$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
21 reviews
Great value and comfortable stay!

I was so impressed with this hotel. They have free calls to anywhere in the world and the... See full review

  • Happy Traveler Nicaragua
  • Apr 2, 2013
Overnight stay

Tryp was a great hotel. Unfortunately we got there at 630 am, so are rooms were not ready. But the... See full review

  • Alohasandy
  • Jun 7, 2014
Tryp Hotel San Jose Sabana has been carefully designed to meet the needs of the modern traveler.

This elegant Costa Rican hotel is both timeless and contemporary; discrete, sophisticated and minimalist, it exceeds the expectations of its guests for its convenient location, technology, warm Costa Rican hospitality and spectacular gastronomy.

Highly committed to innovation, sustainability and social responsibility in its lodging and hospitality practices, the Tryp San Jose consistently delivers and authentic Costa Rican experience. The focus is to make your stay remarkable, comfortable and memorable whether you are here for business or vacation. The inspiration is the history and the heritage of this beautiful land.

The hotel has drawn a special connection with the tropical forests, which the hotel celebrates in the design and aesthetics found throughout the hotel; you will see vibrant wooden accents, translucent glass, tropical exotic flowers, as well as pictures by local artist, Julieta Jurado, of coffee growers, colorful trees, oxcarts, downtown parks, and the irch, classic architecture of the early 1900s.

The hotel features 98 comfortable rooms, plus 500 sq meters (1640 st feet) of meetings and event facilities equipped with the latest technology. Enjoy the vibrant atmosphere of the Gastro Bar at 38th Street Restaurant and Lounge, plus an array of guest services and facilities including an exercise room, gift shop, in-lobby concierge, room service, laundry and free parking. High-speed wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge for the customers. Local and international phone calls are also complimentary.

Tryp San Jose Sabana Hotel invites you to discover Costa Rica by experiencing the epic adventures that make the country such a favorite of travellers from all over the world. Enjoy the thrill white water rafting, see active volcanoes, speed through the treetops on zip-line canopy tours or hike tropical rain forests. You can relax or golden beaches, visit coffee plantations and tour the city sites, including theaters and museums close by. Or you can simply kick back and enjoy the thermal hot springs. The hotel has it all for you to enjoy.

Additional amenities:
*Ballroom.
*Dry cleaning.
*Lobby & Reception.
*Smoke-free hotel.

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0966
Area served
Paseo Colon.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO).
Area description
Tryp Hotel San Jose Sabana has an estrategic location, only 20 minutes from the San Jose International Airport, 10 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the San Jose Tobias Bolaos domestic airport. With immediate access to major highways, shopping and business areas, and renowned site seeing destinations, San Jose - Paseo Colon is in a safe, well-appointed neighborhood just 3 blocks west from the National Stadium, La Sabana Park and the Costa Rican Art Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tryp San Jose Sabana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms

Premium Double
Two Full size beds, one sofa bed, breakfast area with two seats, microwave oven, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, and cutlery, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet
Tryp Queen
Tryp Queen offers One Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Premium King
One king size bed, one sofa bed, panoramic view of the city and the mountains of the Central Valley, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 50" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet.
Tryp King
Tryp King offers One King Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp Double
Tryp Double offers Two Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.8 mi

Dining

Gastro Bar & Restaurant
The refine use of glass, wood and color gives the Gastro Bar at 38th Street the perfect ambiance for a chic lobby bar and restaurant. The menu features Costa Rican regional dishes with a touch of flavour, exotic ingredients plus a menu of spectacular signature drinks and "tapas", all creating the perfect balance of the clasic and exotic. Our eclectic list of select wines perfectly compliments an impressive variety of dishes from hot entrees to cold seafood, meats, desserts, local tropical fruits, all creating a culinary journey.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler from U.S.A.
Business
Virginia
Oct 22, 2012

