$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

4 stars
View map of 50 meters east and 50 meters south of the Medical College Sabana Sur, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
32 reviews
Very attentive staff

the hotel was great clean friendly they helped with side trips car rental the restaurant was... See full review

  • the three explorers
  • Mar 26, 2015
Leave early for Airport

A wonderful, clean and great hotel. Very good shuttle bus to airport since my plane departed early... See full review

  • Betty C.
  • Feb 12, 2015

Located next to La Sabana Metropolitan Park -- the heart of San Jose -- the boutique Rincon de Valle Hotel and Suites is minutes from downtown attractions like the Museum of Costa Rican Art, Central Market, and the National Theater. Guests at this newly renovated, modern hotel enjoy a fitness center and spa tub, as well as free high-speed Internet access.

Rooms

Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites offers 41 sleek, contemporary guest rooms and suites with single king-size beds or pairs of double beds. The junior suites also feature living rooms with pull out sofas and kitchenettes with microwaves, mini fridges and dining tables. Private bathrooms have a shaving mirror, hair-dryer and robes. All accommodations include a work desk, clock radio, telephone, safe, mini bar and coffee-maker with Cafe Britt coffee. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Property features

A newly renovated boutique hotel, the Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites offers personalized service and relaxing amenities close to downtown San Jose. Guests at the hotel can find a spacious spa tub, massage services (fees apply) and a fitness center.

 

The on-site fine dining restaurant serves meals throughout the day, and hotel staff can provide laundry services and arrange tours. Business amenities include free Wi-Fi throughout the property and two small conference rooms with presentation equipment.

Highlights
  • Located next to La Sabana Metropolitan Park
  • Fitness center and spa tub
  • On-site restaurant
  • Newly renovated
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • La Sabana Metropolitan Park (1 block)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Market (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • National Theater (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • National Museum (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Irazu Volcano National Park (25.7 mi/41.3 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (30.4 mi/48.9 km)
  • Carara Rain Forest (52.9 mi/85.1 km)
Business
  • 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Currency exchange
Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with Two double or 1 king beds including facilities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.
Deluxe Single
Room with 1 king bed including facilities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.
Standard Room
Room with Two double or 1 king beds including facilities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.7 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.9 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2 mi
  • National Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.4 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.5 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.7 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 1.9 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.9 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 2 mi
  • National Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 2.1 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 2.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 2.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 2.4 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 2.5 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 2.5 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 2.7 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.8 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 19 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 52.3 mi

Dining

Etnico Restaurant
In the Etnico Cafe and Restaurant, the hotel guests as well as walk in customers, can enjoy a wide selection of international cuisine serving the best in Oriental and Middle Eastern food for your lunch or that very, romantic dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
2:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clark L.
Business
Santa Barbara
Jun 28, 2015

Small dark rooms, isolated location

Very small, postage stamp size, DARK rooms. 25 minute taxi ride to town. Isolated location in a questionable part of the city. Nothing nearby. Not a good hotel choice. Front desk impersonal and at times, even rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JYL4life
Business
LA
Nov 19, 2014

Small rooms

The rooms were extremely small. Everything was small. The pool, about the size of a bathtub. The bathroom, the bathroom door barely cleared the toilet. Most of the staff was nice, except for a guy in a purple shirt. I asked for a 5 am wake up call, but I did not receive a call. However, I set the alarms on my ipad and iphone, so I didn't miss my 8:40 am flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria,VA
May 9, 2010

Weekand Gataway

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
occalalex
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 3, 2012

Nothing Special

So, directions to this place on the site are not great though directions in Costa Rica are not that great either. The car rental place had us driving around central San Jose for 30 minutes. No one knows where the hotel is located. We finally made it and were underwhelmed with our room. It was very small, we neither received a room with a king bed or two double beds (which is what we paid for and what was described on the travel site), the air conditioning would not go down (or up) in temperature as that part of the remote did not work. The next morning at check out they charged us an additional $30 because we had two people in the room (my fault I guess for only selecting one person during my search though most hotels I stay at don't care as long as it is not more than 2 people, including the other hotel we stayed at in San Jose at the end of our trip). The weird thing is if you price it out with 2 people on this site it is only a $15 difference. The breakfast was nothing special (some breads/fruit and eggs cooked to order if you wanted). Good location if you are going to the big park/stadium but not much else around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen from Hillsborough NC
Business
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Aug 29, 2012

I would not stay again

This was a strange little place, in an iffy neighborhood with small, but clean rooms. The lights went out periodically due to some energy saving measures. The shower was nice and roomy. This was the last leg of our trip before we flew home and all we really wanted was a bed, shower and good meal. The meal was pricey but large. And all in all it was fine for what we needed. There were no extras though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria,VA
May 9, 2010

Weekand Gataway

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Super Mom
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 5, 2009

Nice hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica

We only stayed one night, but I thought that the hotel was very nice. All of us had a great breakfast that was included in the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York, NY
Dec 13, 2010

Satisfied

It's cozy, comfortable and I love the decor. The only drawback was that our housekeeper did not clean the bathroom thoroughly. There were splashes of blue solution on the toilet cover. Aside from that, it was very nice. The food in the hotel's restaurant was exceptional. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Las Primas
Business
Pasadena, CA
Aug 11, 2011

Rincon Deal Valle

Overall I really enjoyed our stay!! The staff was very nice & very helpful!! Ask for [...], or the receptionist with the nice eyes & gorgeous smile (sorry didn't catch his name..lol) they'd be glad to help. The only thing missing was a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The park across the street is something worth taking a look at. It's really nice to see the ton of people hanging out with family & friends on their days off.

Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suey311
Business
Texas
Oct 26, 2011

Not bad at all

Comfortable beds. Clean. Good free breakfast. Free shuttle (although they may not tell you it's free).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top