$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
138 reviews
the best of the best

if you want to feel like you are at home this is the best place to go the owners the staff is like... See full review

  • haypeores
  • May 22, 2014
the best hotel

this is my home away from home,the staff ,the food,the owners make you feel right at home ,if you... See full review

  • haypeores
  • Oct 7, 2013
Hotel Santo Tomas is a beautiful restored turn-of-the-century coffee plantation home with 30 non smoking rooms, which are embellished with King Louie XV furniture, queen size beds, private bathrooms, cable TV with HBO, Cinema, CNN, and +50 channels or more, and telephone.

The only San Jose Hotel with outdoors solar heated pool/Jacuzzi. Dine in our open-air restaurant/bar next to our pool area and enjoy fine international and Costa Rican Cuisine, open daily.

Amenities: Health club, restaurant, pool, Jacuzzi, High Speed Internet (in-room & common areas), room service and concierge.

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0761
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
SJO- Juan Santamaria and Tobias Bolanos.
Area description
Located in Barrio Amon, protected by the national patrimony laws of Costa Rica. Within 4 blocks of eight museums and 4 blocks from the national theater and gold museum -Plaza De La Cultura. Within easy walking distance of all shopping. Easy tour and car rental pickup and drop off.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Couple, Budget Travelers
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2011

Very Accomodating

Quick over night stay before heading to Manuel Antonio- clean, spacious room, delicious breakfast. There was a slight mix-up when we checked in and our Interbus reservation was cancelled by accident, however the staff was extremely helpful and made alternative plans for us. Would recommend to others and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
dayton OHIO
Feb 11, 2011

exellent latino decore

hotel exelent [...] were both excelent breakfest was exellent staf could not be any better Location was good room was excellent I'll stay there again stayed there for two weeks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradise for single old MEN dinner was EXPENSIVE

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
dayton OHIO
Feb 11, 2011

exellent latino decore

hotel exelent [...] were both excelent breakfest was exellent staf could not be any better Location was good room was excellent I'll stay there again stayed there for two weeks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradise for single old MEN dinner was EXPENSIVE

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
neoisfree
washington dc,USA
Jan 28, 2011

Its an OK experience

I was given room no 14 , the room is not great and had cockroaches . The good thing about the hotel is : the staff is very friendly and supportive. I brought a guest for 2 hrs in the night and i was asked to pay $20 for that. Still not able to digest why should one pay $20 when the room is booked for 2 guests and i was living just single for all the days i stayed there. The hotel is located in downtown and is near by to del ray and other happening places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
neoisfree
washington dc,USA
Jan 28, 2011

Its an OK experience

I was given room no 14 , the room is not great and had cockroaches . The good thing about the hotel is : the staff is very friendly and supportive. I brought a guest for 2 hrs in the night and i was asked to pay $20 for that. Still not able to digest why should one pay $20 when the room is booked for 2 guests and i was living just single for all the days i stayed there. The hotel is located in downtown and is near by to del ray and other happening places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Nov 22, 2010

I love this hotel

This is a great hotel. It is not the Hyatt. It is an old mansion that has been converted into an hotel. It has nice decor appropriate for the early 1900's. They have some new rooms on the second floor which are smaller but modern in style. The staff is excellent, attentive, informative and always helpful. The other day, a friend returned from a trek and had her laundry done by the hotel in two hours. The restaurant is superb. There's a small garden, an exercise room and a raised veranda for reading and relaxing. Overall a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Nov 22, 2010

I love this hotel

This is a great hotel. It is not the Hyatt. It is an old mansion that has been converted into an hotel. It has nice decor appropriate for the early 1900's. They have some new rooms on the second floor which are smaller but modern in style. The staff is excellent, attentive, informative and always helpful. The other day, a friend returned from a trek and had her laundry done by the hotel in two hours. The restaurant is superb. There's a small garden, an exercise room and a raised veranda for reading and relaxing. Overall a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleve OH
Nov 2, 2010

The good and bad

It was OK/good for the money. We did get the basic room but the remote didn't work and they could not fix it pretty much just said deal with it. The drain went down super slow in the shower,we were there 1 nite and was later in the eve when we discovered it so didn't even mention it. The hotel was clean,had a nice workout room,and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleve OH
Nov 2, 2010

The good and bad

It was OK/good for the money. We did get the basic room but the remote didn't work and they could not fix it pretty much just said deal with it. The drain went down super slow in the shower,we were there 1 nite and was later in the eve when we discovered it so didn't even mention it. The hotel was clean,had a nice workout room,and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atenas, Costa Rica
Oct 4, 2010

What a find!

We chose this hotel because of it's price and location. What we discovered was a hidden treasure. The hotel is very charming and well kept. The onsite restaurant serves good food - especially dinner - and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top