$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

4 stars
Autopista General Canas, Frente al Mall Real Cariari, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
114 reviews
Great stay in Costa Rica

Smooth check-in, relaxing and unbeatable in every way. Beautiful place. See full review

  • CathyJo
  • Mar 1, 2014
Perfect

We had a great time, Excellent hotel. This was our second time staying at the Wyndham Herradura and... See full review

  • Esteban Y familia
  • Jan 2, 2014
Casual luxury hotel in San Jose offers business and leisure services

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits at the heart of Central Valley, with breathtaking views of the mountains surrounding the city. Offering casual, elegant accommodations and a relaxing setting, the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center sits 5 miles from the airport and minutes from downtown San Jose. The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center provides a free airport shuttle service and guests access to the Cariari Country Club golf course. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet access, as well as business and meeting services.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • 3 outdoor swimming pools, 5 Jacuzzis, full-service spa
  • Free airport shuttle
  • 3 restaurants, bar and casino
  • Free access to adjacent country club, which has a gym, tennis courts and Olympic-sized pool
Rooms

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center features 229 guest rooms and suites in a variety of layouts, all with plush king-size or pairs of queen size beds -- most also boast Jacuzzi tubs. Private terraces overlook exotic floral gardens. In-room amenities include air conditioning, satellite televisions, telephones and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Rooms on the executive floor include added amenities like business services, newspapers and happy-hour cocktails. 24-hour room service is available.

Features

The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center has three sparkling outdoor pools and five Jacuzzis where guests can take a dip or relax on a sun chair. The on-site spa offers a full range of massages and body treatments, while the hotel also features a fitness center and offers discounted access to a nearby golf course. Guests receive a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the hotel boasts three restaurants serving Latin, Japanese and Mediterranean cuisines. Complimentary shuttle services connect guests to the airport and to nearby shopping areas.


The Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center hosts the largest convention center in the country, making it a popular business hotel. Additional business amenities include free in-room Internet access, an executive lounge with business services, and flexible meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle serves airport and local area
Attractions
  • International Convention Center (On-site)
  • Central Market (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • National Museum (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (23.8 mi/38.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Flexible meeting rooms for up to 1500 people
  • International Convention Center on-site
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Rooms

Junior Suite
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*2 flat screen LCD TV at the bedroom.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels on the living room.
Standar Room
2 queen beds or 1 king bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Bridal Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Jaccuzzi.
*Microwave.
Bed Accessible
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
Master Suite
1 King Bed Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Microwave.
Deluxe Tower
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Room with:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Minibar service.
Presidential Suite Mountain View
Two Bedrooms 2 King Bed each,Presidential Suite with free:
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*Desk.
*Safe iron and ironig board.
*Hot tub.
*Sauna.
*Living room.
*Kitchen facilities.
*Minibar service.
Executive Floor
King Bed,Non Smoking Room with :
*Free WiFi.
*Free hot buffet breakfast.
*30 minutes Relaxing Massage.
*Snacks and free Happy hour.
*Check in and check out and concierge services.
*32 flat screen LCD TV with 98 channels.
*Courtesy newspaper.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

9.9788 -84.1607
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport
Area description
The Wyndham San Jose Herradura is nestled in the heart of Central Valley, overlooking a breathtaking backdrop of beautiful mountains and lush tropical gardens. With a staff committed to daily incomparable service, we encourage you to kickback and relax. Stay at Wyndham San Jose Herradura and let your worldly worries slip away, all while sitting in the breeze under a palm tree.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.3 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 5.1 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 6.1 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 6.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 6.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 6.5 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 6.5 mi
  • National Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 6.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 6.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 6.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.5 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 21.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 57.1 mi

