$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

3 stars
1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
43 reviews
A Surfer's Dream in Tamarindo

We had an amazing time at the Best Western Vista Villas! The location was perfect for us because we... See full review

  • Madelaine A.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Nice place, across the street from beach.

We truly enjoyed our stay at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. Our room was a Tropical Suite,... See full review

  • CAROLA A.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Find sprawling beachfront villas and nightlife near Tamarindo

The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers guest rooms and kitchen-equipped villas on the beach in Tamarindo. The Golden Coast location of the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers easy access to Guanacaste's many water sports, like diving and sport fishing, and eco-tours to surrounding national parks and wildlife preserves. Downtown Tamarindo, just a short walk from the hotel, offers restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. This Costa Rican property also has a bar and restaurant on-site and free Wi-Fi access in guest rooms.

Highlights
  • Located on Tamarindo Beach, just a short walk from town
  • Large swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • Close to great surfing and protected beaches
  • On-site surf shop and gear rentals
  • Pre-arranged Spanish classes available (fees apply)
Rooms

The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers 17 guest rooms and 16 spacious villas with one, two, or three bedrooms, living rooms, dining rooms and balconies. Guest rooms have double beds or pairs of twin beds, and villas have varying layouts depending on size, accommodating up to eight guests. All accommodations have color TVs, safe boxes, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi Internet access, and most have ocean views and private verandas. All villas come equipped with full kitchens, including microwaves, refrigerators, sinks, coffee makers and toasters.

Features

The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers affordable beachfront accommodations and activities packages just outside Tamarindo. Primarily a surf lodge, this family operated hotel has an on-site surf shop and offers trips, gear and board rentals. (It's also where the acclaimed surfing documentary "Step into Liquid" was filmed.) The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas also features an ocean-view swimming pool with a waterfall, swim-up bar and an open-air poolside restaurant. The on-site Monkey Bar is a famous local nightspot that has hosted spring break TV shoots, and where music and tropical drinks flow freely.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (39.2 mi/62.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (154 mi/246.4 km)
Attractions
  • Witch's Rock Surf Camp (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Las Baulas National Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Playa Grande (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (12.7 mi/20.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Rooms

CORONA SUITE OCEAN VIEW
Corona Suite Ocean View offers queen bed and 2 single beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, crockery / cutlery, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, modem / data port connection, radio, refrigerator, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, stove / oven, telephone and toaster. Largest one bedroom suite complete with living room, full kitchen and dining room, with ocean view and balcony. Bedroom has double bed, while living room features a couch which is also 2 daybeds. Air conditioned cable TV. We can add a roll-away bed to sleep an additional person.
TROPICAL SUITE PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW
Tropical Suite Partial Ocean View offers queen bed and 2 single beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, crockery / cutlery, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, modem / data port connection, radio, refrigerator, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, stove / oven, telephone and toaster. One bedroom suite, complete with living room, full kitchen and dining room with ocean view and private patio. Bedroom has double bed, while living room features a couch which is also 2 daybeds. Air conditioned cable TV.
STANDARD OCEAN VIEW
Standard Ocean View Room offers a queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, safe in room and telephone.
STANDARD GARDEN VIEW
Standard Garden View Room offers 1 queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

SALSAS RESTAURANT
The restaurant, Salsas, offers home-cooking with seafood, pizza and more. And there's always a good time to be had at the Monkey Bar. World famous Ladies Night on Fridays draws crowds from all over to hear Salsa band and take in the local culture with dancing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 43
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Madelaine A.
Business
Charlotte
Jan 24, 2015