Very outdated and over rated hotel in DANGER part of town

The hotel is located in a very unsafe area. And there are nothing around, Need taxi for everything. When I check in at about 11 pm. I had to ask one of the hotel guard to walk with me to a outside food place 2 blocks away to get a carry out and I am a man. The hotel has no service after 10 pm. The room was very dated, carpet old and stained, bad odor in the room. and the Bathroom....Yeakkkk. As of October, the hotel is going some kind of major repair. Not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I checked out as soon as I could and check in the Holiday Inn in downtown, which is 100% better hotel in all aspect for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James6
St. Petersburg, Fl.
Oct 17, 2012

4 day weekend

Large clean room, wonderful breakfast, busy street with truck noise, but acceptable. a 8min taxi ride $4 to center of town. Shower no bath. No pool. Great reception staff who helped make reservations for interesting road trips away from the city to ECO sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Poas volcano more interesting than Arenal volcano. Poas you can see lava and smoke. Aerial tram is exciting in Braulio Carillo National Park.

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chilillo
Los Angeles, California
Sep 25, 2012

Great Location

The hotel was execellent. Perfect location, amazing breakfast and great view of San Jose from my room. I recoment this hotel for families as well as single individuals. Pura Vida!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location to the National stadium as well as down town San jose.

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMRM
NH
Aug 14, 2012

Great place to stay

Great place overall; very convenient location; nice walks around; The only problem was the internet would work off and on. Recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
semi experienced traveler
Billings, Montana
May 21, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Stayed here for 10 nights. For me it was a perfect location. Only two blocks from a huge park and within walking distance from downtown. The room was very clean and modern. The bathroom and shower very nice. Almost instant hot water. The breakfast was great too. Not a huge selection but a variety every day with fruit, omelets, waffles and other good things. No visitors allowed in your room. period. Although my girlfriend said that was common in Costa Rica. Staff was very friendly and helpful. You can book daytrips from the front desk and they will pick you up at the hotel. About 30 minutes from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ellie Mae
Business
Florida
May 11, 2012

elegant,friendly and very clean.

I found this hotel to be one of the cleanest that I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in quite a few. The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. It has a nice restaurant and the complimentary breakfast is delicious. The free international calls were a great help too. You can keep fit is the workout room and have a flutter in the casino! It is located beside a large park and is within walking distance of downtown. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigBoy1
Bristow, VA
Apr 22, 2012

Results of Stay at Tryp

My stay was AWESOME!! I was in the center of it all, such as, city bus pick-up, stores, and restaurants. The food was outstanding, and we eat there every night. My dad is a chef, so I appreciate food and know good food when I have it. I wish Tryp had free shuttle services to and from the airport instead of paying $24 one way. In addition, the room was a little smaller than what was shown on the website. Overall, I was satisfied and glad I stayed at Tryp. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Outstanding Rib Eye steak, and fish meals. The bread was great as well. Excellent Food!!!!

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biju
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

good palce to stay, value for the money

Overall stay was ok; rooms are clean and average size with 2 queen beds; we had a great city view from the room. Breakfast was crowded 1 day, when there were lot of tourists were in the hotel (Friday). Although, the deal said free international calls, i was not able to make a single call to US or any other countries during my 6 nights stay there. They said it is some software issue, but was never corrected. I didn't have time to be on cal lwith them every day to track this, so found other ways to make calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scott from Ca
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

So Strange

Although it is very modern, the rooms (we looked at a few) are very odd shaped -- most with huge columns in the middle that you have to walk around to get to the bed which is pushed up against the wall on one side with no night stand or access. When we checked in we noticed there were no wash cloths and only one towel -- when we called down to the front desk we were told that they were full that night and would have to wait until the following day to get them and when we finally did they gave us ONE washcloth only, one more bath towel and no hand towel. I really expected more from a Wyndam than this and will not stay there again The staff was quite friendly though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Avoid the Casino! It was filthy and the cigarette smoke was so thick we left in just a few minutes -- I was shocked it was connected to the hotel lobby

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CR Traveler
Business
Mexico
Mar 7, 2012

Costa Rica Business Traveler

This was a business trip and really amazed of the hotel, we have all the amenities including wireless internet, breakfast and ALL CALLS INCLUDING INTERNATIONAL FREE!!. the Food is excellent and location can not be better, very friendly staff. i have to come back, is a very convenient place to stay for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top