$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
View map of 3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
28 reviews
beautiful costa rica

great hotel,great breakfast and excellent location. See full review

  • Op. boricua
  • Jan 7, 2015
Had a major issue, feel like Management could of "fixed" the issue

Was locked out of our room one night and no one could get the door to open. We were placed in... See full review

  • Savo
  • Aug 21, 2014
Minimalist comforts in a convenient San Jose location
Tryp San Jose Sabana features spacious and cozy accommodations suitable for business and leisure travelers visiting the vibrant Costa Rica capital. This San Jose hotel places holidaymakers close to must-visit local attractions like Museum of Costa Rican Art, Spirogyra Butterfly Garden, Sabana Park and Estadio Nacional. Vacationers work out at the fitness center with cardiovascular equipment weights and yoga ball. Visitors sample authentic local cuisines like Mediterranean tapas while having a sip of signature drinks at Gastro Bar. The hotel also offers an executive room and five flexible meeting spaces with up-to-date audio-visual equipment. Accessible facilities, parking, gift shop, airport shuttle (fees apply), laundry service as well as Wi-Fi access throughout the property are also available for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Gastro Bar serving Mediterranean tapas at 
  • Six meeting rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana offers 104 spacious rooms and suites equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, alarm clock, IPod docking station, digital safe, radio, coffee machine, hairdryer and en suite bathroom. Some units have a treadmill and beautiful views of the city or Central Valley.
Things to Do
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sabana Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Estadio Nacional (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Costa Rica National Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • La Salle Natural Science Museum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Mercado Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Jose Parque Central (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • San Jose Cathedral (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Gold Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tryp San Jose Sabana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms

Tryp Queen
Tryp Queen offers One Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp King
Tryp King offers One King Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp Double
Tryp Double offers Two Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Premium King
One king size bed, one sofa bed, panoramic view of the city and the mountains of the Central Valley, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 50" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet.
Premium Double
Two Full size beds, one sofa bed, breakfast area with two seats, microwave oven, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, and cutlery, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.8 mi

Dining

Gastro Bar & Restaurant
The refine use of glass, wood and color gives the Gastro Bar at 38th Street the perfect ambiance for a chic lobby bar and restaurant. The menu features Costa Rican regional dishes with a touch of flavour, exotic ingredients plus a menu of spectacular signature drinks and "tapas", all creating the perfect balance of the clasic and exotic. Our eclectic list of select wines perfectly compliments an impressive variety of dishes from hot entrees to cold seafood, meats, desserts, local tropical fruits, all creating a culinary journey.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary little traveler
Kelseyville, ca
Oct 31, 2013

Fine would stay again

Nice, friendly staff, clean and comfortable restaurant. They do not provide wash clothes and hand towels, you must call and request. We would stay again, if we needed to stay in San Jose. This is not a luxury hotel for a vacation but a business person or someone needing to stay in San Jose would stay at. The staff's English is very good which is important for those who don't speak Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary little traveler
Business
Kelseyville, ca
Oct 31, 2013

Fine would stay again

Nice, friendly staff, clean and comfortable restaurant. They do not provide wash clothes and hand towels, you must call and request. We would stay again, if we needed to stay in San Jose. This is not a luxury hotel for a vacation but a business person or someone needing to stay in San Jose would stay at. The staff's English is very good which is important for those who don't speak Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyoshi7
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 12, 2013

Very enjoyable stay

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. the room was a little on the small side, but we were only there to sleep. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a great view of the city. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a restaurant in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TTFNCOP
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jul 8, 2013

DISCLOSURE! Disco/Club under hotel HORRIBLE

I was so excited to stay here because of the restraunt! and the food was good. We needed a rest before heading to airport as our flight left at 6am. Planned on a sleep from 9pm to 3 am, 10pm 1hr into sleep on the 6th floor the club under the hotel was out of control!!!!! dont stay here. i could see people parting on our stair wells , smoking and drinking, cars racing up and down street. NO REST. we left at 330 am and still the BOOM BOOM BOOM from the club. I complained to check out manager and she said ("it's not part of our hotel", "not our Problem") i then replied" the club is attached to your hotel it is your problem") I am so sorry to my other friends i talked into staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

if you are in your 20's and dont sleep stay at the TRYP

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What did you say
Business
Florida
Jun 11, 2013

Great Vacation

The rooms were great, staff was very helpful, breakfast was complete will everything one could have for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Traveler Nicaragua
Business
Managua, Nicaragua
Apr 2, 2013

Great value and comfortable stay!

I was so impressed with this hotel. They have free calls to anywhere in the world and the bar/restaurant had amazing food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Elwan
Business
Cairo Egypt
Dec 4, 2012

I loved it

very friendly, staff couldn't be more helpful. lovely room, nice breakfast, very convenient .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackTw
Business
Mexico
Oct 29, 2012

Very nice hotel

Great stay, the hotel is very close to downtown. rooms are comfortable, nice music in the bar, Food is excellent, staff in restaurant very helpful and friendly Marcello & Jeffrey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler from U.S.A.
Business
Virginia
Oct 22, 2012

Very outdated and over rated hotel in DANGER part of town

The hotel is located in a very unsafe area. And there are nothing around, Need taxi for everything. When I check in at about 11 pm. I had to ask one of the hotel guard to walk with me to a outside food place 2 blocks away to get a carry out and I am a man. The hotel has no service after 10 pm. The room was very dated, carpet old and stained, bad odor in the room. and the Bathroom....Yeakkkk. As of October, the hotel is going some kind of major repair. Not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I checked out as soon as I could and check in the Holiday Inn in downtown, which is 100% better hotel in all aspect for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James6
Business
St. Petersburg, Fl.
Oct 17, 2012

4 day weekend

Large clean room, wonderful breakfast, busy street with truck noise, but acceptable. a 8min taxi ride $4 to center of town. Shower no bath. No pool. Great reception staff who helped make reservations for interesting road trips away from the city to ECO sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Poas volcano more interesting than Arenal volcano. Poas you can see lava and smoke. Aerial tram is exciting in Braulio Carillo National Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chilillo
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 25, 2012

Great Location

The hotel was execellent. Perfect location, amazing breakfast and great view of San Jose from my room. I recoment this hotel for families as well as single individuals. Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location to the National stadium as well as down town San jose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top