$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

3 stars
Second Avenue, 4th Street San Jose Downtown, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
33 reviews
The BEST budget option in San Jose

This hotel is clean, friendly and located in the HEART of downtown San Jose. The rooms are real... See full review

  • Kenzuli
  • Aug 15, 2013
My 12 night stay

Overall a good experience,staff were very friendly,Maria at front desk changed my room from a... See full review

  • zoopa
  • Jul 23, 2013
The hotel is located in downtown San Jose on Second Avenue, 4th street. Gold Museum nearby Situated in San Jose, this hotel is close to San Jose Park Central, Gold Museum, and National Theater. Also nearby are Jade Museum and National Center of Art and Culture.

27-inch televisions

Televisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature air conditioning, safes, and electronic/magnetic keys.

Restaurant ,Bar/Lounge Hotel Royal Dutch features a restaurant and a bar/lounge.

Includes: American Breakfast, Free Wireless Internet.

. The hotel has the following room options: Single, Double, Triple, King size and a fully equipped Suite. The hotel also have their own restaurant, bar and casino.

Our rooms have: -A/C
-TV/Cable 27"
-Private bathroom with hot water
-Phone, Electric system doors
-Digital safes
-Rugs on all floors of the room.

Hotel Map

9.9335 -84.0833
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO).
Area description
The hotel is located located in San Jose down town Second Avenue, 4th Street east side of Banco Costa Rica.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard Single Double
Standard Single Double offers one king or two queen bed as bedding option with amenities like Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Clothes dryer, Disabled facilities,Hairdryer, Internet access, Full Kitchen, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. 27-inch television. Satellite TV / Televisions come with cable channels, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Air conditioning Air-conditioned accommodations at Hotel Royal Dutch offer safes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.8 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.9 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.9 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.1 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.4 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3.8 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • National Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.6 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.7 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.8 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.9 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.9 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.1 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.4 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3.8 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 15.3 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.2 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51 mi

Dining

Royal Dutch Restaurant
We invite you to visit our restaurant Royal Dutch and taste our high quality menus specialized in national and international dishes, where you can choose from variety of foods, menus offer breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for the hotel guests. Executive Royal: You can choose your meal, from the variety of options they offers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 33
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
1.8
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3
Value:
3.2

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nomadicme
Business
san jose costa rico
Dec 17, 2013

nothing was right

we arrived to the hotel and it was over booked, they gave us directions in Spanish to walk to another hotel 7 blocks away. Hotel Europa. The water leaked 24 hours. No consistent hoy water. Smell from the sinks pluming, and they where stingy with the towels, and wash cloths period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want American standards, book a American hotel

Review of Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
big pimpin champs
Business
tamarindo., costa rica
Sep 3, 2013

business

first night no hot water in the morning, bad smell in the hallway and bad attitude from the staff... second night a lot of noise in my room from the roof and bad smell in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

...

Review of Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain Rick
Business
Cape Cod, Massachusettes
Dec 8, 2012

Good stop-over hotel

Room was clean and comefortable. Only one bar on my laptop so had to use my computer in the hallway downstairs where there were no electrical outlets. Luckily i was away from the noise of the casino and bar. Very few tv channels all in Spanish. I enjoy being downtown everythig is only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aveneda Central is one of the best places to people watch. For a taste of the real Costa Rica and some great eats you can't beat the Mercado Central. Both are minutes from the hotel

Review of Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carggreg
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
Nov 29, 2012

my experience

This is an $30 hotel, I didn't expectations. The hotel is a casino & bar (and a place for meretrixes trade). I was for only a night, and the hotel is OK if I pay $30, I was able to a noise environment, but no, it was OK. I understand that a lot hotels in San José downtown has these characteristics ... but other people without information can receive a surprise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Dutch Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerry Dominzo
Business
State Highway 400, Atlanta, GA 30324, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Royal Dutch Hotel

The hotel looks nothing like the pictures. The hotel is musty, smelly, and very noisy. There is a lot of traffic noise coming from the outside. I visualized a much different hotel when I made the reservation. The picture makes it seems like this is a large hotel building cover a whole block and with good amenities. The hotel look run-down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a very short distance from all the museums and important landmarks.

Back to menu Return to top