$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gray lady
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Colonial architecture

The staff treated us royally. They were responsive and helpful as well as very personable. The building is very old, but is being refurbished and has some wonderful features. If you are looking for Holiday Inn, this isn't it. If you want character and charm, book Hotel Santo Tomas! The furnishing were very nice and the beds quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A restaurant three blocks down 7th Street was great. The food was good and the prices very reasonable. The service was exceptional. The stall of Hotel Santo Tomas recommended it and it was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Li921
Business
NYC
Dec 28, 2011

One night Stay

San Jose is super sketchy but this hotel while not amazing was fine for one night stay. It's old, smells a bit musty and the pool is more of a fountain. But for the price, location and security is was a good choice before heading to other parts of Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DogTails
Business
Colorado
Nov 15, 2011

Nice downtown location

This hotel is a little bit of a challenge to find. It is right in the middle of the block and there is a gate to the parking lot. However, that is typical of downtown San Jose. Once inside, they have a nice pool and restaurant with nice rooms. It is only a couple blocks from the downtown street mall. So the location is quite convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doyle2
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Nov 8, 2011

Stay at Santo Tomas

I had read reviews before booking with Santo Tomas and there were no surprises. The staff was very friendly and competent. The room was clean. The part of town was a bit rough but for the price I was very happy with my experience at Santo Tomas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akhardware
Business
Alaska
Nov 2, 2011

great value

Always nice staff, rooms are comfortable. The kitchen opens ay 7:00am and it would be nice if there was a coffee maker in the room for those of us who get up earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rrduran
Business
Roseville CA
Sep 16, 2011

Good value

Good downtown location. Good value. Kept very clean. Will recommend and use again. thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

use a cab... they are cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surfer11
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Really good Value

The Hotel rooms were very comfortable and furnished nicely. The staff was extremely helpful and the restaurant was excellent and very affordable. Onsite parking was available and rare in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to arrange not to have to drive in San Jose, it is a very frustrating city to drive in as a tourist.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surfer11
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Really good Value

The Hotel rooms were very comfortable and furnished nicely. The staff was extremely helpful and the restaurant was excellent and very affordable. Onsite parking was available and rare in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to arrange not to have to drive in San Jose, it is a very frustrating city to drive in as a tourist.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy in Costa Rica
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Loved the charm!

If you want American, don't go here. If you want charm, great service, good Costa Rican food and a pool - this place is great. It reminds me a bit of Charleston (SC) older homes. I can't say enough about the terrific staff. You don't need air conditioning - even in the rainy season. The area is safe during the day. Being a single traveler, I didn't leave at night unless my taxi driver took me somewhere. Back to the rooms - I would add new shower heads but everything considered, I would happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy in Costa Rica
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Loved the charm!

If you want American, don't go here. If you want charm, great service, good Costa Rican food and a pool - this place is great. It reminds me a bit of Charleston (SC) older homes. I can't say enough about the terrific staff. You don't need air conditioning - even in the rainy season. The area is safe during the day. Being a single traveler, I didn't leave at night unless my taxi driver took me somewhere. Back to the rooms - I would add new shower heads but everything considered, I would happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top