$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

4 stars
50 meters east and 50 meters south of the Medical College Sabana Sur, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
20 reviews
nice friendly staff

This hotel was very clean and nice. Little far from centeo so need to take taxi. Friendly staff... See full review

  • Ray80
  • Dec 23, 2014
nice friendly staff

This hotel was very clean and nice. Little far from centeo so need to take taxi. Friendly staff... See full review

  • Ray80
  • Dec 22, 2014
Enjoy relaxing boutique hotel, modern amenities near downtown San Jose

Located next to La Sabana Metropolitan Park -- the heart of San Jose -- the boutique Rincon de Valle Hotel and Suites is minutes from downtown attractions like the Museum of Costa Rican Art, Central Market, and the National Theater. Guests at this newly renovated, modern hotel enjoy a fitness center and spa tub, as well as free high-speed Internet access.

Highlights
  • Located next to La Sabana Metropolitan Park
  • Fitness center and spa tub
  • On-site restaurant
  • Newly renovated
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites offers 41 sleek, contemporary guest rooms and suites with single king-size beds or pairs of double beds. The junior suites also feature living rooms with pull out sofas and kitchenettes with microwaves, mini fridges and dining tables. Private bathrooms have a shaving mirror, hair-dryer and robes. All accommodations include a work desk, clock radio, telephone, safe, mini bar and coffee-maker with Cafe Britt coffee. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Features

A newly renovated boutique hotel, the Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites offers personalized service and relaxing amenities close to downtown San Jose. Guests at the hotel can find a spacious spa tub, massage services (fees apply) and a fitness center.

 

The on-site fine dining restaurant serves meals throughout the day, and hotel staff can provide laundry services and arrange tours. Business amenities include free Wi-Fi throughout the property and two small conference rooms with presentation equipment.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
Attractions
  • La Sabana Metropolitan Park (1 block)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Market (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • National Theater (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • National Museum (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Irazu Volcano National Park (25.7 mi/41.3 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.4 mi/48.9 km)
  • Carara Rain Forest (52.9 mi/85.1 km)
Business
  • 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Currency exchange

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
Room with Two double or 1 king beds including facilities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.
Junior Suite
Room with Two double or 1 king beds including facilities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.
Deluxe Single
Room with 1 king bed including facilities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.7 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.9 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2 mi
  • National Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.4 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.5 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.7 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.9 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2 mi
  • National Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.4 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.5 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.7 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.8 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 19 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 52.3 mi

Dining

Etnico Restaurant
In the Etnico Cafe and Restaurant, the hotel guests as well as walk in customers, can enjoy a wide selection of international cuisine serving the best in Oriental and Middle Eastern food for your lunch or that very, romantic dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 20
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NH83
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 3, 2014

Comfortable Hotel in Safe Neighborhood

The hotel is very quiet, clean, modern, and comfortable. The location is a little over a mile away from downtown San Jose, which is perfect if you want to feel safe and away from traffic jam. The breakfast has omelette station, breads, cheese, fruits, and cereal. The hotel's restaurant Etnico has wonderful food and cocktails. There's free wifi and a small gym (only 3-4 machines). If you're looking for nightlife or attraction, this is not the place for you. But if you're just passing through San Jose or business travelers, this hotel is perfect. About 20 minutes to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arthurlau
Business
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Jun 17, 2014

Really good.

good location, good restaurant, and good rooms! I recommend this to anyone who goes to San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to am-pm store 400 meters from the hotel, there is a sushi bar called Sushi Bambu, owned by a japanese couple. It is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
devlore
Business
California, USA
Jun 13, 2013

Very tasteful and conveniently located

Stopped in because I needed a one nighter before leaving for home the next day. Very nice and comfortable. The indoor atrium feel is very nice. Close to shopping malls in the area too. The free breakfast was basic, but tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen from Hillsborough NC
Business
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Aug 29, 2012

I would not stay again

This was a strange little place, in an iffy neighborhood with small, but clean rooms. The lights went out periodically due to some energy saving measures. The shower was nice and roomy. This was the last leg of our trip before we flew home and all we really wanted was a bed, shower and good meal. The meal was pricey but large. And all in all it was fine for what we needed. There were no extras though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
occalalex
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 3, 2012

Nothing Special

So, directions to this place on the site are not great though directions in Costa Rica are not that great either. The car rental place had us driving around central San Jose for 30 minutes. No one knows where the hotel is located. We finally made it and were underwhelmed with our room. It was very small, we neither received a room with a king bed or two double beds (which is what we paid for and what was described on the travel site), the air conditioning would not go down (or up) in temperature as that part of the remote did not work. The next morning at check out they charged us an additional $30 because we had two people in the room (my fault I guess for only selecting one person during my search though most hotels I stay at don't care as long as it is not more than 2 people, including the other hotel we stayed at in San Jose at the end of our trip). The weird thing is if you price it out with 2 people on this site it is only a $15 difference. The breakfast was nothing special (some breads/fruit and eggs cooked to order if you wanted). Good location if you are going to the big park/stadium but not much else around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
halli
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Dec 28, 2011

Rincon de Valle

The stay was great, it is next to a large lovely park and about a 15 min. walk to downtown and museums. The breakfast was incl. and it was great food. My only complaint was when we arrived at the airport and called for a ride the person at the desk could not verify our hotel reservation and told us we could not have their shuttle service and we should take a cab. When we arrived at the hotel he apologized to us that he made a mistake and they should have picked us up. They did give us a shuttle back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suey311
Business
Texas
Oct 26, 2011

Not bad at all

Comfortable beds. Clean. Good free breakfast. Free shuttle (although they may not tell you it's free).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Great safe haven from the rain

The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The doorman who showed us to our room even offered to show me other available rooms when I wasn't happy with the size of our first room (all the rooms are different). The front door is monitored at all times, so not only did I feel safe inside the hotel, but I also didn't have to worry about my car being broken into. Although the on-site gym can accomodate 1 or 2 people, guests have the option to use the gym down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York, NY
Dec 13, 2010

Satisfied

It's cozy, comfortable and I love the decor. The only drawback was that our housekeeper did not clean the bathroom thoroughly. There were splashes of blue solution on the toilet cover. Aside from that, it was very nice. The food in the hotel's restaurant was exceptional. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top