$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
View map of 3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Traveler Nicaragua
Managua, Nicaragua
Apr 2, 2013

Great value and comfortable stay!

I was so impressed with this hotel. They have free calls to anywhere in the world and the bar/restaurant had amazing food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biker10
Business
Albuquerque NM
Dec 31, 2013

Clean urban hotel

The location is good if you want a clean place near San Jose stadium, museums and bus ride or walking distance to the San Jose old mercado. There are a couple of American chain restaurants around the corner and a few bars. This has the feel of a modern professional hotel, clean, safe with a good San Jose location about 10 minutes taxi to the airport. The staff is professional, similar to a Hampton Inn in the states but only about 80 rooms and the bar and dining/restaurant are good if you need a break from the San Jose street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Many historical attractions and old San Jose mercado about 3 mile circumference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sdf26
Business
Gamboa, Panama
Nov 24, 2013

Don't stay during construction

The hotel was really nice, had great views, and the breakfast buffet was a huge plus but there was construction one floor below our room that started at 6:45 AM! Staying in a hotel in the city is nice to enjoy night life but if you're out until 2AM you don't want to be woken up by drills and hammers hours before a normal work day would start. We called reception twice to complain, then at 7:30AM went to the front desk in person. Management had no idea what was going on, the maid was the one that filled them in on the construction. It took 45 minutes after our first complaint before anything was done about the noise. Because we got a discount I would recommend the hotel, but I would not have paid full price to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary little traveler
Business
Kelseyville, ca
Oct 31, 2013

Fine would stay again

Nice, friendly staff, clean and comfortable restaurant. They do not provide wash clothes and hand towels, you must call and request. We would stay again, if we needed to stay in San Jose. This is not a luxury hotel for a vacation but a business person or someone needing to stay in San Jose would stay at. The staff's English is very good which is important for those who don't speak Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyoshi7
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 12, 2013

Very enjoyable stay

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. the room was a little on the small side, but we were only there to sleep. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a great view of the city. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a restaurant in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TTFNCOP
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jul 8, 2013

DISCLOSURE! Disco/Club under hotel HORRIBLE

I was so excited to stay here because of the restraunt! and the food was good. We needed a rest before heading to airport as our flight left at 6am. Planned on a sleep from 9pm to 3 am, 10pm 1hr into sleep on the 6th floor the club under the hotel was out of control!!!!! dont stay here. i could see people parting on our stair wells , smoking and drinking, cars racing up and down street. NO REST. we left at 330 am and still the BOOM BOOM BOOM from the club. I complained to check out manager and she said ("it's not part of our hotel", "not our Problem") i then replied" the club is attached to your hotel it is your problem") I am so sorry to my other friends i talked into staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

if you are in your 20's and dont sleep stay at the TRYP

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What did you say
Business
Florida
Jun 11, 2013

Great Vacation

The rooms were great, staff was very helpful, breakfast was complete will everything one could have for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Traveler Nicaragua
Business
Managua, Nicaragua
Apr 2, 2013

Great value and comfortable stay!

I was so impressed with this hotel. They have free calls to anywhere in the world and the bar/restaurant had amazing food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Elwan
Business
Cairo Egypt
Dec 4, 2012

I loved it

very friendly, staff couldn't be more helpful. lovely room, nice breakfast, very convenient .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackTw
Business
Mexico
Oct 29, 2012

Very nice hotel

Great stay, the hotel is very close to downtown. rooms are comfortable, nice music in the bar, Food is excellent, staff in restaurant very helpful and friendly Marcello & Jeffrey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler from U.S.A.
Business
Virginia
Oct 22, 2012

Very outdated and over rated hotel in DANGER part of town

The hotel is located in a very unsafe area. And there are nothing around, Need taxi for everything. When I check in at about 11 pm. I had to ask one of the hotel guard to walk with me to a outside food place 2 blocks away to get a carry out and I am a man. The hotel has no service after 10 pm. The room was very dated, carpet old and stained, bad odor in the room. and the Bathroom....Yeakkkk. As of October, the hotel is going some kind of major repair. Not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I checked out as soon as I could and check in the Holiday Inn in downtown, which is 100% better hotel in all aspect for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top