$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
101 reviews
Terrific vacation spot

My husband and son loved this hotel. I am envious I wasn't along on this trip. They raved about the... See full review

  • fooded
  • Aug 5, 2014
the best of the best

if you want to feel like you are at home this is the best place to go the owners the staff is like... See full review

  • haypeores
  • May 22, 2014
Restored coffee plantation home with outdoor pool and open-air dining

A beautifully restored, turn-of-the-century coffee plantation house, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers an intimate guesthouse experience in downtown San Jose. Popular downtown attractions like the National Theater, Simon Bolivar Zoo and the Central Market sit within walking distance of the Hotel Santo Tomas, and the hotel is about 12 miles from the international airport. Guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Solar-heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Parking (fees apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
Rooms

With just 20 guest rooms, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers personalized service with a great downtown location. Each room has its own style, and most feature hard wood or tile floors and 14-foot ceilings with ceiling fans. Standard guest rooms come with single queen or double beds, while larger guest rooms are available with pairs of queen-size beds. In-room amenities include free high-speed Internet access, laptop-size room safes, telephones, color cable televisions and hair-dryers.

Features

The intimate downtown guesthouse Hotel Santo Tomas offers a small number of quiet rooms and amenities ideal for travelers looking for affordable accommodations at the city center. The property features a solar heated outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply). Guests get a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the Restaurant and Bar El Oasis serves affordable and delicious seafood, steak, and pasta dishes throughout the day. Guests can find free high-speed Internet access in the guest rooms, and other on-site amenities include laundry services, tour arrangements and luggage storage.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (31 mi/50 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0761
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
SJO- Juan Santamaria and Tobias Bolanos.
Area description
Located in Barrio Amon, protected by the national patrimony laws of Costa Rica. Within 4 blocks of eight museums and 4 blocks from the national theater and gold museum -Plaza De La Cultura. Within easy walking distance of all shopping. Easy tour and car rental pickup and drop off.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erik City
VA BEACH
Apr 18, 2013

Great Place to stay

You will be hard pressed to find a better staff than here! The hotel is in a great place to either make a home base or to rest before or after a long flight. within walking distance of almost any thing you may want see or do. The manager and his staff can help you get buses, or even a rental car and some of the best rates in all of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel can get you the best priced car rental in Costa Rica

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoTim
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2010

Nice Property - Rude Staff

Location: Situated on a somewhat seedy part of Avenida 7 (there´s flop houses and a strip club a block away), yet across the street from a charming Columbian restaurant and just 4 blocks from the central boulevard. Property: Very well-tended lobby and courtyard Breakfast: Delicious traditional fare, included in rate. Eat in the beautiful courtyard. Staff: Mediocre at best. The man who checked me in scowled when he saw my reservation copy. When I asked for a restaurant recommendation, they suggested I just look around. No one went out of their way. This was the only rude staff I encountered on my trip to Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Columbian Restaurant, directly across the street. Inexpensive and very friendly, run by a mother and son.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco
Apr 24, 2010

quaint and pleasant

the hotel was quaint and personable, a good bet for the money in costa rica. the hotel was safe, the staff pleasant and amenable, yummie free breakfast and we even met tomas!!!! i liked that the hotel was able to give me a room before the check in time. yes, the rooms are smaller than hotels in america, but the hotel had character and the employees were very helpful and had positive attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

do your best to either rent a car online before hand or just buy a bus pass- the rental car companies will do thier best to overcharge you.....

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
tampa ,FL
Feb 4, 2010

truth,but the area is not good,

The City of San Jose Was not what I was expecting,they live behind bars,looks not safe.The hotel was good under the circunstances.Was clean,peaceful and very nice tropical breakfast,gym not too impresive.Nice,brand new and clean bathroom with hot shower.The "safety box" is inside the room,just a drawer with a key,( I do prefer a real safety box) and they charge internet if you don't have a laptock ( $2.00 for 20 minutes )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the hotel,after the corner there is an INCREDIBLE peruvian food restaurant.Very simple and cheap like $ 5.00 and the best food you can imagen,like a cheff from a fancy place.Seafood soup,fish..really really good.They did not sell alcohol but you can take your own beer if you like.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ciudad Quesada
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel OK, but would not refund my money