Dining

Sakura
A Japanese cuisine restaurant, which allows guests to rediscover the personalized experience and choice between succulent seafood, tender chicken, prime steaks and garden vegetables grilled to perfection. Enjoy Sakura's outstanding Sushi bar, featuring a variety of fresh fish and unique twists to traditional sushi rolls.
Tropicala
A relaxing restaurant offering International Latin Fusion cuisine, Tropicala offers the best in Central and South American dishes. Overlooking the hotel's picturesque pool deck, this restaurant offers a tropical and festive atmosphere with Costa Rica flair.
HARD ROCK CAF COSTA RICA
Enjoy the Hard Rock Caf Experience in our onsite Restaurant Bar Open daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Overall score

4 / 5
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Marin county,CA
Feb 10, 2010

Ramada---San Jose

Good service. Good value. Airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Chevylove69
Monte Vista, CO
Jan 25, 2010

Great time in Costa Rica

We stayed for a full week. They accomodated us for early check in. All in all staff was super friendly and the experience was excellent! Oh and don't try driving yourself around! I am so glad that we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pay the tax charge for leaving Costa Rica at the hotel. It saves you from long lines at the airport! However, don't wait until the morning you leave cause you can't pay at the front desk.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Edmonton, AB Canada
Jan 24, 2010

Overall Great Hotel

I thought that this hotel was very good. It was a little rough around the edges but was clean and the staff was great despite some communication issues. Little things like missing trim and broken light floating in pool and getting charged twice as much for hotel taxi was upsetting but overall not a bad place for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out front gate and flag a red taxi and it will be half the price as taxi arranged by bell staff.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
Shank100
Thibodaux, La
Jan 3, 2010

Great Hotel

I always make it a point to stay at the this hotel on the day I arrive and the day I before i leave San Jose. The staff is very professional and I feel like I know them well. They are very intuitive about my needs and I will definitely stay there again soon. I also like the fact that much of the food is growned on the property organicly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel taxis charge twice the going rate. Walk to the front of the property and take a regular taxi.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Fairbanks, Alaska
Jan 2, 2010

Great Location, Fantastic Staff

The location of this hotel is perfect. Close to the airport, across the road from a mall with a grocery, lessw than a block from a great Italian restaurant and in a very nice and safe neighborhood. My family tooks walks around this place several times and never had any worries. We stayed here on three different occasions in between jaunts to other parts of Costa Rica. The staff are typical Ticos in that they are very friendly and make sure you enjoy your stay. The hotel is clean, quiet and beautifully landscaped. The pools and restaurants were great. We would most definetly stay there again and again. I can't say enough about the staff. Beyond helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
Shank100
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Dec 28, 2009

It is like home!!!!!!.

I really like this hotel. I like the staff. Everyone is very friendly. I really feel at home. They make sure you are safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 7, 2009

Nice overnight stay

My husband, daughter, parents, and I stayed only one evening prior to our flight back to the States. Our initial rooms were beautiful...top floor of the tower with beautiful views of the city/valley, adjoining...everything we wanted/expected. Unfortunately, there was an event taking place in the banquet room right above us...loud, bass-note, dance music that we found out would last from 6 p.m. - 12 p.m....unacceptable for those of us who wanted to get a good night's rest (and my daughter was running a fever). Staff was very helpful and pleasant. They moved us to two junior suite rooms but we couldn't get discounted price since our room was pre-purchased [...]. Wonderful buffet breakfast included in rate. I'd recommend it but be careful of weekend evenings and room choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
CT
Nov 13, 2009

Fabulous Vacation

Very nice hotel for a great price. People were very friendly. Did not like how you had to pay on a per person base rather than a per room rate. Food was great, breakfast fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York City
Nov 12, 2009

Great location for rest and comfort

Could not ask for more space, spent most of my time alone by the poolside reading and resting with no interruption. Peaceful hotel to get away from everything. During the night I enjoyed the casino and watched the Yankees win the world series. Free shuttle to and from the airport and the buffet was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed two evening eating at Tirrenia, a cusine art experience, great food, quiet environment and pleasant staff.

Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Edmonton, AB Canada
Oct 21, 2009

Great night stay

Very comforting and had a restful night sleep. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top