$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
138 reviews
the best of the best

if you want to feel like you are at home this is the best place to go the owners the staff is like... See full review

  • haypeores
  • May 22, 2014
the best hotel

this is my home away from home,the staff ,the food,the owners make you feel right at home ,if you... See full review

  • haypeores
  • Oct 7, 2013
Restored coffee plantation home with outdoor pool and open-air dining

A beautifully restored, turn-of-the-century coffee plantation house, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers an intimate guesthouse experience in downtown San Jose. Popular downtown attractions like the National Theater, Simon Bolivar Zoo and the Central Market sit within walking distance of the Hotel Santo Tomas, and the hotel is about 12 miles from the international airport. Guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms and a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Solar-heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Parking (fees apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
Rooms

With just 20 guest rooms, the Hotel Santo Tomas offers personalized service with a great downtown location. Each room has its own style, and most feature hard wood or tile floors and 14-foot ceilings with ceiling fans. Standard guest rooms come with single queen or double beds, while larger guest rooms are available with pairs of queen-size beds. In-room amenities include free high-speed Internet access, laptop-size room safes, telephones, color cable televisions and hair-dryers.

Features

The intimate downtown guesthouse Hotel Santo Tomas offers a small number of quiet rooms and amenities ideal for travelers looking for affordable accommodations at the city center. The property features a solar heated outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply). Guests get a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the Restaurant and Bar El Oasis serves affordable and delicious seafood, steak, and pasta dishes throughout the day. Guests can find free high-speed Internet access in the guest rooms, and other on-site amenities include laundry services, tour arrangements and luggage storage.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (31 mi/50 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0761
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nearby airports
SJO- Juan Santamaria and Tobias Bolanos.
Area description
Located in Barrio Amon, protected by the national patrimony laws of Costa Rica. Within 4 blocks of eight museums and 4 blocks from the national theater and gold museum -Plaza De La Cultura. Within easy walking distance of all shopping. Easy tour and car rental pickup and drop off.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room comes with two queen size beds, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Superior Room
Room comes with one queen bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.
Standard Room
Room comes with one double bed, private bath, phone, cable TV, alarm-clock radio, hairdryer, High Speed Internet, ceiling fan and dresser.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Parque Espana: 0.2 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 0.2 mi
  • National Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 0.3 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 0.4 mi
  • El Pueblo: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 1.6 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 3.8 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 4.1 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 14.9 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 17.8 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 50.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 7, 2011

Cute San Jose Hotel

Cute little hotel in a very convientient location. Very nice little rooms with old world style decorations. The restraunt was great. On par with the old time casino rooms in Vegas as far as value for the price and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restraunt was very good.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
May 12, 2011

Very satisfied

I was looking for a hotel that was not one of the chain plaster palaces. I saw the ad for the Hotel Santo Tomas, crossed my fingers and made the reservation. I cannot quite adequately say just how pleased I was. The hotel is small, and while not on the prettiest street in San Jose, it is quite beautiful, quaint and close to many attraction. The hotel has a locked front gate and a lockable cabinet in the room. There are several outdoor sitting areas, a small pool and lovely plantings. Hotel Santo Tomas personnel are courteous, helpful and always on hand. The rooms are plain but have all you need. They are sparkling clean as is the entire hotel. The attached restaurant is small, the food is quite good and beautifully served. I recommend this hotel with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The local attractions, museums and such are a close walk. Taxis abound and there are plenty of buses. I personally would not recommend driving if you are a novice. Traffic is heavy and the drivers have little regard for pedestrians.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
May 12, 2011

Very satisfied

I was looking for a hotel that was not one of the chain plaster palaces. I saw the ad for the Hotel Santo Tomas, crossed my fingers and made the reservation. I cannot quite adequately say just how pleased I was. The hotel is small, and while not on the prettiest street in San Jose, it is quite beautiful, quaint and close to many attraction. The hotel has a locked front gate and a lockable cabinet in the room. There are several outdoor sitting areas, a small pool and lovely plantings. Hotel Santo Tomas personnel are courteous, helpful and always on hand. The rooms are plain but have all you need. They are sparkling clean as is the entire hotel. The attached restaurant is small, the food is quite good and beautifully served. I recommend this hotel with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The local attractions, museums and such are a close walk. Taxis abound and there are plenty of buses. I personally would not recommend driving if you are a novice. Traffic is heavy and the drivers have little regard for pedestrians.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pruna
Downtown
Apr 4, 2011

