$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Single
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in downtown San Jose

I returned to this hotel after staying for the first two days of my trip arriving from the airport. The staff are attentive and friendly. The owner a great resource for questions about the country and various tours. Clean, quaint and a bed and breakfast feel which was a welcome change from chain hotels. I'd highly recommend it and would go back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Single
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in the center of San Jose

I would say that I was pleasantly surprised and the accomodations at this quaint family owned location. The jacuzzi and pool were refreshing. The location was close to nightlife but far enough away to be very quite and peaceful. The rooms were large and comfortable with wifi and cable available at no charge. The resteraunt was great and reasonable with a great breakfast the start the day. But the staff made me feel like I was an old friend returned to stay. They and the owner made you feel right at home and provided many tips to make my stay pleasurable. I'd return in a heartbeat. Great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pattik
Friends
oscoda, Michigan
Mar 13, 2013

good location with great staff

the location was great... within walking distance to the center of town and an artisan "mall"... the staff were very accomadating, pleasant and there when we needed help or advise.... the atmosphere was welcoming and more personal than larger hotels... there was a pool which was too cold to swim in, but the suana was pleasant.. we did not use the exercise room but was available and suficient.. the evening menu was great and food excellent... we had no problems walking to the center of town, altho the sidewalks were not smooth.... if you want to see the real Costa Rica and how the people live, this is an excellent hotel...we were close to museums as well as banks and other point of interests... I would recommend Santo Tomas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

dining at the hotel was great and even when we did not stay at this hotel, we went there to eat...

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAVNapa
Single
Napa Ca.
Feb 5, 2013

Nice for the downtown area

Really good staff makes this place standout. The place is old but clean. Good restaurant with good service. The front desk is quite helpful with good recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pedestrian mall is a great urban hike, with shopping and restaurants.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pattik
Friends
oscoda, Michigan
Jan 15, 2013

quaint motel near the center of town

staff was especially nice and warm... they welcomed us as family.... the hotel was small enough that we could enjoy other visitors as well as the staff.... the room was sufficient and always clean as was the total hotel.... food was sufficient and the dinner had a wonderful selection....happy hour was also good ... the pineapple smoothie that I had was the best.... days were a bit cool so we unfortunately could not swim..... but the soak in the hot tub was nice....not too hot.. I definitely would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
haypeores
Couples
new york
Oct 17, 2012

the best of the best

is like been at home,cozy,if you go to c,r you have to stay in there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kgcr
Couples
miami
Sep 8, 2012

not what was expected!!

Smells very old. Sheets and towels were humid and smelly. Parking was additional cost. Breakfast was ok. Very noisy and traffic is horrible so leave with plenty of time. Will not go again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vacations2
Couples
LA, California
Sep 6, 2012

very good for the price!

Located right in the middle of all the action, lots of traffic and lots of pedestrias right outside the hotel main door! walking distance to stores, theater, cathedral and shops. Buses and taxis galore so unless you're a local, refrain from driving here unless you're equipped with a heart and nerves of steel!!. Hotel staff super friendly and eager to help, clean rooms and good free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco Brown
Couples
Boston, MA
Aug 5, 2012

Stay in San Jose

staff very friendly and helpful. Room was small but very clean. Free breakfast was a plus. small swimming pool, would be good if you have kids. location was great. Easily able to access a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

store's, shops pretty close to hotel. A plus since the CR bank was a few minutes away from the hotel if you need to exchange pesos into colones.

Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister Sis
Family
indianapolis, in.
Jun 24, 2012

Great place to stay

My sister and I stayed for two nights. Everyone was extremely friendly. The rooms were a good size and at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was served with a smile. We ate dinner in the restaurant, the sea bass was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top