$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
92 reviews
Terrific vacation spot

My husband and son loved this hotel. I am envious I wasn't along on this trip. They raved about the... See full review

  • fooded
  • Aug 5, 2014
the best of the best

if you want to feel like you are at home this is the best place to go the owners the staff is like... See full review

  • haypeores
  • May 22, 2014
Restored coffee plantation home with outdoor pool and open-air dining

A beautifully restored, turn-of-the-century coffee plantation house, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers an intimate guesthouse experience in downtown San Jose. Popular downtown attractions like the National Theater, Simon Bolivar Zoo and the Central Market sit within walking distance of the Hotel Santo Tomas, and the hotel is about 12 miles from the international airport. Guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Solar-heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Parking (fees apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
Rooms

With just 20 guest rooms, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers personalized service with a great downtown location. Each room has its own style, and most feature hard wood or tile floors and 14-foot ceilings with ceiling fans. Standard guest rooms come with single queen or double beds, while larger guest rooms are available with pairs of queen-size beds. In-room amenities include free high-speed Internet access, laptop-size room safes, telephones, color cable televisions and hair-dryers.

Features

The intimate downtown guesthouse Hotel Santo Tomas offers a small number of quiet rooms and amenities ideal for travelers looking for affordable accommodations at the city center. The property features a solar heated outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply). Guests get a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the Restaurant and Bar El Oasis serves affordable and delicious seafood, steak, and pasta dishes throughout the day. Guests can find free high-speed Internet access in the guest rooms, and other on-site amenities include laundry services, tour arrangements and luggage storage.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (31 mi/50 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0761
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
SJO- Juan Santamaria and Tobias Bolanos.
Area description
Located in Barrio Amon, protected by the national patrimony laws of Costa Rica. Within 4 blocks of eight museums and 4 blocks from the national theater and gold museum -Plaza De La Cultura. Within easy walking distance of all shopping. Easy tour and car rental pickup and drop off.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 92
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Travel Bug
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Jun 16, 2014

Depends on your standards...

Hotel Santo Tomas is a very quaint hotel in the wrong place. While it is very close to downtown (only three blocks away from La Plaza de la Cultura) it's on the edge of the not-so-nice part of town. During the day it was fine, but I didn't feel comfortable going out at night (granted I am a woman and I was traveling alone... it would probably be fine in a group). On the bright side, the room was very comfortable and clean. My room was fairly quiet because it was in a back corner, but in the main part of the hotel it could get quite loud, especially on Friday night when you could hear the loud music next door. I could also hear people talking and the TV going in another room, but everything quieted down by the time I wanted to go to sleep. If you don't mind a little bit of noise, it's fine. I think the cleanliness and comfort of the room made it worth it, and the breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kalu is a nice little restaurant and shop a few blocks from the hotel. A little pricey depending on what you get but the ravioli was fantastic!

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JT1961
Wisconsin
Apr 10, 2014

Adequate for the money

I did not get what I expected from what I saw advertised. I would call this a stripped down bare bones hotel, an adequate place to lay your held down but by no means a place where you can hang out and relax. The pool area and the pool are very small . I don't think more than two people could even fit in the pool at one a time. 3/4 of the lounge area around the pool is in the shade and there are only two lounge chairs in the sunny area. The hot tub at the top of the pool is very small. The hotel is in a run down part of town, hard to find, easily missed. The hotel is on the northern edge of downtown , very close to avenida central, the pedestrian plazas, several parks/ plazas and government buildings, shopping, groceries stores and museums. The staff was not personable. The front counter staff only helped me to book my tour to the volcano. They did nothing to make me feel invited and made no attempts to point me in the direction of places to eat or places to go in town. One of the main reasons I picked this hotel was that the owner was English speaking, but the two people who did speak English were not helpful and were short, the rest of the staff only spoke Spanish. This is a very small hotel, and most of the rooms on the first floor were empty, so it is not like they were busy with customers. They should have been falling over to make the stay memorable and pleasant. You only get three choices for the free breakfast and its alright. Very small portions with no meat included in any of the meals. If you want a full good breakfast, you will need to go downtown only a few blocks away. The hotel is open air, meaning that the only door is the main door, so you hear everything from the outside during the day. It is very noisy. The walls are thin so you here everything in the next room. There is an echo affect when people walk through the halls. It does quiet down quite a bit late at night. The restaruant and bar at the hotel closes at 10:00 p.m. so there is nothing to do. It is very boring. The restaurant prices are over priced. The hotel did nothing for entertainment, or to create a relaxing or festive environment . It is cheap , so you get what you pay for, but I still think a lot more could have been done to make guests feel at ease, given there are only 30 rooms in the entire hotel. If you just need a place to crash this is ok. Personally, I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to have a typical Costa Rican dinner at at cheap price 2300 colones, walk down Avenida Central away from downtown closer to the bus terminal. Otherwise, there are plenty of places to eat downtown but you may pay more for your meal.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TWO DOGS HEWARD
CINCINNATI, OH.
Mar 24, 2014