A Surfer's Dream in Tamarindo

We had an amazing time at the Best Western Vista Villas! The location was perfect for us because we were a short walk across the street to the beach, and a short walk back when we were done surfing! We stayed in a room that had a partial ocean view, and the view was amazing. Our room was great for the two of us, but also great for a family with small kids who wouldn't mind sleeping in the living room area. We saved a lot of money having a kitchen to make lunches, but still enjoyed the nightlife and restaurants in Tamarindo. They also have a party Friday night that it seems the whole town comes to, we had a great time but if you are looking for a relaxing Friday night request a room farther away from the pool area. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast, there weren't hot options but we thought the crepes were great and had plenty of choices to fuel us for a long day of surfing. Not to mention the views from the pool/restaurant area were truly breath taking. One thing I noticed was that there were a lot of children at the pool most days. The staff was great!!! We came home from the beach everyday to a clean room, including having all of our dishes done for us which was an unexpected perk! I've stayed in Tamarindo at another place and we had issues with the shower going from hot to cold randomly, but not at the Best Western! We enjoyed nice long hot showers! Overall, this was a great option for people looking for an affordable place, without sacrificing location and great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sugar Ramon
Business
Aspen, Colorado
Sep 30, 2014

last minute booking

We booked at the last minute and arrived early. Upon arrival our suite was ready and we were allowed to check-in early. Very pleased with the service. The continental breakfast was the best that I have ever had. Fresh tropical fruit, warm banana bread, mango juice, and of course Costa Rican coffee. We sat down just minutes before they were to close and ad plenty to eat and plenty of time to enjoy the wonderful ocean view !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is the beach. Just down the street you will find some great" hole in the wall" restaurant's ( PK,s" I think was the name) as well as a famous Surf Camp and great bar on the beach !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PF TRex
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Good hotel, great deal!

I stayed at this hotel last week for a girl's getaway trip. The rooms were small, but clean. I had a fantastic view of the ocean from my balcony. The hotel also has free wifi, a nice swimming pool and friendly, helpful staff. This hotel is also very close to downtown Tamarindo and only a 2 minute walk to the beach. Their complimentary breakfast could be better (cake/toast and fruit), but overall, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again if I was working with a small budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Pangas and The Coconut restaurant for some delicious fine diving. Wanna go cheap? Look for Rosa, who parks her car on the main road and sells delicious home-made Tican food from her trunk everyday around noon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trip queen
Business
minneapolis
Mar 10, 2013

girls getaway

Great staff,location and views. Right across from the ocean. needs updating. Only a couple of good lounge chairs at pool most need re stringing. One drawback if too its on a cliff and elderly may have trouble waliking up and down the stairs several times a day. Bathrooms iin rooms could use updating and water pressure is bad at times during the stay. Good continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radiator Salesman
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Sep 4, 2012

Surprise

Heard of Tamarindo a few times but never about how nice a place it is. The hotel si OK. Pay for waht you get. The location and surroundings can not be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SUSHI!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2030 Travel Babe
Business
California
Jul 30, 2012

Great Stay in Tamarindo, CR

The room was a little small, but other than that it was a great place to stay. I would totally stay there again. The staff was great and the location was perfect. The view from the pool area was amazing. The price was also amazing! If you're going to Tamarindo, I recommend this place. I know when we go back we'll stay her again. Also they had wild monkeys in the trees near the hotel, so that was a treat to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brasileiro
Business
Somewhere South
Apr 29, 2012

Nice location, A bit run down

An ok hotel by Tamarindo standards. Its a pretty old hotel complex in need of a renovation. I didnt find it relaxing at all. Saw a lot of the younger crowd there having fun. A reel positive was Trevor at the front desk who was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CR Traveler
Business
Mexico
Dec 12, 2011

Very Good location

The hotel is nicely located in the town of Tamarindo and just accross the street is the Ocean, The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they allways want to assist with all requests. they made our staying very special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Short walk from downtown Tamarindo, where restaurants and bars are

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chicocr23
Business
San José, Costa Rica
Nov 21, 2011

Nice hotel

Is a cheap hotel, the staff was very nice, rooms were simple but clean and confortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScottZ
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 11, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Fantastic service at the bar and restaurant. Great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top