$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

3 stars
1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
40 reviews
last minute booking

We booked at the last minute and arrived early. Upon arrival our suite was ready and we were... See full review

  • Sugar Ramon
  • Sep 30, 2014
Tamarindo

Great room, staff and breakfast. Nice location in Tamarindo close enough to everything from nice... See full review

  • Sugar Ramon
  • Sep 29, 2014
Find sprawling beachfront villas and nightlife near Tamarindo

The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers guest rooms and kitchen-equipped villas on the beach in Tamarindo. The Golden Coast location of the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers easy access to Guanacaste's many water sports, like diving and sport fishing, and eco-tours to surrounding national parks and wildlife preserves. Downtown Tamarindo, just a short walk from the hotel, offers restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. This Costa Rican property also has a bar and restaurant on-site and free Wi-Fi access in guest rooms.

Highlights
  • Located on Tamarindo Beach, just a short walk from town
  • Large swimming pool with swim-up bar
  • Close to great surfing and protected beaches
  • On-site surf shop and gear rentals
  • Pre-arranged Spanish classes available (fees apply)
Rooms

The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers 17 guest rooms and 16 spacious villas with one, two, or three bedrooms, living rooms, dining rooms and balconies. Guest rooms have double beds or pairs of twin beds, and villas have varying layouts depending on size, accommodating up to eight guests. All accommodations have color TVs, safe boxes, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi Internet access, and most have ocean views and private verandas. All villas come equipped with full kitchens, including microwaves, refrigerators, sinks, coffee makers and toasters.

Features

The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas offers affordable beachfront accommodations and activities packages just outside Tamarindo. Primarily a surf lodge, this family operated hotel has an on-site surf shop and offers trips, gear and board rentals. (It's also where the acclaimed surfing documentary "Step into Liquid" was filmed.) The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas also features an ocean-view swimming pool with a waterfall, swim-up bar and an open-air poolside restaurant. The on-site Monkey Bar is a famous local nightspot that has hosted spring break TV shoots, and where music and tropical drinks flow freely.

Transportation
  • Daniel Oduber International Aiport, Liberia (39.2 mi/62.7 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Jose (154 mi/246.4 km)
Attractions
  • Witch's Rock Surf Camp (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Las Baulas National Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Playa Grande (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (12.7 mi/20.3 km)

Hotel Map

10.3046 -85.8372
Area served
Tamarindo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Mineta San Jose International Airport (SJC). Daniel O duber International Airport (LIR).
Area description
Located on a hill in front of the beach overlooking Tamarindo Bay, allowing for spectacular ocean views from most of the rooms and the pool and bar and restaurant.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Rooms

CORONA SUITE OCEAN VIEW
Corona Suite Ocean View offers queen bed and 2 single beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, crockery / cutlery, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, modem / data port connection, radio, refrigerator, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, stove / oven, telephone and toaster. Largest one bedroom suite complete with living room, full kitchen and dining room, with ocean view and balcony. Bedroom has double bed, while living room features a couch which is also 2 daybeds. Air conditioned cable TV. We can add a roll-away bed to sleep an additional person.
TROPICAL SUITE PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW
Tropical Suite Partial Ocean View offers queen bed and 2 single beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, crockery / cutlery, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, modem / data port connection, radio, refrigerator, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, stove / oven, telephone and toaster. One bedroom suite, complete with living room, full kitchen and dining room with ocean view and private patio. Bedroom has double bed, while living room features a couch which is also 2 daybeds. Air conditioned cable TV.
STANDARD OCEAN VIEW
Standard Ocean View Room offers a queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, safe in room and telephone.
STANDARD GARDEN VIEW
Standard Garden View Room offers 1 queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

SALSAS RESTAURANT
The restaurant, Salsas, offers home-cooking with seafood, pizza and more. And there's always a good time to be had at the Monkey Bar. World famous Ladies Night on Fridays draws crowds from all over to hear Salsa band and take in the local culture with dancing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 40
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Chrys
Business
Colorado, USA
Mar 17, 2014

tamarindo vista villas

This place fit my idea of the perfect island condo with just the right amount of funky. We had a postcard view of the beach, loved the bar and patio complete with gorgeous sunsets. The beach offers plenty of variety with sections for surfers and strollers alike. Beach access is just across the street! Special recognition goes to Wendy at the front desk. She had taken the tours and gave us great advice while juggling phone calls and multiple guests. Two highlights of our visit were the trip to Nicaragua and fishing on the river with a local fisherman. We feasted on fish we caught that morning, expertly prepared and presented by Pacho, the hotel chef. I will never forget that. You will not find a better staff. Thanks also to Susanna, Sharom, Hazel and Gliel. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of having some of your meals at the condo, bring small quantities of spices. We bought a few groceries and refreshments at the store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toney Zone
Business
Michigan
Feb 14, 2014

