$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Emma
Couples
Pennsylvania
Jan 16, 2013

Great place to experience downtown

Very centrally located and only a block from the main square of town this hotel is a great deal. City itself is not safe after dark. Don't go out with anything valuable and stick close to the square or just get a taxi. For an overnight you don't have to leave because the room is comfortable and the jacuzzi is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
fla
Sep 24, 2009

Very Comfortable

Within easy walking distance of fun places and great breakfast and dining area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Charleston, SC
Jul 25, 2009

Wonderful upgrade, new rooms

While on a business trip I stayed a few extra days to play... The front office staff helped me with VERY convenient day a trip to the volcano and a second trip whitewater rafting. I was pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to the NEW floor. While the original rooms are nice and a great deal, my new balcony room had a wonderful bed, flat screen TV, both wired and wireless internet connection and a great bathroom... The tile floor and unique ceiling maintain the warmth of the older architecture. One night was spent on my balcony with a great bottle of wine, thinking about the tranquility of Costa Rica and enjoying the view of the pool and garden. Their restuarant (small and intimate) has some of the best food I have ever enjoyed. Ask them what is fresh/best of the day and you will be delighted... Same great food can be delivered to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport your first day for about $20... If you do not speak spanish, have the hotel's name written on a business card for the taxi driver... with the address and phone... Spend the first day at the Mercado Central, Jade Museum, Gold Museum and Central Avenue... Start at the Gold Museum and get two great maps of the city and country for free in the adjacent Tourist Booth. Take one of the guided day trips... THEN rent your car to get out of the city and see the rest of the beautiful countryside. The hotel staff can help you with the rental and it will be less expensive than renting at the airport.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grippa
Business
South Florida
Jun 6, 2009

Costa Rica Trip

Friendly, felt like family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Criolitta

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE USA
May 29, 2009

Good accomodations and staff

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fruit and bread - more than adequate for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Jade and Gold museums and similar attractions.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el serg
Single
chicago il
May 21, 2009

great

it was a great location not to crazy but not to far from downtown i booked all my tours through them staff was beyound helpful and friendly they really took care of me the rooms are a little bit small but for the price it was great and i didnt really spend alot of time in the room anyways i would recomend the hot spring tour the white water rafting, and canopy in san lorazo cant wait till they finish remodling the room up stairs had a great time adios

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Bernardino,Ca
May 20, 2009

Love the location

The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to make you feel compfortable . they were also very helpful in assisting you to go where you wanted and also suggested things to do and how to obtain them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Ames, IA
May 19, 2009

Highly personalized service

Terrific place for travelers who view a hotel mainly as a place to sleep, not as an entertainment center. Has wireless Internet, modest pool, and info on nature tours, but few other amenities. Staff provide highly personalized service. They all speak good English, are friendly, and truly want to help you. All the front-desk workers recognized me upon sight from my first visit a year earlier. Owner (American) also works on staff and is a great guy. Is ideal lodging for clients who don't speak much Spanish. Eleven new high-quality rooms are nearly built, and thereafter the older 20 rooms will be upgraded. Currently they're a bit noisy; have little insulation and hallways are noise conduits. Rooms and their contents are not new, but they're functional and kept very clean. Location is fine. Easy walk to several museums and the main shopping area. Safety in the street becomes an issue only after 9 or 10 pm, and that appears true for most of San Jose. I will use this hotel as my base for all future visits to San Jose, due to fine staff and good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gold Museum gives a neat summary of the history of Costa Rica, along with the gold objects

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yoshimi
Friends
New York, NY
May 17, 2009

Santo Tomas San Jose

I really enjoyed this hotel. The owner is an ex-pat who is very gregarious, engaging, asks about your needs, offers ideas and opinions on things to do in Costa Rica. The only negative - and it's a net positive - is that the hotel was undergoing extensive renovations, so mornings involved a couple of walks under power tools to get to breakfast. That being said, the owner gave us a tour of the additions, the workers were polite, and everything else about the hotel was wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to change your money, use the ank down the street. If you go on any business day other than Friday you'll be able to change your money at an attractive rate. You can cash traveler's checks or $USD and get back split change - i.e. trading a $100 bill for $40 US and the reset in local currency.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Mission, Tx
May 10, 2009

Good for the price

Hotel Santo Tomas is a very good hotel for the price. very helpful staff, i book my tours with them. The romms are ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Calgary
Jan 3, 2009

A Great Hotel

The Hotel Santo Tomas was the friendliest hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in. From the time we checked in until the time we left the staff treated us so very well.Everyone was always smiling and friendly and doing their best to make our stay in Costa Rica as pleasant as possible. Our room was fantastic, the largest in the hotel and the resturant was superb. I still miss the great food and the nice talks with Carlos, our waiter. The amenities were good ( gym and pool and internet access) and the location was perfect for touring around downtown San Jose. We will definatley recommend this hotel to anyone we know who is going to Costa Rica and hope to return someday ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The National Theatre, Jade Museum, Gold Museum and lots of shopping and fine resturants.

Back to menu Return to top