$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erik City
VA BEACH
Apr 18, 2013

Great Place to stay

You will be hard pressed to find a better staff than here! The hotel is in a great place to either make a home base or to rest before or after a long flight. within walking distance of almost any thing you may want see or do. The manager and his staff can help you get buses, or even a rental car and some of the best rates in all of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel can get you the best priced car rental in Costa Rica

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parisppany, New Jersey
Oct 3, 2010

Great hotel!

We were easily able to book excursions from the hotel. The staff is very friendly! The rooms are spotless. I loved staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key West, Florida
Oct 1, 2010

Nice Hotel but NOT the HIlton

I very much enjoyed my stay here, but it was only 2 nights. If I had stayed longer I would have requested another room as the shower head was pretty rubbish and the toilet seat broken. BUT, the staff were lovely and accommodating, The pool area was small but very pretty and there was a cool jacuzzi and fitness room. This is a really nice historical building and that made up for the pretty basic room facilities. The staff booked a very good canopy/river trip for me, made phone calls and generally were very helpful and always smiling. I will stay here again definitely. Be warned though, it is right in the center of downtown. Very noisy and traffic is nuts. But travel arrangements can be made by the staff, there is a market around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ask to have them book the 4 in 1 canopy/volcano/river/horseback trip. It is absolutely fantastic, only $89. There is a lot of travel on the tour bus between each thing, but ell worth it.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA,CA
Jul 19, 2010

Hotel Santo Tomas, San Jose, Costa Rica

Quite happy with the location, food & staff were great - very helpful! Rooms were small, but adequate! Toilets were prone to overflow we were told by staff if toilet paper was placed in the toilet bowl. Altho this did not happen to us, it was not pleasureable to not flush paper after use of toilet. This was very disagreeable actually! Otherwise we enjoyed the hotel very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Ro
Business
Auburn, CA
Jun 18, 2010

Hotel is Great! San Jose is NOT!!!

The Hotel itself is very nice. Great restaurant, nice staff, very charming. Once you get there it is quite nice. It's getting there that is the hard part. San Jose is probably the worst city I've ever tried to drive in. The streets are compact, very full of people, cars, buses, and motorcycles all with an aggressive agenda. The city has no street signs, so even with a map you don't really know where you are. It was very hectic and crazy. Don't go out after dark, this place is full of prostitutes, crackheads, and criminals. So like I said, the hotel is nice, but San Jose is like Gotham with no Batman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
STARBUCKS GUY
Business
MEX
May 29, 2010

Feed Back Hotal SAnto Tomas Costa Rica

The hotel dosnt have AC & its very noisy, very clean but they didnt give me a late check out, but it was a special request that i did

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
STARBUCKS GUY
Business
MEX
May 29, 2010

Feed Back Hotal SAnto Tomas Costa Rica

The hotel dosnt have AC & its very noisy, very clean but they didnt give me a late check out, but it was a special request that i did

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoTim
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2010

Nice Property - Rude Staff

Location: Situated on a somewhat seedy part of Avenida 7 (there´s flop houses and a strip club a block away), yet across the street from a charming Columbian restaurant and just 4 blocks from the central boulevard. Property: Very well-tended lobby and courtyard Breakfast: Delicious traditional fare, included in rate. Eat in the beautiful courtyard. Staff: Mediocre at best. The man who checked me in scowled when he saw my reservation copy. When I asked for a restaurant recommendation, they suggested I just look around. No one went out of their way. This was the only rude staff I encountered on my trip to Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Columbian Restaurant, directly across the street. Inexpensive and very friendly, run by a mother and son.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Apr 24, 2010

quaint and pleasant

the hotel was quaint and personable, a good bet for the money in costa rica. the hotel was safe, the staff pleasant and amenable, yummie free breakfast and we even met tomas!!!! i liked that the hotel was able to give me a room before the check in time. yes, the rooms are smaller than hotels in america, but the hotel had character and the employees were very helpful and had positive attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

do your best to either rent a car online before hand or just buy a bus pass- the rental car companies will do thier best to overcharge you.....

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa ,FL
Feb 4, 2010

truth,but the area is not good,

The City of San Jose Was not what I was expecting,they live behind bars,looks not safe.The hotel was good under the circunstances.Was clean,peaceful and very nice tropical breakfast,gym not too impresive.Nice,brand new and clean bathroom with hot shower.The "safety box" is inside the room,just a drawer with a key,( I do prefer a real safety box) and they charge internet if you don't have a laptock ( $2.00 for 20 minutes )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the hotel,after the corner there is an INCREDIBLE peruvian food restaurant.Very simple and cheap like $ 5.00 and the best food you can imagen,like a cheff from a fancy place.Seafood soup,fish..really really good.They did not sell alcohol but you can take your own beer if you like.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ciudad Quesada
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel OK, but would not refund my money

Hotel was OK but wouldn't refund my money when I wanted to cancel reservation in days in advance. I had changed my mind about going into San Jose but since I couldn't get a refund I had to go anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top