$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
93 reviews
Very nice hotel near the center of San Jose

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Santo Tomas and really enjoyed it. It is an old... See full review

  • Wild Goose
  • Nov 19, 2014
Terrific vacation spot

My husband and son loved this hotel. I am envious I wasn't along on this trip. They raved about the... See full review

  • fooded
  • Aug 5, 2014
Restored coffee plantation home with outdoor pool and open-air dining

A beautifully restored, turn-of-the-century coffee plantation house, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers an intimate guesthouse experience in downtown San Jose. Popular downtown attractions like the National Theater, Simon Bolivar Zoo and the Central Market sit within walking distance of the Hotel Santo Tomas, and the hotel is about 12 miles from the international airport. Guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Solar-heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Parking (fees apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
Rooms

With just 20 guest rooms, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers personalized service with a great downtown location. Each room has its own style, and most feature hard wood or tile floors and 14-foot ceilings with ceiling fans. Standard guest rooms come with single queen or double beds, while larger guest rooms are available with pairs of queen-size beds. In-room amenities include free high-speed Internet access, laptop-size room safes, telephones, color cable televisions and hair-dryers.

Features

The intimate downtown guesthouse Hotel Santo Tomas offers a small number of quiet rooms and amenities ideal for travelers looking for affordable accommodations at the city center. The property features a solar heated outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply). Guests get a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the Restaurant and Bar El Oasis serves affordable and delicious seafood, steak, and pasta dishes throughout the day. Guests can find free high-speed Internet access in the guest rooms, and other on-site amenities include laundry services, tour arrangements and luggage storage.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (31 mi/50 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlosancame
Business
Heredia, Costa Rica
Mar 27, 2013

Good price value

At first I had some problems with the guest in the next room and the toilet kept odor, administration put me in a better room. Good deal and good service, the ambience of the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Nov 22, 2010

I love this hotel

This is a great hotel. It is not the Hyatt. It is an old mansion that has been converted into an hotel. It has nice decor appropriate for the early 1900's. They have some new rooms on the second floor which are smaller but modern in style. The staff is excellent, attentive, informative and always helpful. The other day, a friend returned from a trek and had her laundry done by the hotel in two hours. The restaurant is superb. There's a small garden, an exercise room and a raised veranda for reading and relaxing. Overall a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 25, 2009

Ups and Downs

I had room 3, and it smelled like urine. The walls are thin and the hallways echo. I saw a cockroach in the bathroom, which was really gross, but fairly normal in that part of the world. On the upside, the room had free wi-fi, which I really needed (and used a lot). The staff members speak good English and are very polite and helpful. I really enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurant, and they made me the best strawberry daiquiri I've ever had. The menu has so many great selections, it was hard to decide on one. My meal was delicious, and I think it was a fairly good value. I didn't get a chance to swim in the pool, but the people out there looked like they were having a great time. They keep the doors open on the rooms that were not occupied, and some of them looked really nice. I would maybe stay there again, preferably on the 2nd floor, and DEFINITELY not in room 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grippa
Business
South Florida
Jun 6, 2009

Costa Rica Trip

Friendly, felt like family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Criolitta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE USA
May 29, 2009

Good accomodations and staff

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fruit and bread - more than adequate for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Jade and Gold museums and similar attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2008

noise smell darkness this had it all !

THis hotel is the worst piece of junk in all of San Jose. the only reason it stays open, is that it preys on unknown first timers to the Barrio armon area of the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Feb 16, 2008

Great place to stay

The hotel is a converted older home which has been furnished in Louis XV style and is very comfortable and fairly well maintained. The floors and rooms are spotless, they are given a daily cleaning which results in a beautiful sheen to the clay tiles. Most of the guests were very quiet conscious with little door slamming and loud conversations. The one glaring exception was an experience that my companion suffered in room #7 which fronted on the courtyard and pool area. the jalosy windows allowed her to overhear all late night conversations in the courtyard area which unfortunately interupted her sleep. I had room #6 which I recommend because it overviews a tiny courtyard which is used only for ventilation. The dining in the hotel was exquisite. the breakfast fare consisted of wonderful coffee, fresh fruit and several types of breads and pastries which were very addictive. Dinner in the Oasis Restaurant was some of the finest dining I have ever experienced and the price was reasonable. A couple of evenings we ventured across the street to dine in a couple of Columbian restaurants owned by locals. Although the furniture was all handmade from wood scraps and the food preperation was done with all fresh and locally purchased food ( I question whether refrigeration is present) the meals were made ready in good time and the results were well worth the $4 each we paid. We even met some locals who could speak English which helped in ordering and identifying the various menu items. The hotel is located areas surrounded by bars and razor wire but inside the traveler feels quite safe. Within a block though, the neighborhood improves immensley with the presence a beautiful park. I will stay there again and next time I will have a better command of the Spanish language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Thre is an excellant walking mall located on Central Avienda complete with all kinds of shops, restaurants, parks and museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
May 17, 2007

Secure and quaint

The hotel is in the Amon section of San Jose, and very close to downtown. It's only one block North of the Holiday Inn. The staff was pleasant and the room was cleaned every day. The complementry morning breakfast had a nice selection of pastry and fruit with coffee or tea. A nice pool and lawn area was available and nicely landscaped. Perfect place for the morning breakfast. The hotel was originally a residence, and shows it's past origins in a nice way. Across the street is a gringo bar, that offered food, TV's, and friendly people. The hotel restaurant was another highlight, with very good food and open to the pool area. I had dinner with a friend and watched the rain on the pool, very enchanting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Souvenir shops abounded in area. Just down the street was the Jade Museum, and a number of parks, with beautiful flowers and trees, were near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top