$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
25 reviews
Had a major issue, feel like Management could of "fixed" the issue

Was locked out of our room one night and no one could get the door to open. We were placed in... See full review

  • Savo
  • Aug 21, 2014
Good hotel....

In a good location. Large clean rooms and helpful English speaking staff. See full review

  • Trish8
  • Dec 19, 2014
Minimalist comforts in a convenient San Jose location
Tryp San Jose Sabana features spacious and cozy accommodations suitable for business and leisure travelers visiting the vibrant Costa Rica capital. This San Jose hotel places holidaymakers close to must-visit local attractions like Museum of Costa Rican Art, Spirogyra Butterfly Garden, Sabana Park and Estadio Nacional. Vacationers work out at the fitness center with cardiovascular equipment weights and yoga ball. Visitors sample authentic local cuisines like Mediterranean tapas while having a sip of signature drinks at Gastro Bar. The hotel also offers an executive room and five flexible meeting spaces with up-to-date audio-visual equipment. Accessible facilities, parking, gift shop, airport shuttle (fees apply), laundry service as well as Wi-Fi access throughout the property are also available for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Gastro Bar serving Mediterranean tapas at 
  • Six meeting rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana offers 104 spacious rooms and suites equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, alarm clock, IPod docking station, digital safe, radio, coffee machine, hairdryer and en suite bathroom. Some units have a treadmill and beautiful views of the city or Central Valley.
Things to Do
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sabana Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Estadio Nacional (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Costa Rica National Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • La Salle Natural Science Museum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Mercado Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Jose Parque Central (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • San Jose Cathedral (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Gold Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tryp San Jose Sabana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms

Tryp Queen
Tryp Queen offers One Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp King
Tryp King offers One King Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp Double
Tryp Double offers Two Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Premium King
One king size bed, one sofa bed, panoramic view of the city and the mountains of the Central Valley, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 50" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet.
Premium Double
Two Full size beds, one sofa bed, breakfast area with two seats, microwave oven, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, and cutlery, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.8 mi

Dining

Gastro Bar & Restaurant
The refine use of glass, wood and color gives the Gastro Bar at 38th Street the perfect ambiance for a chic lobby bar and restaurant. The menu features Costa Rican regional dishes with a touch of flavour, exotic ingredients plus a menu of spectacular signature drinks and "tapas", all creating the perfect balance of the clasic and exotic. Our eclectic list of select wines perfectly compliments an impressive variety of dishes from hot entrees to cold seafood, meats, desserts, local tropical fruits, all creating a culinary journey.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 25
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savo
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Aug 21, 2014

Had a major issue, feel like Management could of "fixed" the issue

Was locked out of our room one night and no one could get the door to open. We were placed in another room for the night (without any of our bags, clothes toothbrushes etc) It wasn't until we reached out to the hotel that they decided to refund our money. I feel like that should have been a first resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne T.
Business
Lehigh, Florida
Aug 14, 2014

Walk to everything

I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff are the greatest, wonderful people, felt like home. One complaint, even on 8th floor traffic noise could be a bit much at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Savo
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jul 13, 2014

Worst Hotel Ever

Nice clean room. After dinner we tried coming back to the room and it was locked. The entire hotel and security could not figure out how to open our room. They made us spend the night in an entirely different room without any of our items. We could not brush our teeth or even change our clothes as they were locked in another room. The manager would not even get us a tooth brush. The management was absolutely horrible. Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackTw
Business
Mexico
Oct 29, 2012

Very nice hotel

Great stay, the hotel is very close to downtown. rooms are comfortable, nice music in the bar, Food is excellent, staff in restaurant very helpful and friendly Marcello & Jeffrey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler from U.S.A.
Business
Virginia
Oct 22, 2012

Very outdated and over rated hotel in DANGER part of town

The hotel is located in a very unsafe area. And there are nothing around, Need taxi for everything. When I check in at about 11 pm. I had to ask one of the hotel guard to walk with me to a outside food place 2 blocks away to get a carry out and I am a man. The hotel has no service after 10 pm. The room was very dated, carpet old and stained, bad odor in the room. and the Bathroom....Yeakkkk. As of October, the hotel is going some kind of major repair. Not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I checked out as soon as I could and check in the Holiday Inn in downtown, which is 100% better hotel in all aspect for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ellie Mae
Business
Florida
May 11, 2012

elegant,friendly and very clean.

I found this hotel to be one of the cleanest that I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in quite a few. The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. It has a nice restaurant and the complimentary breakfast is delicious. The free international calls were a great help too. You can keep fit is the workout room and have a flutter in the casino! It is located beside a large park and is within walking distance of downtown. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR Traveler
Business
Mexico
Mar 7, 2012

Costa Rica Business Traveler

This was a business trip and really amazed of the hotel, we have all the amenities including wireless internet, breakfast and ALL CALLS INCLUDING INTERNATIONAL FREE!!. the Food is excellent and location can not be better, very friendly staff. i have to come back, is a very convenient place to stay for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Narayan79
Business
Delray Beach, FL, EEUU
Feb 5, 2012

TRYP HOTEL

It was a very pleasent stay, the food was great, great location, theres a park to walk or jog if you like to excersi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Theres a restaurant about 3 blokcs east of the Hotel called Rostipollos real good food and good price too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top