$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

4 stars
Autopista General Canas, Frente al Mall Real Cariari, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
125 reviews
Family getaway

Excellent! I highly recommend it. The pool was amazing but make sure you avoid raining season! See full review

  • James Lake
  • Jul 22, 2014
Wish for more time

We stayed at this fabulous hotel to be near the airport for an early morning flight. We had stayed... See full review

  • Waotz
  • Jul 3, 2014
Casual luxury hotel in San Jose offers business and leisure services

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits at the heart of Central Valley, with breathtaking views of the mountains surrounding the city. Offering casual, elegant accommodations and a relaxing setting, the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits 5 miles from the airport and minutes from downtown San Jose. The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center provides a free airport shuttle service and guests access to the Cariari Country Club golf course. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet access, as well as business and meeting services.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • 3 outdoor swimming pools, 5 Jacuzzis, full-service spa
  • Free airport shuttle
  • 3 restaurants, bar and casino
  • Free access to adjacent country club, which has a gym, tennis courts and Olympic-sized pool
Rooms

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center features 229 guest rooms and suites in a variety of layouts, all with plush king-size or pairs of queen size beds -- most also boast Jacuzzi tubs. Private terraces overlook exotic floral gardens. In-room amenities include air conditioning, satellite televisions, telephones and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Rooms on the executive floor include added amenities like business services, newspapers and happy-hour cocktails. 24-hour room service is available.

Features

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center has three sparkling outdoor pools and five Jacuzzis where guests can take a dip or relax on a sun chair. The on-site spa offers a full range of massages and body treatments, while the hotel also features a fitness center and offers discounted access to a nearby golf course. Guests receive a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the hotel boasts three restaurants serving Latin, Japanese and Mediterranean cuisines. Complimentary shuttle services connect guests to the airport and to nearby shopping areas.


The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center hosts the largest convention center in the country, making it a popular business hotel. Additional business amenities include free in-room Internet access, an executive lounge with business services, and flexible meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle serves airport and local area
Attractions
  • International Convention Center (On-site)
  • Central Market (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • National Museum (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (23.8 mi/38.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting rooms for up to 1500 people
  • International Convention Center on-site
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Rooms

Junior Suite
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*2 flat screen LCD TV at the bedroom.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels on the living room.
Standar Room
2 queen beds or 1 king bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Bridal Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Jaccuzzi.
*Microwave.
Bed Accessible
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Master Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Microwave.
Deluxe Tower
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Minibar service.
Presidential Suite Mountain View
Two Bedrooms 2 King Bed each,Presidential Suite with free:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Living room.
*Kitchen facilities.
*Minibar service.
Executive Floor
King Bed,Non Smoking Room with :
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*30 minutes Relaxing Massage.
*Snacks and free Happy hour.
*Check in and check out and concierge services.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels.
*Courtesy newspaper.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.5 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 21.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 57.1 mi

Dining

Sakura
A Japanese cuisine restaurant, which allows guests to rediscover the personalized experience and choice between succulent seafood, tender chicken, prime steaks and garden vegetables grilled to perfection. Enjoy Sakura's outstanding Sushi bar, featuring a variety of fresh fish and unique twists to traditional sushi rolls.
Tropicala
A relaxing restaurant offering International Latin Fusion cuisine, Tropicala offers the best in Central and South American dishes. Overlooking the hotel's picturesque pool deck, this restaurant offers a tropical and festive atmosphere with Costa Rica flair.
HARD ROCK CAF COSTA RICA
Enjoy the Hard Rock Caf Experience in our onsite Restaurant Bar Open daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KaseyBeth
Business
Champaign, IL
Jul 23, 2012

Bad Experience

When we arrived in San Jose we were taken by taxi to the hotel and our room for Thursday night had already been given away to another guest. The front desk clerk ensured that our room for Friday night was still reserved under our name, but we decided to go to another hotel all together. We chose a hotel that was closer to the airport and ended up having a very good experience at our second choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel often 43
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Apr 15, 2013

Yeah, don't think so!