Great choice

Pleasant! Views were amazing! Staff and people there were very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
morfar5
Business
Canada
Feb 7, 2014

first time in cr

The staff are amazing, the swim up bar is great, we are coming back michael and wendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friends of Tamarindo
Business
Tamarindo
Jun 26, 2012

Wonderful vacation

This hotel has an incomparably warm, friendly staff, perfect location for viewing beautiful sunsets, with a short walk to Tamarindo beach...at the best place to "catch a wave" if you're surfing and enjoy sunbathing, swimming. Lovely pool, restaurant and friendly owner. Great daily breakfast! We had an oceanview room...felt very fortunate to be here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WE enjoyed the Costa Rican food at FT's, a restaurant located a short distance from hotel. Very reasonable and very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jass1950
Business
lasalle , ontario
Jun 3, 2012

great view,great staff

TVV is a nice hotel with a good location and even though the rooms are dated our maid , Maria went above and beyond to keep the room clean and added special touches that made our stay more enjoyable. We stayed for 2 weeks from May 15/ 12. The hotel was not busy and the staff responded quickly to any service request that we had . Erika (good luck in your future job ) and Adolfo were especially helpful. We are in our 60's and not into surfing or the beach or hiking but the scenery and surrounding towns were interesting . We rented a car and were able to get around quite well. The roads are very poor and should be avoided after dark. The people of Costa RIca are very friendly and helpful and one of the greatest assets the country has.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to pay more than in the USA. Everything from car rental, food , alcohol to souvenirs costs more in CR than many other destinations. Buy your alcohol at the duty free when you enter CR. You are allowed up to 5 litres per person when entering the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yuel
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Awsome hotel and staff

The staff is very friendly, great restaurant and has the best view in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kodak
Business
Ft. Dodge, Ia.
Mar 22, 2012

Great Value

Location was excellent for value, Very peacefull poolside ocean view relaxation, Staff are very attentive and friendlly. Have a band every Fri. evening, lots of fun with salsa dancining and feel good music. Food is very good and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If Walking is difficult take a taxi. Only three or four dollars to ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anonymous111
Business
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Mar 6, 2012

Best Western Sucks

The negatives : No privacy, rooms are very small, you share the balcony with everyone else, you have to close the curtains in order to change. Towels were disgusting. The mattress, I wish I didn't see it! The hotel looks like from an episode of locked up abroad where they exchange drugs. The positives: The staff was very nice, they try to help you every way possible. The view of the ocean is nice. The hotel has a Friday party night so we didn't have to go out far to enjoy ourselves. Could be a problem for people that like to sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tracy Dee
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Feb 29, 2012

First visit to Costa Rica

I must preface this reveiw with a few words about Tamarindo, Costa Rica. My husband and I stayed from 2-21-12 - 2-28-12 in #102. There is no central water treatment system in town, the walking for anyone can be treacherous and there are numerous serious trip hazards. It was 95* and 30 mile an hour winds everyday b/c it was the dry season. There was blowing sand on the beach and not a lot of shade. With all of this in mind, the room was sufficient. The shower was weak, but worked. The electricity seemed to go off for an hour in the morning everyday which means the AC went off, but there was AC. I would say that this hotel was above what others in the area are providing, but this is not Maui so don't get your hopes up! You must remeber that everything taken to Tamrindo is virtually hand carried there so anything in way of convience is as Martha says, a good thing. The best part of the experience is that everyone is extremely mellow and accepting. The worst exierence at this hotel was the Friday night Monkey Bar situation which is advertised as Salsa (Ladies) night but sounded more like dance/rap music played at severely loud volume until 230 am. They even gave us a letter under the door warning us of the event. I would say that this hotel was more for younger people as we are in our 50's. You must also remember that the Tico way is unhurried, mellow and very easy and it is defintely a refreshing change from the American way of thinking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Witch's Rock/Joe's had better than average service/menu as many of the areas 50 restaurants were quite relaxed in providing American standard service. We found that if you said "Oye" to the waiter they would actually pay attention to you. It is very close to Vista Villas by foot. Again beware of no sidewalks, speeding cars, serious trip hazards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy20112011
Business
Ca
Jan 9, 2012

Nice

This hotel was nice and not over priced. Located right across the street from the beach made the location perfect. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is attached to a resturant by the pool which was rad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top