designated areas at Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino. 
  • Extra person charges may apply. 
  • Rollaway beds and cribs may be available and should be requested at check-in; fees may apply. 
  • Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required upon check-in for incidental charges. 
  • All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. 
  • Small pets only; fees may apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Room
The Standard room features one king or two double beds, A/C. Complete with data port for Internet access, voice mail, refrigerator (on request), and 25-inch TV with premium channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

12.1072 -68.9364
Area served
Willemstad /Otrobanda, Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Nearby airports
CUR
Area description
Centrally located in the bustling heart of Curacao's Otrabanda, opposite the spectacular and world famous floating bridge, lies the Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino. This 3-star hotel offers stylish and modern accommodation for the international business as well as leisure traveler. The dedicated staff is at your service, 24-hours a day. We, at the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel & Casino are deeply committed to achieving your satisfaction by providing you with the best accommodations and staff. We strive for excellence to ensure that your stay is both comfortable and memorable.

Dining

Caf Habana
The on-site Cafe Habana is the perfect place for 'people watching' whilst sipping your morning coffee, a refreshing, tropical cocktail with lunch or a glass of wine with dinner. On weekdays, an extensive lunch-through-dinner buffet includes freshly cooked fish and a wide range of desserts are served. The Cafe Habana is opened between 07.00 and 20.00. Buffet breakfast is served for all guests in the Caf Habana from 7am to 10.30am daily. Guests can also order a limited selection of dishes on room service.
Blue Bar
The Blue Bar offers life entertainment and is a large and informal bar offering nouvelle cocktails, fine wines and spirits. Have your drink and relax either inside the bar or at the comfortable Brion Square terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.4

12% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working retired lady
Columbus,Ohio
Jan 31, 2011

Curacao

The location of the hotel is excellent to see the beautiful harbor and downtown stores. The weather was so great. The taxi drivers or the hotel staff were not the most friendly. I never saw a washcloth even after stopping at the desk twice to inquire. My husband saw a cockroach in the bathroom one morning. Outside views are breathtaking. City tours were great. Food is excellent. Try some of the island specialities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Warn travelers they need voltage accessories or there will be no computer or cellphone charging except in the lobby. Had limited television channels and no cellphone service without purchasing a telephone card on the island. Hotel only served breakfast in their cafe. Take a travel alarm..desk clerk missed a "wake up" call which could have been crucial.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allegra M
Bogota, Colombia
Jan 22, 2013

Didn't like it at all

They didn't find my reservation (thank God I had my reservation number and all other details printed, so they finally gave me a room). Not clean (smelly).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dushi Sushi
Miami, USA
May 21, 2011

Under expectation!

We have chosen Howard Johnson due to our experience with this chain in New York, which was excellent. Unfortunately this one in Curacao is completely different.Information about tours in the island were requested and a lady offer us some tours. Later we found that there were more option available for a lower price in a folder which was not showed or delivered to us. We had to go to front desk five times due to problems with our electronic key to enter the room. The receptionist told us that this is the way it works, she could do nothing about and just laugh. I am a frequent traveler and have never seen such attitude. Anyhow, the island is beautiful but when coming back, for sure won't be at Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When visiting Curacao, look for a folder issued by the local authorities informing tours available, time, price. Dinning places and all attractions in the island. Local language and currency, etc. It is available at all hotels and in case they don't have or show it to you, look for the nearest tourist center.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working retired lady
Columbus,Ohio
Jan 31, 2011

Curacao

The location of the hotel is excellent to see the beautiful harbor and downtown stores. The weather was so great. The taxi drivers or the hotel staff were not the most friendly. I never saw a washcloth even after stopping at the desk twice to inquire. My husband saw a cockroach in the bathroom one morning. Outside views are breathtaking. City tours were great. Food is excellent. Try some of the island specialities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Warn travelers they need voltage accessories or there will be no computer or cellphone charging except in the lobby. Had limited television channels and no cellphone service without purchasing a telephone card on the island. Hotel only served breakfast in their cafe. Take a travel alarm..desk clerk missed a "wake up" call which could have been crucial.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Nov 1, 2010

Not good

I was with family and the hotel was a horrible experience. We have never been so disappointed. We visit about 7-10 hotels a year, and we agreed that this was the worst. Location was ok, but we found ourselves keeping busy to stay out of that room. We cruised, shopped, visited with family and friends and appeared there just to sleep. We had no toiletries, Kleenex, toilet paper, towels and we had to ask for the sheets to be changed after our third night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just behind the hotel was a bridge into Punda which helped immensely. Thank goodness for shopping and sight seeing.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, ME
Oct 24, 2010

We were lucky

Excellent location on the waterfront. Our room #322 was exceptionally large with almost 500 square feet plus balcony,and a large bath with soaking tub. It was clean and tastely appointed. It lacks room phones and alarm clock. It did have a ironing board but no iron. Our problem was the electronic door lock battery failed on the morning of our checkout. If we had a plane to catch we would have been in trouble as it took over two hours for an outside contractor to enter the room. We were lucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent shopping from the location. Shop early and in the late afternoon in the hot seasons. The town can be an oven.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, ME
Oct 24, 2010

We were lucky

Excellent location on the waterfront. Our room #322 was exceptionally large with almost 500 square feet plus balcony,and a large bath with soaking tub. It was clean and tastely appointed. It lacks room phones and alarm clock. It did have a ironing board but no iron. Our problem was the electronic door lock battery failed on the morning of our checkout. If we had a plane to catch we would have been in trouble as it took over two hours for an outside contractor to enter the room. We were lucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent shopping from the location. Shop early and in the late afternoon in the hot seasons. The town can be an oven.

Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blueswede
Florida, USA.
Oct 6, 2010

Great view, good price. Beat up, dirty.

Good price. Spectacular view. Dirt hanging from bathroom ceiling. Moldy shower curtain. Noise from construction. Lightfixture not working. Friendly staff.If you like "ruffing it" or are looking for a 3rd world experience. Then this is a good choise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blueswede
Florida, USA.
Oct 6, 2010

Great view, good price. Beat up, dirty.

Good price. Spectacular view. Dirt hanging from bathroom ceiling. Moldy shower curtain. Noise from construction. Lightfixture not working. Friendly staff.If you like "ruffing it" or are looking for a 3rd world experience. Then this is a good choise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top