$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

4 stars
View map of Autopista General Canas, Frente al Mall Real Cariari, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 2, 2011

Close to the airport

Nice, clean, comfortable hotel. We rented a car and drove to Arenal and Puerto Viejo. Would not recommend staying at this hotel if you are planning to visit other parts of the country. Too far. Breakfast was good and omelets and waffles were excellent. Room service was good and reasonable. The three pools were beautiful, but it never got warm enough to swim. Cab to shopping and downtown was $20 each way. Nice mall across street. Bellmen [...] were very helpful. Be careful renting cars. You are quoted one price on line if you reserve and are charged double when you get there and they add on the mandatory Costa Rica insurance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market place in downtown San Jose has many souviners. Bargain for best price. There was also a resteraunt that was a block away. Good food but expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, costa rica
Dec 16, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 14, 2010

Excellent Family Spot

The staff was helpful and accomodating. The service was high quality yet affordable. We were vacationing with our newly adult (18-21) year old children and the place was perfect. The hotel staff arranged day tours for us, and even helped us work on our Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marathon, Florida
Dec 4, 2010

Nice digs

Very nice restful place. Awesome bed and bedding. Views around hotel very pleasant. Food in restaurants was very good. Wifi has nice strong signal. Not central to much of anything but a great place to stay. Shuttle to airport was very convenient and right on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Nov 22, 2010

Convenient Location

This is a good hotel. Good value for the price. Excellent restaurants. It's main advantage is that is is close to the airport with a reliable shuttle bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gloria Cedeno
Business
Ramana in San Jose Costa Rica
Oct 25, 2010

The best

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wonderful, employees very friendly I recommed this hotel to anybody who book a vacation in Costa Rica

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali Buckeye
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 24, 2010

Accomodating spot close to SJO

This is a nice spot, especially for the price. Only complaint was that we didn't get to stay long enough (got in late and had to leave early the next morning). That and the AC was not working for some reason. The grounds are impressive with lots going on. Very helpful staff as well. Seemed clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the hibachi grill--not bad!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g-mom
Business
valrico, fl
Aug 3, 2010

fantastic vacation

from the time we arrived to the time we left everyone went above and beyond to be sure we had everything we needed, from opening car doors to that extra cup of coffee in the morning. breakfast was amazing. nothing nicer than sitting by the pool in the open air eating breakfast. rooms were large and kept impeccably clean. next time we go to costa rica, will definitely stay at ramada herradura.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel offered shuttle service and tours. mall right across the street. would rent a car next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
White Water Rafter
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 30, 2010

I keep coming back!

I keep coming back to this hotel bc of the friendly staff, the free breakfast buffet deal, free internet, and its location. Ramada is only about 10 minutes to the airport and the shuttle service is free. The hotel has two nice swimming pools but sadly rarely used, I think in part bc one has to travel through the Tropigala Restaurant to get to the pool area. The other reason is that we are in the rainy season and with rain, folks don't want to take a dip. The hotel boasts a car rental Agency (Alamo) and a tour company on site. My room was on the 4th floor and very roomy with a nice king size bed. The room contained a mini bar which I didn't use and a nice marble-like bathroom. It contained a safe which you put your own code. The Fitness Center was recently renovated and quite small but adequate. They sure could put a TV in there to enjoy while exercising. I love the Mediterranean Restaurant Tirrenia where the food is not that bad. They had a Tapas night on Thursday with all you can drink wine. I also liked the Sakura Japanese Restaurant with fresh, tasty food but the wait service is bad. I had to firmly reprimand my waiter for taking 10 minutes to take my food order. He apologized and gave some sorry excuse but I was hungry and bc i was seated in some remote corner, I felt forgotten. This is the second time this has happened upon my visiting this restaurant. About one block from the hotel is Antonio's Italian restaurant. This restaurant might be closing bc the brand new mall across the street has taken most of their business. The food was ok. The mall across the street has a movie theater and many shops and food eateries. The evenings are relaxing at the piano bar and it is just a few feet from the Fiesta Casino which I really didn't care for as I am not a gambler but they had slot machines, craps, poker, etc...and quite busy/noisy. The breakfast buffet is a nice deal for the price. All kinds of foods including an egg station and typical Costa Rican food is also served. Overall, I love this hotel. I did a Pacuare River tour for white water rafting which is the principal reason why I came here. As our bus picked up guests at the various hotels throughout the busy city, I was glad that the Ramada is far away from the noise and hustle bustle of the city. I will definitely be coming back over and over again. Nothing to complain about and you'll love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I recommend for the adventurous people to white water raft at Pacuare River. It is a good 3 hour drive from the hotel but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach
Jul 10, 2010

Hotel Stay

There were 2 things that prevented this from being 5 star. In an effort to conserve water they have sensors in the wash room sink. The sensors are not very accurate and stop working intermittently. Also the water either came out too little or splashed to much so this was a challenge. Also there was not enough shelf/ table space to put belongings or in the morning to place the coffee maker to make coffee so we had to use chairs or the floor. Other than those 2 minor details this is a wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We found out that the Hotel restaurants where we stayed are excellant and reasonable. The wait staff was very friendly and accomodating and the food was great. We did get ripped off twice at restaurants in San Jose that were "Typical Local" food fare places-where the locals dine. Turns out when a tourist goes to these places they jack up the prices 10 fold and if you are not warned they will rip you off. Keep track of menu prices and make your own calculations when dining alone without a local resident and make sure to ask for prices in dollars BEFORE you order. Also you will be asked to have add-ons to your meal that are not on the menu such as "how about I add some ham and mozzarela cheese to that plate"? Well ask how much more that plate will now cost because they could easily blind side you with another $20-$30. Also be aware the bill already comes with the tip.You can be lulled into thinking you are Ok since they will treat you in a very friendly and warm manner- but when the bill comes you quickly learn you are just another $$$ tourist trapped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top