$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

4 stars
View map of Autopista General Canas, Frente al Mall Real Cariari, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Purduegrad97
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC
Sep 2, 2014

Meh . . .

The lobby has been nicely updated, our room (3300) however, was very dated. There was also a strong musty smell in the room. The complimentary breakfast was very nice, in a lovely semi-outdoor area by the large pool. Complimentary shuttle to the airport was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe food was unremarkable and incredibly overpriced. Shrimp fajitas offer 6 shrimp the size of quarters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scottywaddydodo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 16, 2014

Not a bad place to stay...but you have to pay for comfort.

Stayed at this hotel as apart of a package deal. My first impression was that it was very presentable, beautiful lobby with all one could ask for. A part of my package was free breakfast which I have to say was fantastic. Many of the staff speak English and those who don't try to make an attempt. Rooms: all I can say is that you get what you pay for. Wound up upgrading the room which cost us an extra $168 dollars per night but received a larger room that suited our needs. TV: had four stations for news (Miami) which kept us in touch with the US. Guards surround the hotel to keep you safe. Restaurants: Hard Rock Cafe was the best, had live entertainment. The other hotel restaurants had ok food, Ten dollars for a sandwich, twenty for a hot entree, but this is the case with the country in general. Locals pay less for attractions than visitors but such is life, right? Very nice stay all in all, will probably go back again. Upgrade your room if you want something a bit nicer, the maid service was fantastic. Had our room cleaned while we went to breakfast. Has accommodations for business and a Casino, bar and pool tables for entertainment. Was forewarned to stay away from City during the evening because it was not safe. Great place, not sure I would give them four stars though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock and a nice steak house next door in walking distance. American owned.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James Lake
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Jul 22, 2014

Family getaway

Excellent! I highly recommend it. The pool was amazing but make sure you avoid raining season!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Everest2011
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 11, 2014

Great Stay Before a Flight

This hotel is clean, comfortable, roomy, and close to a big souvenir store and ordinary mall. It was perfect for an overnight stay before catching a flight. The lobby is very elegant and nice. The room seems a bit older but the bed and beddings were so comfortable, and the bathroom is nice. There's even an extra closet with a safe. The room was clean and the staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. The Hard Rock is literally next door if you're looking for American fare. Would definitely stay here again. Unfortunately our flight was so early that we missed the breakfast that was included in our hotel bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a huge souvenir store a couple blocks from the hotel. They seem to have everything there at decent prices. The mall across the street is your typical mall; nothing eccentric to CR.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn Jack
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jul 6, 2014

Great place to stop over

Property insides and staff are A-1, but it is a pearl in an otherwise not-so-pearl environment. This Wyndham in a ways from the center of San Jose. Poor road signage and very hectic traffic (coming from a guy who is/was not shy driving in NYC and Boston), I'd hate to see what I didn't get to see. Property is near southbound Pan American highway; it took us at least 30 minutes to find our way over to the northbound side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Quattro restaurant had very good food (quality and price) and very good staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waotz
Business
San Jose CoSt Rica
Jul 3, 2014

Wish for more time

We stayed at this fabulous hotel to be near the airport for an early morning flight. We had stayed at another Wyndham for five days prior to this stay. I went into the casino and won $167 in little over an hour playing one on one blackjack and hi lo with the dealer. Met some wonderful people and will stay here on returning many times to the most beautiful country in the world and most peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Gamble one on one with the dealers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siline The Birthday Girl
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Jun 26, 2014

Birthday Getaway

Total relaxation, peaceful and quite. Got a surprise on my birthday after I returned to my room, there was a tray sitting on the table with a bottle of champagne, hor d' oeuvres along with birthday wishes from the management. Aaawwwsome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Emerald factory, gorgeous emerald stones. Take plenty of cash

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryszard
Business
Lodz, Poland
Jun 3, 2014

good place to stay

This is very good value for the price you pay. It is a bit too far from the centre of the city and price of taxis is high (20-25 USD). However, there is a public bus (0.5 USD). Rooms are comfortable adn breakfasts great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Casino inside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MerSol diver
Business
DC
May 29, 2014

Clean, well-maintained, good service, nice breakfast

Helpful staff and reasonable rates are the best features. The spa treatments are good. Facial was fantastic. The buffet breakfast was better than expected with several offerings of local fare, usual eggs, nice fruit. The room was clean, but dated, comfortable enough and new sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard rock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJ858
Business
SD
May 21, 2014

Whyndam San Jose CR

I have stayed at the Whyndam San Jose Costa Rica twice. First stay I received a very nice room with oversized tub and renovated room. I was very happy. My last stay May 18th I received a very disappointing room, way below Whyndam standards. Although very clean the room was incredibly outdated. The rest of the hotel is nice. I was also disappointed in the Tropical restaurant which serves room service. I called a number of times near 5:00pm with no answer. I proceeded to walk to the restaurant, saw one employee that looked at me waiting at the hostess pedestal. He looked at me and left, never to return. I promptly walked across the parking lot to the Hard Rock where I was treated very nicely. The earlier stay I had my two young kids and the pool was great.Hotel staff is friendly and the shuttle service is great. Was disappointed in the room and the Tropical restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I heard from my Costa Rican distributer the sushi bar inside the hotel (Sakura) is the best in San Jose. I was by myself so passed on the restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top