$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

4 stars
View map of Autopista General Canas, Frente al Mall Real Cariari, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
Great hotel

We just needed the hotel for one night before continuing our travels in Costa Rice. It's a perfect... See full review

  • Miriam
  • Jun 6, 2015
Awesome end to the trip!

Very clean, nice view, clean room! Perfect for a relaxing end to our trip and Valentine's Day! See full review

  • Sharmeen Q.
  • May 23, 2015

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits at the heart of Central Valley, with breathtaking views of the mountains surrounding the city. Offering casual, elegant accommodations and a relaxing setting, the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits 5 miles from the airport and minutes from downtown San Jose. The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center provides a free airport shuttle service and guests access to the Cariari Country Club golf course. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet access, as well as business and meeting services.

Rooms

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center features 229 guest rooms and suites in a variety of layouts, all with plush king-size or pairs of queen size beds -- most also boast Jacuzzi tubs. Private terraces overlook exotic floral gardens. In-room amenities include air conditioning, satellite televisions, telephones and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Rooms on the executive floor include added amenities like business services, newspapers and happy-hour cocktails. 24-hour room service is available.

Property features

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center has three sparkling outdoor pools and five Jacuzzis where guests can take a dip or relax on a sun chair. The on-site spa offers a full range of massages and body treatments, while the hotel also features a fitness center and offers discounted access to a nearby golf course. Guests receive a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the hotel boasts three restaurants serving Latin, Japanese and Mediterranean cuisines. Complimentary shuttle services connect guests to the airport and to nearby shopping areas.


The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center hosts the largest convention center in the country, making it a popular business hotel. Additional business amenities include free in-room Internet access, an executive lounge with business services, and flexible meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • 3 outdoor swimming pools, 5 Jacuzzis, full-service spa
  • Free airport shuttle
  • 3 restaurants, bar and casino
  • Free access to adjacent country club, which has a gym, tennis courts and Olympic-sized pool
Nearby attractions
  • International Convention Center (On-site)
  • Central Market (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • National Museum (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (23.8 mi/38.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting rooms for up to 1500 people
  • International Convention Center on-site
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle serves airport and local area

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Rooms

Junior Suite
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*2 flat screen LCD TV at the bedroom.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels on the living room.
Standar Room
2 queen beds or 1 king bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Bridal Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Jaccuzzi.
*Microwave.
Bed Accessible
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Master Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Microwave.
Deluxe Tower
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Minibar service.
Presidential Suite Mountain View
Two Bedrooms 2 King Bed each,Presidential Suite with free:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Living room.
*Kitchen facilities.
*Minibar service.
Executive Floor
King Bed,Non Smoking Room with :
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*30 minutes Relaxing Massage.
*Snacks and free Happy hour.
*Check in and check out and concierge services.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels.
*Courtesy newspaper.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.5 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 21.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 57.1 mi

Dining

Sakura
A Japanese cuisine restaurant, which allows guests to rediscover the personalized experience and choice between succulent seafood, tender chicken, prime steaks and garden vegetables grilled to perfection. Enjoy Sakura's outstanding Sushi bar, featuring a variety of fresh fish and unique twists to traditional sushi rolls.
Tropicala
A relaxing restaurant offering International Latin Fusion cuisine, Tropicala offers the best in Central and South American dishes. Overlooking the hotel's picturesque pool deck, this restaurant offers a tropical and festive atmosphere with Costa Rica flair.
HARD ROCK CAF COSTA RICA
Enjoy the Hard Rock Caf Experience in our onsite Restaurant Bar Open daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori
Business
Lannon
Apr 26, 2015

Just OK

Wonderful staff. Rooms and hotel are slightly run down. Limited food choices in restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink panther bug
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

close to the airport

This hotel was fine for a quick one night stay. The pool was nice looking but it was cold. The hot tubs were cold too. The food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pink panther bug
Business
Jupiter, florida
Nov 26, 2014

A bit old fashioned

The hotel staff was friendly but the hotel was a bit run down. The breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart near by has great food.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siline The Birthday Girl
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Jun 26, 2014

Birthday Getaway

Total relaxation, peaceful and quite. Got a surprise on my birthday after I returned to my room, there was a tray sitting on the table with a bottle of champagne, hor d' oeuvres along with birthday wishes from the management. Aaawwwsome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Emerald factory, gorgeous emerald stones. Take plenty of cash

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattle Gal
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 26, 2014

Disappointing

The hotel needs to be updated. The carpets are worn and dirty. Everything about the décor and furnishings needs to be updated. My room had a huge brown stain on the white flooring under the bathroom sink. The signage directing guests to the lobby was inaccurate. I have previously stayed in other hotels in San Jose which offered clean, updated accommodations at a far better value. The hotel's best feature was their free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hard Rock Café less than one block from the hotel.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CathyJo
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Mar 1, 2014

Great stay in Costa Rica

Smooth check-in, relaxing and unbeatable in every way. Beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Japanese Restaurant was a great place for a single traveler to have dinner...at the sushi bar.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Speedball
Business
Chicago
Feb 3, 2013

last night in Costa Rica

I had booked this hotel as a treat to myself seeing as I had been staying in places that were very meager while I had been in Costa Rica. I had especially been looking forward to having a/c in my room and using the hot tubs and pool. I got settled in to the room and could not find the control for the a/c unit so I called the front desk who said someone would stop by to get me one. They never showed up. I went to use the hot tub and found it in a very strange spot, right outside the restaurant which was open air and so there was no way you could relax, on top of that the "hot" tub was at best lukewarm. The continental breakfast was good and better than most I've had at hotels but that was little consolation. In addition you cannot get anywhere without having to take a taxi so you cannot walk to restaurants or shopping, etc. For the money I spent this place should have been way better. Save your money and stay at a Hostel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC traveler in San Jose
Business
New York, NY
Nov 29, 2012

Airport stopover

Staff members were friendly and all spoke English. The layout of the hotel is a little confusing but I guess that adds to the charm of the place. A few other minor kinks, such as the carpet at the entrance that says "Wyndham" rather than "Ramada", which confused me when I first arrived. There's an airport shuttle (it takes about 15 minutes to the airport), but beware that it doesn't go to Pavas, the local airport (though upon request it will take you to the local terminal at the international airport). Overall a pleasant stay, and I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr United
Business
Copenhagen, Denmark
Aug 30, 2012

great value

I stayed here for one night to catch an early morning flight. Its a great place for the money about 10 min from the airport and they have a free airportshuttle. The breakfast was great and staff was awesome... The decor of the rooms are very generic and a little dated. Kind of similar to what you would find at a Radisson or something like that but its very clean and everything works and very comfortable beds and soft linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northface45
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 15, 2012

Pre-flight Stay

We needed a hotel room for the night before a 7am flight from San Jose so we booked this hotel. The hotel was very clean, the rooms very spacious, and 3 different restaurants to choose from for dinner. Breakfast was included but I had such an early flight I was not able to eat before I left, however, they did provide me with a breakfast box that was quite substantial. The hotel has 2 pools, a casino, free computer access and lots of sitting areas so you can relax outside of your room. Airport shuttle is also free and runs every hour. Very pleased with this hotel and would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top