Nice staff and good location

Didn't know exactly where I was headed but just asked Miguel at the front desk where to go to chill with some nice beach vibe. He booked me a hotel in Cuahita and directed me to the bus station the following day. When I was checking out I asked him how he liked Cuahita and he replied " I don't know I haven't been there!' Rock on cat, it was amongst the finest 6 days of my life!! Way to think on the fly! Will return in September to thank him personally!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1930 BAR, EXCELLENT DEEP FRIED WHOLE CORVINA AT EXCELLENT PRICE. THE REAL NEIGHBORHOOD DEAL. MIXTURE OF CUSTOMERS ADDS TO EXPERIENCE FOR ME. WILL DEFINITELY RETURN. NICE WORKING CLASS JOINT WITH EXCELLENT FOOD!

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom W3
Chicago, IL
Sep 4, 2013

An Oasis

This is a great little hotel, and a great value. I was passing through San Jose on my way home to the US, and for the first time, I felt comfortable being in San Jose. I had been traveling all day when I arrived and the kitchen hadn't opened yet, but the owner (an American fellow#, walked me back to the kitchen and helped me place my order with the chef and they called my room when it was ready #before the kitchen even officially opened). The hotel itself has an Old World feel, but still comfortable and clean. The next time I'm in San Jose, I will definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirment
CT
Apr 18, 2013

Excelent

The staff were very helpful the moment I arrived. The food was very good, loved B/F

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

learn Spanish, (:

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Want to live in CR
Sierra Vista, AZ
Apr 17, 2013

Enjoy downtown San Jose

Good experience with a feel of the local community. I wasn't looking for a high dollar American experience, but a local one, and I found it. Close walk to anything I wanted in SJ. Pleasant experience overall, especially with helpful staff. Recommend the hotel send guests a scanned map of downtownstreets to give to taxi drivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in downtown San Jose

I returned to this hotel after staying for the first two days of my trip arriving from the airport. The staff are attentive and friendly. The owner a great resource for questions about the country and various tours. Clean, quaint and a bed and breakfast feel which was a welcome change from chain hotels. I'd highly recommend it and would go back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in the center of San Jose

I would say that I was pleasantly surprised and the accomodations at this quaint family owned location. The jacuzzi and pool were refreshing. The location was close to nightlife but far enough away to be very quite and peaceful. The rooms were large and comfortable with wifi and cable available at no charge. The resteraunt was great and reasonable with a great breakfast the start the day. But the staff made me feel like I was an old friend returned to stay. They and the owner made you feel right at home and provided many tips to make my stay pleasurable. I'd return in a heartbeat. Great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAVNapa
Napa Ca.
Feb 5, 2013

Nice for the downtown area

Really good staff makes this place standout. The place is old but clean. Good restaurant with good service. The front desk is quite helpful with good recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pedestrian mall is a great urban hike, with shopping and restaurants.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
italiano
elpaso texas
May 31, 2012

hotel locatiob

The hotel is old but very well kept and has a new addition the rooms are big and the location is very near to everything the people working there are extremely nice nice gym and pool and hot tub very quiet at night so you get a good night sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search