Hotel was OK but wouldn't refund my money when I wanted to cancel reservation in days in advance. I had changed my mind about going into San Jose but since I couldn't get a refund I had to go anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 25, 2009

Ups and Downs

I had room 3, and it smelled like urine. The walls are thin and the hallways echo. I saw a cockroach in the bathroom, which was really gross, but fairly normal in that part of the world. On the upside, the room had free wi-fi, which I really needed (and used a lot). The staff members speak good English and are very polite and helpful. I really enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurant, and they made me the best strawberry daiquiri I've ever had. The menu has so many great selections, it was hard to decide on one. My meal was delicious, and I think it was a fairly good value. I didn't get a chance to swim in the pool, but the people out there looked like they were having a great time. They keep the doors open on the rooms that were not occupied, and some of them looked really nice. I would maybe stay there again, preferably on the 2nd floor, and DEFINITELY not in room 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bowie, MD
Dec 24, 2009

Very nice "base camp"

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is a tiny bit sketchy at night, but we weren't there to enjoy a nice part of San Jose. That said, there are some nice urban park/squares within a couple blocks. Also a short walk away is the Avenue Centrale, on which is located the Mercado Centrale. The concierge was very helpful in arranging tours for us. We really enjoyed a couple of 3 in 1 tours to area sights, such as Poaz Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls, and rainforest on the Caribbean side of the continental divide. The tour guides were friendly, gracious, and very knowledgeable. The least expensive rooms, like the one in which we stayed are just a bit small, and the bathrooms feature an open ceiling into the rest of the room, which may bother folks who prize their bathroom privacy. Also, the walls of the rooms are not particularly well sound proofed. The restaurant is good, if not outstanding. The weight room is small but fully functional. In summary, this is a great place to use as a base camp, while going off on day trips. It's clean, inexpensive, and has helpful staff. I wouldn't recommend it as a great place to hang out, but hanging out in a hotel is not why we went to Costa Rica. One more thing: get juices! They blend the juices from fresh cut fruit to order. The juices are amazing and cheap! Try them all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DON'T exchange money at the airport!!! The exchange rate is atrocious, worse in the US than in Costa Rica! The hotel offers a very nice exchange rate. Banks are best, but they're less private than the hotel; so you may want to consider the security aspect of where you change funds.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Slummin' it
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 5, 2009

Lights off

The hotel was locked when we got there due to the neighborhood it is located in. The rooms were musty and the floor did not seem stable. The bathroom had windows offering no privacy. The hotel was loud. It had potential of being very cute with a clean up job and minus the street workers outside. Had to pay for parking which was not disclosed prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
fla
Sep 24, 2009

Very Comfortable

Within easy walking distance of fun places and great breakfast and dining area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jul 25, 2009

Wonderful upgrade, new rooms

While on a business trip I stayed a few extra days to play... The front office staff helped me with VERY convenient day a trip to the volcano and a second trip whitewater rafting. I was pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to the NEW floor. While the original rooms are nice and a great deal, my new balcony room had a wonderful bed, flat screen TV, both wired and wireless internet connection and a great bathroom... The tile floor and unique ceiling maintain the warmth of the older architecture. One night was spent on my balcony with a great bottle of wine, thinking about the tranquility of Costa Rica and enjoying the view of the pool and garden. Their restuarant (small and intimate) has some of the best food I have ever enjoyed. Ask them what is fresh/best of the day and you will be delighted... Same great food can be delivered to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport your first day for about $20... If you do not speak spanish, have the hotel's name written on a business card for the taxi driver... with the address and phone... Spend the first day at the Mercado Central, Jade Museum, Gold Museum and Central Avenue... Start at the Gold Museum and get two great maps of the city and country for free in the adjacent Tourist Booth. Take one of the guided day trips... THEN rent your car to get out of the city and see the rest of the beautiful countryside. The hotel staff can help you with the rental and it will be less expensive than renting at the airport.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
na
Jun 12, 2009

nestled in the city

we had difficulty finding it and then finding our way onto the road out of town - this was not the hotels fault but was frustrating - we wouldn't go again without gps. they have a beautiful courtyard, the breakfast was simple and tasty, staff were very helpful. water was hot, bed was comfortable. rooms were small but very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search