$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoTim
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2010

Nice Property - Rude Staff

Location: Situated on a somewhat seedy part of Avenida 7 (there´s flop houses and a strip club a block away), yet across the street from a charming Columbian restaurant and just 4 blocks from the central boulevard. Property: Very well-tended lobby and courtyard Breakfast: Delicious traditional fare, included in rate. Eat in the beautiful courtyard. Staff: Mediocre at best. The man who checked me in scowled when he saw my reservation copy. When I asked for a restaurant recommendation, they suggested I just look around. No one went out of their way. This was the only rude staff I encountered on my trip to Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Columbian Restaurant, directly across the street. Inexpensive and very friendly, run by a mother and son.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Apr 24, 2010

quaint and pleasant

the hotel was quaint and personable, a good bet for the money in costa rica. the hotel was safe, the staff pleasant and amenable, yummie free breakfast and we even met tomas!!!! i liked that the hotel was able to give me a room before the check in time. yes, the rooms are smaller than hotels in america, but the hotel had character and the employees were very helpful and had positive attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

do your best to either rent a car online before hand or just buy a bus pass- the rental car companies will do thier best to overcharge you.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa ,FL
Feb 4, 2010

truth,but the area is not good,

The City of San Jose Was not what I was expecting,they live behind bars,looks not safe.The hotel was good under the circunstances.Was clean,peaceful and very nice tropical breakfast,gym not too impresive.Nice,brand new and clean bathroom with hot shower.The "safety box" is inside the room,just a drawer with a key,( I do prefer a real safety box) and they charge internet if you don't have a laptock ( $2.00 for 20 minutes )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the hotel,after the corner there is an INCREDIBLE peruvian food restaurant.Very simple and cheap like $ 5.00 and the best food you can imagen,like a cheff from a fancy place.Seafood soup,fish..really really good.They did not sell alcohol but you can take your own beer if you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ciudad Quesada
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel OK, but would not refund my money

Hotel was OK but wouldn't refund my money when I wanted to cancel reservation in days in advance. I had changed my mind about going into San Jose but since I couldn't get a refund I had to go anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 25, 2009

Ups and Downs

I had room 3, and it smelled like urine. The walls are thin and the hallways echo. I saw a cockroach in the bathroom, which was really gross, but fairly normal in that part of the world. On the upside, the room had free wi-fi, which I really needed (and used a lot). The staff members speak good English and are very polite and helpful. I really enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurant, and they made me the best strawberry daiquiri I've ever had. The menu has so many great selections, it was hard to decide on one. My meal was delicious, and I think it was a fairly good value. I didn't get a chance to swim in the pool, but the people out there looked like they were having a great time. They keep the doors open on the rooms that were not occupied, and some of them looked really nice. I would maybe stay there again, preferably on the 2nd floor, and DEFINITELY not in room 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Dec 24, 2009

Very nice "base camp"

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is a tiny bit sketchy at night, but we weren't there to enjoy a nice part of San Jose. That said, there are some nice urban park/squares within a couple blocks. Also a short walk away is the Avenue Centrale, on which is located the Mercado Centrale. The concierge was very helpful in arranging tours for us. We really enjoyed a couple of 3 in 1 tours to area sights, such as Poaz Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls, and rainforest on the Caribbean side of the continental divide. The tour guides were friendly, gracious, and very knowledgeable. The least expensive rooms, like the one in which we stayed are just a bit small, and the bathrooms feature an open ceiling into the rest of the room, which may bother folks who prize their bathroom privacy. Also, the walls of the rooms are not particularly well sound proofed. The restaurant is good, if not outstanding. The weight room is small but fully functional. In summary, this is a great place to use as a base camp, while going off on day trips. It's clean, inexpensive, and has helpful staff. I wouldn't recommend it as a great place to hang out, but hanging out in a hotel is not why we went to Costa Rica. One more thing: get juices! They blend the juices from fresh cut fruit to order. The juices are amazing and cheap! Try them all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DON'T exchange money at the airport!!! The exchange rate is atrocious, worse in the US than in Costa Rica! The hotel offers a very nice exchange rate. Banks are best, but they're less private than the hotel; so you may want to consider the security aspect of where you change funds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Slummin' it
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 5, 2009

Lights off

The hotel was locked when we got there due to the neighborhood it is located in. The rooms were musty and the floor did not seem stable. The bathroom had windows offering no privacy. The hotel was loud. It had potential of being very cute with a clean up job and minus the street workers outside. Had to pay for parking which was not disclosed prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fla
Sep 24, 2009

Very Comfortable

Within easy walking distance of fun places and great breakfast and dining area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 25, 2009

Wonderful upgrade, new rooms

While on a business trip I stayed a few extra days to play... The front office staff helped me with VERY convenient day a trip to the volcano and a second trip whitewater rafting. I was pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to the NEW floor. While the original rooms are nice and a great deal, my new balcony room had a wonderful bed, flat screen TV, both wired and wireless internet connection and a great bathroom... The tile floor and unique ceiling maintain the warmth of the older architecture. One night was spent on my balcony with a great bottle of wine, thinking about the tranquility of Costa Rica and enjoying the view of the pool and garden. Their restuarant (small and intimate) has some of the best food I have ever enjoyed. Ask them what is fresh/best of the day and you will be delighted... Same great food can be delivered to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport your first day for about $20... If you do not speak spanish, have the hotel's name written on a business card for the taxi driver... with the address and phone... Spend the first day at the Mercado Central, Jade Museum, Gold Museum and Central Avenue... Start at the Gold Museum and get two great maps of the city and country for free in the adjacent Tourist Booth. Take one of the guided day trips... THEN rent your car to get out of the city and see the rest of the beautiful countryside. The hotel staff can help you with the rental and it will be less expensive than renting at the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
na
Jun 12, 2009

nestled in the city

we had difficulty finding it and then finding our way onto the road out of town - this was not the hotels fault but was frustrating - we wouldn't go again without gps. they have a beautiful courtyard, the breakfast was simple and tasty, staff were very helpful. water was hot, bed was comfortable. rooms were small but very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top