$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Great value and comfortable stay!

I was so impressed with this hotel. They have free calls to anywhere in the world and the... See full review

  • Happy Traveler Nicaragua
  • Apr 2, 2013
Overnight stay

Tryp was a great hotel. Unfortunately we got there at 630 am, so are rooms were not ready. But the... See full review

  • Alohasandy
  • Jun 7, 2014
Tryp Hotel San Jose Sabana has been carefully designed to meet the needs of the modern traveler.

This elegant Costa Rican hotel is both timeless and contemporary; discrete, sophisticated and minimalist, it exceeds the expectations of its guests for its convenient location, technology, warm Costa Rican hospitality and spectacular gastronomy.

Highly committed to innovation, sustainability and social responsibility in its lodging and hospitality practices, the Tryp San Jose consistently delivers and authentic Costa Rican experience. The focus is to make your stay remarkable, comfortable and memorable whether you are here for business or vacation. The inspiration is the history and the heritage of this beautiful land.

The hotel has drawn a special connection with the tropical forests, which the hotel celebrates in the design and aesthetics found throughout the hotel; you will see vibrant wooden accents, translucent glass, tropical exotic flowers, as well as pictures by local artist, Julieta Jurado, of coffee growers, colorful trees, oxcarts, downtown parks, and the irch, classic architecture of the early 1900s.

The hotel features 98 comfortable rooms, plus 500 sq meters (1640 st feet) of meetings and event facilities equipped with the latest technology. Enjoy the vibrant atmosphere of the Gastro Bar at 38th Street Restaurant and Lounge, plus an array of guest services and facilities including an exercise room, gift shop, in-lobby concierge, room service, laundry and free parking. High-speed wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge for the customers. Local and international phone calls are also complimentary.

Tryp San Jose Sabana Hotel invites you to discover Costa Rica by experiencing the epic adventures that make the country such a favorite of travellers from all over the world. Enjoy the thrill white water rafting, see active volcanoes, speed through the treetops on zip-line canopy tours or hike tropical rain forests. You can relax or golden beaches, visit coffee plantations and tour the city sites, including theaters and museums close by. Or you can simply kick back and enjoy the thermal hot springs. The hotel has it all for you to enjoy.

Additional amenities:
*Ballroom.
*Dry cleaning.
*Lobby & Reception.
*Smoke-free hotel.

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0966
Area served
Paseo Colon.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO).
Area description
Tryp Hotel San Jose Sabana has an estrategic location, only 20 minutes from the San Jose International Airport, 10 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the San Jose Tobias Bolaos domestic airport. With immediate access to major highways, shopping and business areas, and renowned site seeing destinations, San Jose - Paseo Colon is in a safe, well-appointed neighborhood just 3 blocks west from the National Stadium, La Sabana Park and the Costa Rican Art Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tryp San Jose Sabana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms

Premium Double
Two Full size beds, one sofa bed, breakfast area with two seats, microwave oven, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, and cutlery, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet
Tryp Queen
Tryp Queen offers One Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Premium King
One king size bed, one sofa bed, panoramic view of the city and the mountains of the Central Valley, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 50" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet.
Tryp King
Tryp King offers One King Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp Double
Tryp Double offers Two Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.8 mi

Dining

Gastro Bar & Restaurant
The refine use of glass, wood and color gives the Gastro Bar at 38th Street the perfect ambiance for a chic lobby bar and restaurant. The menu features Costa Rican regional dishes with a touch of flavour, exotic ingredients plus a menu of spectacular signature drinks and "tapas", all creating the perfect balance of the clasic and exotic. Our eclectic list of select wines perfectly compliments an impressive variety of dishes from hot entrees to cold seafood, meats, desserts, local tropical fruits, all creating a culinary journey.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ellie Mae
Business
Florida
May 11, 2012

elegant,friendly and very clean.