One day so far and I'm not impressed. The pictures look great but they don't match with the reality. Staff is very friendly but the hotel is dirty dusty and needs a face lift. One of the towels in the room had dark brown stains (I will leave it to your imagination#. The aircon doesn't really work. We have it set to the coldest setting but it is steaming in the room. There is also construction in front of the building #=dust). Food is not great. If you decide to stay here, good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel often 43
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Apr 22, 2013

family vacation/business travel

Overall the hotel needs a face lift. The staff is very friendly and the tour co. in the lobby are great. We use Gateway which had better pricing and the gettleman at the desk was very nice. There several pools you can enjoy which is probably the best part of the hotel and the staff was very friendly. The manager on site was very professional and moved quickly to resolve our issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall with in walking distance that has a supermarket. Just in case you want somethings for the room. But know that there is no minibar in your room. So don't by items that need to be refrigerated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattle Gal
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 26, 2014

Disappointing

The hotel needs to be updated. The carpets are worn and dirty. Everything about the décor and furnishings needs to be updated. My room had a huge brown stain on the white flooring under the bathroom sink. The signage directing guests to the lobby was inaccurate. I have previously stayed in other hotels in San Jose which offered clean, updated accommodations at a far better value. The hotel's best feature was their free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Hard Rock Café less than one block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Speedball
Business
Chicago
Feb 3, 2013

last night in Costa Rica

I had booked this hotel as a treat to myself seeing as I had been staying in places that were very meager while I had been in Costa Rica. I had especially been looking forward to having a/c in my room and using the hot tubs and pool. I got settled in to the room and could not find the control for the a/c unit so I called the front desk who said someone would stop by to get me one. They never showed up. I went to use the hot tub and found it in a very strange spot, right outside the restaurant which was open air and so there was no way you could relax, on top of that the "hot" tub was at best lukewarm. The continental breakfast was good and better than most I've had at hotels but that was little consolation. In addition you cannot get anywhere without having to take a taxi so you cannot walk to restaurants or shopping, etc. For the money I spent this place should have been way better. Save your money and stay at a Hostel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy George
Business
New Jersey
Mar 6, 2013

I expected a good hotel stay

At check in, the gentleman assisting me and my wife, was a little crude...My wife is 20 years my junior... he asked that I complete a form as part of the registration...asked me to sign it and to include my wife's name or whoever my companion was...We found that comment quite insulting... My wife and I went to the restaurant for lunch and the service was very, very slow...for dinner the same... I reserved a room in the Tower of the hotel...I was given a garden room with a view of a concrete wall...and a long distance from the lobby...when I questioned this I was told the hotel was very busy and that all the rooms are the same...I definitely will not go back to this hotel and I am very sorry I used them...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bengebrets
Business
Miami Fl
Aug 30, 2013

Wyndham San Jose

Really awful hotel. Water was off /broken at 5pm when I arrived. Said it would take about an hour to fix. No shower before dinner meeting. Water on at about 3am again. No fan or AC in room. Room very old and worn. Staff seemed not interested in anything. No cash machine in hotel. Bar in lobby not affiliated with Hotel so you can charge drinks to the room. I travel 6 months a year... and am in Costa Rica frequently. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT, USA
Feb 21, 2011

bad food, thin walls

the food in the restaurants was horrible. we ended up going to the McDonalds across the street after we finished our dinner at the Meditterrean restaurant because of our dinner were inedible. the walls are really thin, so you can hear your neighbors talking. we also lost electricity in our room for a short period of time. however, the staff fixed the problem quickly. free internet, free airport shuttle, and nice pools are the perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
esat
Business
newport coast,ca
Mar 8, 2010

poore star hotel

poor service at point of arrival, after waiting for more than 2 hours to get our keys (3.00 pm) we had to drag our luggage to the room on the third floor without lift. ants were in t our room. ac was not working. bathroom was not clean and in old condition. water of the pool was very dirty (poor water quality. beach was very dirty. too many drunk people in the hotel. food was of very bad quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SpoiledByVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Terrible Wi-fi

When it comes to this "type" of hotel in a foreign country, most are pretty similar - American brand, clean and modern (by THAT country's standard), friendly, if ordinary staff, and a decent (free) business center. So how do I judge? Well aside from downgrading if they fall short in any of these areas, I judge their internet. Well, at least in MY room, the internet was virtually non existent. IF I held my phone or laptop above the bathroom sink I could pick up a weak signal. Otherwise I had to leave the room and go to the lobby. In my mind, a dealbreaker. I likely would not stay here again unless they PROMISED to give me a room with a strong signal (and I'd keep moving to find it!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They don't mention it on their online ad, but there is a very nice Hard Rock Cafe located literally across a shared parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top