"Can't judge a book by its cover"

Our experience at this hotel was great. It was charming and the staff was so nice. Thanks [...] for being so nice to us. We had dinner and the Chef prepared our food to our liking and made sure we were happy w/dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's best you make arrangements for someone to drop you off there is no place to park and too many people downtown.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pruna
Downtown
Apr 4, 2011

"Can't judge a book by its cover"

Our experience at this hotel was great. It was charming and the staff was so nice. Thanks [...] for being so nice to us. We had dinner and the Chef prepared our food to our liking and made sure we were happy w/dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's best you make arrangements for someone to drop you off there is no place to park and too many people downtown.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 2, 2011

Overall Good Experience

Overall, our stay at Santo Tomas was a good one. We stayed for 7 days and took one day excursions out of San Jose for most of the days we were there. The staff was very accomodating. We arrived back at our hotel fairly late in the evenings. It was quite nice that the hotel had a restaurant on site, with the option of room service. The food was excellent. Also, breakfast was included in our rate and consisted of eggs, toast, rice and beans, and fruit. While the area is not the best in town, it is a short walk to most of the popular areas in San Jose. During the day, we did walk around and didn't experience any problems. This is not like the typical big brand chain of hotel.....but if you are looking for a hotel with a bit of charm at a great rate the Santo Tomas is a good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 2, 2011

Overall Good Experience

Overall, our stay at Santo Tomas was a good one. We stayed for 7 days and took one day excursions out of San Jose for most of the days we were there. The staff was very accomodating. We arrived back at our hotel fairly late in the evenings. It was quite nice that the hotel had a restaurant on site, with the option of room service. The food was excellent. Also, breakfast was included in our rate and consisted of eggs, toast, rice and beans, and fruit. While the area is not the best in town, it is a short walk to most of the popular areas in San Jose. During the day, we did walk around and didn't experience any problems. This is not like the typical big brand chain of hotel.....but if you are looking for a hotel with a bit of charm at a great rate the Santo Tomas is a good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 6, 2011

the worst

I have never before written a review of a hotel after a trip but I feel compelled to do so now. The Santo Tomas was easily the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in. From top to bottom it was terrible: it is located in a ghetto, the prostitutes lined up every night on the corner and we were told not to walk down the surrounding streets, the staff was ill-equipped and unhelpful, we were refused extra towels, told to hail our own cabs at night when leaving the hotel and told that there was no internet access while clearly there was a computer in the lobby. The room itself had an unusual odor and the walls were very thin, one could hear everything occurring in the surroundin rooms. Any potential visitor should do themselves a huge favor and pass on this one-star hotel. And I almost forgot: the food was horrendous as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 6, 2011

the worst

I have never before written a review of a hotel after a trip but I feel compelled to do so now. The Santo Tomas was easily the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in. From top to bottom it was terrible: it is located in a ghetto, the prostitutes lined up every night on the corner and we were told not to walk down the surrounding streets, the staff was ill-equipped and unhelpful, we were refused extra towels, told to hail our own cabs at night when leaving the hotel and told that there was no internet access while clearly there was a computer in the lobby. The room itself had an unusual odor and the walls were very thin, one could hear everything occurring in the surroundin rooms. Any potential visitor should do themselves a huge favor and pass on this one-star hotel. And I almost forgot: the food was horrendous as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Couple, Budget Travelers
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2011

Very Accomodating

Quick over night stay before heading to Manuel Antonio- clean, spacious room, delicious breakfast. There was a slight mix-up when we checked in and our Interbus reservation was cancelled by accident, however the staff was extremely helpful and made alternative plans for us. Would recommend to others and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top