$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

4 stars
Autopista General Canas, Frente al Mall Real Cariari, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
130 reviews
Family getaway

Excellent! I highly recommend it. The pool was amazing but make sure you avoid raining season! See full review

  • James Lake
  • Jul 22, 2014
Wish for more time

We stayed at this fabulous hotel to be near the airport for an early morning flight. We had stayed... See full review

  • Waotz
  • Jul 3, 2014
Casual luxury hotel in San Jose offers business and leisure services

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits at the heart of Central Valley, with breathtaking views of the mountains surrounding the city. Offering casual, elegant accommodations and a relaxing setting, the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits 5 miles from the airport and minutes from downtown San Jose. The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center provides a free airport shuttle service and guests access to the Cariari Country Club golf course. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet access, as well as business and meeting services.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • 3 outdoor swimming pools, 5 Jacuzzis, full-service spa
  • Free airport shuttle
  • 3 restaurants, bar and casino
  • Free access to adjacent country club, which has a gym, tennis courts and Olympic-sized pool
Rooms

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center features 229 guest rooms and suites in a variety of layouts, all with plush king-size or pairs of queen size beds -- most also boast Jacuzzi tubs. Private terraces overlook exotic floral gardens. In-room amenities include air conditioning, satellite televisions, telephones and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Rooms on the executive floor include added amenities like business services, newspapers and happy-hour cocktails. 24-hour room service is available.

Features

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center has three sparkling outdoor pools and five Jacuzzis where guests can take a dip or relax on a sun chair. The on-site spa offers a full range of massages and body treatments, while the hotel also features a fitness center and offers discounted access to a nearby golf course. Guests receive a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the hotel boasts three restaurants serving Latin, Japanese and Mediterranean cuisines. Complimentary shuttle services connect guests to the airport and to nearby shopping areas.


The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center hosts the largest convention center in the country, making it a popular business hotel. Additional business amenities include free in-room Internet access, an executive lounge with business services, and flexible meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle serves airport and local area
Attractions
  • International Convention Center (On-site)
  • Central Market (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • National Museum (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (23.8 mi/38.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting rooms for up to 1500 people
  • International Convention Center on-site
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe Tower
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Minibar service.
Presidential Suite Mountain View
Two Bedrooms 2 King Bed each,Presidential Suite with free:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Living room.
*Kitchen facilities.
*Minibar service.
Executive Floor
King Bed,Non Smoking Room with :
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*30 minutes Relaxing Massage.
*Snacks and free Happy hour.
*Check in and check out and concierge services.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels.
*Courtesy newspaper.
Junior Suite
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*2 flat screen LCD TV at the bedroom.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels on the living room.
Master Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Microwave.
Standar Room
2 queen beds or 1 king bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Bridal Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Jaccuzzi.
*Microwave.
Bed Accessible
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.5 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 21.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 57.1 mi

Dining

Sakura
A Japanese cuisine restaurant, which allows guests to rediscover the personalized experience and choice between succulent seafood, tender chicken, prime steaks and garden vegetables grilled to perfection. Enjoy Sakura's outstanding Sushi bar, featuring a variety of fresh fish and unique twists to traditional sushi rolls.
Tropicala
A relaxing restaurant offering International Latin Fusion cuisine, Tropicala offers the best in Central and South American dishes. Overlooking the hotel's picturesque pool deck, this restaurant offers a tropical and festive atmosphere with Costa Rica flair.
HARD ROCK CAF COSTA RICA
Enjoy the Hard Rock Caf Experience in our onsite Restaurant Bar Open daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty Kat Mom
Business
Vienna, Virginia
Mar 4, 2014

A Great Hotel

This was an excellent hotel to stay in. We loved the location near the Hard Rock Café. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CathyJo
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Mar 1, 2014

Great stay in Costa Rica

Smooth check-in, relaxing and unbeatable in every way. Beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Japanese Restaurant was a great place for a single traveler to have dinner...at the sushi bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ858
Business
SD
Mar 1, 2014

Good hotel

Great hotel for a San Jose airport destination. About 10 K away from downtown so too far if you want to go into the city during traffic. Nice rooms, very clean and comfortable. Multiple pools 3 restaurants and a casino. The Tropical restaurant had decent food but the service was incredibly slow, even at Costa Rica standards. The waiter was nice just seemed to disappear when we wanted to order drinks or diner. All good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jeffinator
Business
Willits, CA
Feb 28, 2014

Seen better days

The Wyndham seems to be a former five-star hotel that is past its prime. In particular, the bathrooms are dated and tired. Having said that, the overall appearance is still pretty good and the staff is very good and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their Japanese restaurant, Sakura, is top-notch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bestdad777
Business
Asheville, NC
Feb 17, 2014

An interesting experience.

We selected this location for our last 2 nights in Costa Rica. Hotel and location were overall good. Hotel could stand a lot of minor cosmetic maintenance in many areas. Room was in need of more intensive cleaning with floors especially in need of mopping. Quality and variety of included breakfast buffet was good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Verify in advance that restaurants are not closed for special events. On Valentines day only room service, bars with limited menu, or Hard Rock Cafe across the parking lot were available unless you were part of the special events. No mention made at check in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SpoiledByVegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Terrible Wi-fi

When it comes to this "type" of hotel in a foreign country, most are pretty similar - American brand, clean and modern (by THAT country's standard), friendly, if ordinary staff, and a decent (free) business center. So how do I judge? Well aside from downgrading if they fall short in any of these areas, I judge their internet. Well, at least in MY room, the internet was virtually non existent. IF I held my phone or laptop above the bathroom sink I could pick up a weak signal. Otherwise I had to leave the room and go to the lobby. In my mind, a dealbreaker. I likely would not stay here again unless they PROMISED to give me a room with a strong signal (and I'd keep moving to find it!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They don't mention it on their online ad, but there is a very nice Hard Rock Cafe located literally across a shared parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners1022
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 14, 2014

Pretty good, would recommend and stay again

We only stayed on night before having to fly back to the US. Check in was a little slow, but we were promptly offered wake up calls, told when we could get the shuttle to the airport and they offered to have a to-go breakfast ready when we checked out. We walked the grounds which were very well kept and the pools were pretty awesome. On site services and restaurants were nice. There was convenient shopping nearby as well. Bathtub was huge and awesome- both my husband and I fit! Beds were not particularly comfortable... very "springy" as in springs... although bouncy too! Really the beds were the only thing I found lacking, but not enough to knock down the score too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at the hotel was not cheap- take the walking bridge over the highway to the shopping center for more dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esteban Y familia
Business
Long island, NY
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect

We had a great time, Excellent hotel. This was our second time staying at the Wyndham Herradura and we will stay there again when we return to Costa Rica. Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Tourists
Business
Reno, Nevada
Dec 21, 2013

One Night In San Jose CR

Very professional Desk Clerk "Carolina" provides first class service, but all employees were professional, friendly, bilingual, & top-notch. The hotel is very difficult to get to in heavy traffic at night, but has an effective shuttle to the airport @5 am. I can't say enough good things about the efficient staff at this hotel, WOW! They know what you want before you ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is close to airport, Applebee's, McDonald's, supermarket, Alamo car rental inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My Hotel Stay
Business
Sacramento, California
Dec 9, 2013

Real Good Stay

My flight arrived real early and the hotel checked me in at 7:30am. I was able to rest and have a great breakfast in time to accomplish the rest of the day's business activities. The staff was awesome, very attentive and pleasant. my only observation is the hotel could use an update in the rooms and common areas. Otherwise, it was clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top