$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
View map of 3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
26 reviews
beautiful costa rica

great hotel,great breakfast and excellent location. See full review

  • Op. boricua
  • Jan 7, 2015
Had a major issue, feel like Management could of "fixed" the issue

Was locked out of our room one night and no one could get the door to open. We were placed in... See full review

  • Savo
  • Aug 21, 2014
Tryp San Jose Sabana features spacious and cozy accommodations suitable for business and leisure travelers visiting the vibrant Costa Rica capital. This San Jose hotel places holidaymakers close to must-visit local attractions like Museum of Costa Rican Art, Spirogyra Butterfly Garden, Sabana Park and Estadio Nacional. Vacationers work out at the fitness center with cardiovascular equipment weights and yoga ball. Visitors sample authentic local cuisines like Mediterranean tapas while having a sip of signature drinks at Gastro Bar. The hotel also offers an executive room and five flexible meeting spaces with up-to-date audio-visual equipment. Accessible facilities, parking, gift shop, airport shuttle (fees apply), laundry service as well as Wi-Fi access throughout the property are also available for added convenience.
Rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana offers 104 spacious rooms and suites equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, alarm clock, IPod docking station, digital safe, radio, coffee machine, hairdryer and en suite bathroom. Some units have a treadmill and beautiful views of the city or Central Valley.
Highlights
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Gastro Bar serving Mediterranean tapas at 
  • Six meeting rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sabana Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Estadio Nacional (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Costa Rica National Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • La Salle Natural Science Museum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Mercado Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Jose Parque Central (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • San Jose Cathedral (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Gold Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tryp San Jose Sabana also booked these hotels.

★★★
$67
3.6 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$78
4.0 / 5 88 reviews
★★★★
$61
4.0 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$69
3.7 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$75
5.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$60
3.0 / 5 7 reviews
★★★★
$73
4.1 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$48
4.0 / 5 3 reviews

Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms

Tryp Standard
Tryp Standard Queen offers One Queen Bed or Two queen beds along with:
  • air conditioning,
  • bathroom amenities,
  • disabled facilities,
  • ensuite / private bathroom,
  • hairdryer,
  • heating,
  • internet access,
  • iron / ironing board,
  • laundry service,
  • non-smoking rooms,
  • pay-per-view movies,
  • radio,
  • room service,
  • mini bar,
  • telephone and voicemail,
  • desk,
  • cable television with 37" LCD screen TV,
  • digital safe,
  • coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee,
  • alarm clock with Ipod dock,
  • free local and international calls (to land lines),
  • and high speed wireless internet.
  • Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
  • Premium King
    One king size bed, one sofa bed, panoramic view of the city and the mountains of the Central Valley,>
  • bath with shower,
  • air conditioning,
  • desk,
  • cable television with 50" LCD screen,
  • digital safe,
  • iPod dock,
  • mini bar,
  • coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee,
  • iron and ironing board,
  • hairdryer,
  • free of charge local and international calls (to land lines),
  • high speed wireless internet.
  • Premium Double
    Two Full size beds, one sofa bed,>
  • breakfast area with two seats,
  • microwave oven,
  • small refrigerator,
  • plates, glasses and cutlery,
  • mini bar,
  • bath with shower,
  • air conditioning,
  • desk,
  • cable television with 37" LCD screen,
  • digital safe,
  • iPod dock,
  • coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee,
  • iron and ironing board,
  • hairdryer,
  • free of charge local and international calls (to land lines)
  • high speed wireless internet
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Fitness center or spa
    Casino
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Transportation
    Airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
    • National Theater: 1.4 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
    • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
    • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
    • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
    • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
    • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
    • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
    • National Theater: 1.4 mi
    • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
    • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
    • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
    • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
    • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
    • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
    • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
    • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
    • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
    • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
    • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
    • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.4 mi
    • Chirripo National Park: 51.8 mi

    Dining

    Gastro Bar & Restaurant
    The refine use of glass, wood and color gives the Gastro Bar at 38th Street the perfect ambiance for a chic lobby bar and restaurant. The menu features Costa Rican regional dishes with a touch of flavour, exotic ingredients plus a menu of spectacular signature drinks and "tapas", all creating the perfect balance of the clasic and exotic. Our eclectic list of select wines perfectly compliments an impressive variety of dishes from hot entrees to cold seafood, meats, desserts, local tropical fruits, all creating a culinary journey.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Overall score

    3.6 / 5
    5.01.0
    7 out of 26
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    3.1
    Value:
    3.9

    86% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Alohasandy
    Family
    Malibu, CA
    Jun 7, 2014

    Overnight stay

    Tryp was a great hotel. Unfortunately we got there at 630 am, so are rooms were not ready. But the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We would stay again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Soda tapia had great food and ambiance of a diner.

    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Kyoshi7
    Family
    Orange County, CA
    Aug 12, 2013

    Very enjoyable stay

    The hotel is very clean and comfortable. the room was a little on the small side, but we were only there to sleep. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a great view of the city. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a restaurant in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    TTFNCOP
    Family
    Las Vegas NV
    Jul 8, 2013

    DISCLOSURE! Disco/Club under hotel HORRIBLE

    I was so excited to stay here because of the restraunt! and the food was good. We needed a rest before heading to airport as our flight left at 6am. Planned on a sleep from 9pm to 3 am, 10pm 1hr into sleep on the 6th floor the club under the hotel was out of control!!!!! dont stay here. i could see people parting on our stair wells , smoking and drinking, cars racing up and down street. NO REST. we left at 330 am and still the BOOM BOOM BOOM from the club. I complained to check out manager and she said ("it's not part of our hotel", "not our Problem") i then replied" the club is attached to your hotel it is your problem") I am so sorry to my other friends i talked into staying here.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Nightlife tip: In Hotel

    if you are in your 20's and dont sleep stay at the TRYP

    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    What did you say
    Family
    Florida
    Jun 11, 2013

    Great Vacation

    The rooms were great, staff was very helpful, breakfast was complete will everything one could have for breakfast.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    SMRM
    Family
    NH
    Aug 14, 2012

    Great place to stay

    Great place overall; very convenient location; nice walks around; The only problem was the internet would work off and on. Recommend

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    BigBoy1
    Family
    Bristow, VA
    Apr 22, 2012

    Results of Stay at Tryp

    My stay was AWESOME!! I was in the center of it all, such as, city bus pick-up, stores, and restaurants. The food was outstanding, and we eat there every night. My dad is a chef, so I appreciate food and know good food when I have it. I wish Tryp had free shuttle services to and from the airport instead of paying $24 one way. In addition, the room was a little smaller than what was shown on the website. Overall, I was satisfied and glad I stayed at Tryp. Thanks

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Outstanding Rib Eye steak, and fish meals. The bread was great as well. Excellent Food!!!!

    Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Biju
    Family
    Boston, MA, USA
    Apr 19, 2012

    good palce to stay, value for the money

    Overall stay was ok; rooms are clean and average size with 2 queen beds; we had a great city view from the room. Breakfast was crowded 1 day, when there were lot of tourists were in the hotel (Friday). Although, the deal said free international calls, i was not able to make a single call to US or any other countries during my 6 nights stay there. They said it is some software issue, but was never corrected. I didn't have time to be on cal lwith them every day to track this, so found other ways to make calls.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Back to menu Return to top