$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

3 stars
View map of Avenue 7th Street 3 and 5, Barrio Amon, San Jose,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlosancame
Business
Heredia, Costa Rica
Mar 27, 2013

Good price value

At first I had some problems with the guest in the next room and the toilet kept odor, administration put me in a better room. Good deal and good service, the ambience of the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Business
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in downtown San Jose

I returned to this hotel after staying for the first two days of my trip arriving from the airport. The staff are attentive and friendly. The owner a great resource for questions about the country and various tours. Clean, quaint and a bed and breakfast feel which was a welcome change from chain hotels. I'd highly recommend it and would go back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool by the Pool
Business
Antioch IL
Mar 25, 2013

Oasis in the center of San Jose

I would say that I was pleasantly surprised and the accomodations at this quaint family owned location. The jacuzzi and pool were refreshing. The location was close to nightlife but far enough away to be very quite and peaceful. The rooms were large and comfortable with wifi and cable available at no charge. The resteraunt was great and reasonable with a great breakfast the start the day. But the staff made me feel like I was an old friend returned to stay. They and the owner made you feel right at home and provided many tips to make my stay pleasurable. I'd return in a heartbeat. Great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pattik
Business
oscoda, Michigan
Mar 13, 2013

good location with great staff

the location was great... within walking distance to the center of town and an artisan "mall"... the staff were very accomadating, pleasant and there when we needed help or advise.... the atmosphere was welcoming and more personal than larger hotels... there was a pool which was too cold to swim in, but the suana was pleasant.. we did not use the exercise room but was available and suficient.. the evening menu was great and food excellent... we had no problems walking to the center of town, altho the sidewalks were not smooth.... if you want to see the real Costa Rica and how the people live, this is an excellent hotel...we were close to museums as well as banks and other point of interests... I would recommend Santo Tomas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

dining at the hotel was great and even when we did not stay at this hotel, we went there to eat...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAVNapa
Business
Napa Ca.
Feb 5, 2013

Nice for the downtown area

Really good staff makes this place standout. The place is old but clean. Good restaurant with good service. The front desk is quite helpful with good recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pedestrian mall is a great urban hike, with shopping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Emma
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 16, 2013

Great place to experience downtown

Very centrally located and only a block from the main square of town this hotel is a great deal. City itself is not safe after dark. Don't go out with anything valuable and stick close to the square or just get a taxi. For an overnight you don't have to leave because the room is comfortable and the jacuzzi is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pattik
Business
oscoda, Michigan
Jan 15, 2013

quaint motel near the center of town

staff was especially nice and warm... they welcomed us as family.... the hotel was small enough that we could enjoy other visitors as well as the staff.... the room was sufficient and always clean as was the total hotel.... food was sufficient and the dinner had a wonderful selection....happy hour was also good ... the pineapple smoothie that I had was the best.... days were a bit cool so we unfortunately could not swim..... but the soak in the hot tub was nice....not too hot.. I definitely would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sinama
Business
San francisco, California
Dec 6, 2012

Great hotel in the right location

Santo Tomas is definitely worth the price. They have a very helpful staff. It is in a great location and walking distance to everything. I would return there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trevtrev
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 20, 2012

Nice hotel with great service!!!

Very large rooms, close to numerous restaurants, and very pleasant staff who seek to be very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas - San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
haypeores
Business
new york
Oct 17, 2012

the best of the best

is like been at home,cozy,if you go to c,r you have to stay in there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top