I found this hotel to be one of the cleanest that I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in quite a few. The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. It has a nice restaurant and the complimentary breakfast is delicious. The free international calls were a great help too. You can keep fit is the workout room and have a flutter in the casino! It is located beside a large park and is within walking distance of downtown. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Savo
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jul 13, 2014

Worst Hotel Ever

Nice clean room. After dinner we tried coming back to the room and it was locked. The entire hotel and security could not figure out how to open our room. They made us spend the night in an entirely different room without any of our items. We could not brush our teeth or even change our clothes as they were locked in another room. The manager would not even get us a tooth brush. The management was absolutely horrible. Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alohasandy
Malibu, CA
Jun 7, 2014

Overnight stay

Tryp was a great hotel. Unfortunately we got there at 630 am, so are rooms were not ready. But the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Soda tapia had great food and ambiance of a diner.

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biker10
Albuquerque NM
Dec 31, 2013

Clean urban hotel

The location is good if you want a clean place near San Jose stadium, museums and bus ride or walking distance to the San Jose old mercado. There are a couple of American chain restaurants around the corner and a few bars. This has the feel of a modern professional hotel, clean, safe with a good San Jose location about 10 minutes taxi to the airport. The staff is professional, similar to a Hampton Inn in the states but only about 80 rooms and the bar and dining/restaurant are good if you need a break from the San Jose street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Many historical attractions and old San Jose mercado about 3 mile circumference.

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sdf26
Gamboa, Panama
Nov 24, 2013

Don't stay during construction

The hotel was really nice, had great views, and the breakfast buffet was a huge plus but there was construction one floor below our room that started at 6:45 AM! Staying in a hotel in the city is nice to enjoy night life but if you're out until 2AM you don't want to be woken up by drills and hammers hours before a normal work day would start. We called reception twice to complain, then at 7:30AM went to the front desk in person. Management had no idea what was going on, the maid was the one that filled them in on the construction. It took 45 minutes after our first complaint before anything was done about the noise. Because we got a discount I would recommend the hotel, but I would not have paid full price to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary little traveler
Kelseyville, ca
Oct 31, 2013

Fine would stay again

Nice, friendly staff, clean and comfortable restaurant. They do not provide wash clothes and hand towels, you must call and request. We would stay again, if we needed to stay in San Jose. This is not a luxury hotel for a vacation but a business person or someone needing to stay in San Jose would stay at. The staff's English is very good which is important for those who don't speak Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyoshi7
Orange County, CA
Aug 12, 2013

Very enjoyable stay

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. the room was a little on the small side, but we were only there to sleep. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a great view of the city. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a restaurant in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TTFNCOP
Las Vegas NV
Jul 8, 2013

DISCLOSURE! Disco/Club under hotel HORRIBLE

I was so excited to stay here because of the restraunt! and the food was good. We needed a rest before heading to airport as our flight left at 6am. Planned on a sleep from 9pm to 3 am, 10pm 1hr into sleep on the 6th floor the club under the hotel was out of control!!!!! dont stay here. i could see people parting on our stair wells , smoking and drinking, cars racing up and down street. NO REST. we left at 330 am and still the BOOM BOOM BOOM from the club. I complained to check out manager and she said ("it's not part of our hotel", "not our Problem") i then replied" the club is attached to your hotel it is your problem") I am so sorry to my other friends i talked into staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

if you are in your 20's and dont sleep stay at the TRYP

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What did you say
Florida
Jun 11, 2013

Great Vacation

The rooms were great, staff was very helpful, breakfast was complete will everything one could have for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Traveler Nicaragua
Managua, Nicaragua
Apr 2, 2013

Great value and comfortable stay!

I was so impressed with this hotel. They have free calls to anywhere in the world and the bar/restaurant had amazing food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Elwan
Cairo Egypt
Dec 4, 2012

I loved it

very friendly, staff couldn't be more helpful. lovely room, nice breakfast, very convenient .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top